We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, average B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Visalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save Saved
You added The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
631 N. Encina St., Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Visalia B&B and Inns
Phoenix
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, average B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Kings Canyon N.P. and Sequoia N.P. The Spalding House is a lovely historic home located in a very nice neighborhood within walking distance of downtown Visalia and many restaurants. The B&B has two bedrooms: The Spalding Suite and the Aviary Suite. Our hostess was Peggy, the owner of the bed and breakfast. We stay exclusively at B&Bs so we know what to expect and what we like and dislike. While I hate to write a negative review in light of all the good reviews, I found The Spalding House lacking in several areas. We stayed in the Spalding Suite, which is a one bedroom with a queen bed, private bath with a shower only and a separate sitting area. Our room faced the street. Although it wasn’t a “major” thoroughfare, it had enough constant traffic throughout the night to be noisy enough to disturb sleep. There was also late night noise from nearby neighbors, obviously not Peggy’s fault, but it woke us throughout the night and early morning just the same. We spent two pretty sleepless nights here. I think the Aviary Suite, which faces the yard, would be quieter. Breakfast was good, but basic. Not offered were amenities common in bed and breakfasts nowadays--a common room with a television (there is one and I guess guests can use it, but we weren’t told that), refrigerator, ice, coffee and tea available at times other than breakfast, menus for local restaurants, brochures on things to do, etc. for guests. Although guests can use the living room and library, those rooms were “locked” at 10:00 p.m. There are no phones or televisions in the room, but the inn does have high-speed internet. Just be sure to ask for the password in advance. Peggy is a gracious, sweet woman, but I think she could use a hand in running the B&B. We requested breakfast at 7:30 a.m. one morning and at 8:10 a.m. were still waiting. I think Peggy forgot. There was an issue with our 3-night reservation (even though we called or emailed to confirm several times), resulting in our having to move to another room the third night. As this was the end of our 14-day vacation, and given the noise issue and sleepless nights, we opted to cut our stay short. Some B&Bs are more "hands off" and if that is your preference, I think you will enjoy your stay here as the home really is beautiful and close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here in the Aviary Room before moving on to Sequoia National Park. The home is gorgeous and I enjoyed all the historic details - the original silk wall covering in the library, the beautiful wood work in the dining room, the antique bird cages. Peggy is very warmhearted and a wonderful hostess. Her breakfasts are very generous and filling, and the food was delicious. As it was summer, I got some fresh peaches that were exquisite. The house is a short, pleasant walk from Visalia's Main Street, which has some good restaurants. My room was comfortable and quiet and had an attached bathroom. If you are driving through California, stay here instead of a bland chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a beautiful home in "Colonial Revival" style, which retains many original features. Our room (the Aviary Room) was thoughtfully furnished and a delight to stay in, with its wicker chairs in a separate sitting area.

Peggy is a kind and welcoming host, who provides a breakfast of a quality beyond what you would normally expect.

The house provides good value accommodation less than 10 minutes' walk from Main Street, with it's many good quality eateries, and is a perfect base for visiting Sequoia & Kings National Park, less than an hour away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at The Spalding House while we attended a music festival at the convention center. We felt very at home, and Peggy is a delightful hostess. Our room was comfortable and quiet. Just like at home, you may have to put up with neighbors playing their music too loud, but the nights are quiet. So are the early mornings - take your walking shoes for an early morning stroll to see other Victorian homes and an old cemetery. Close to shops and restaurants. If you like dogs, Peggy will introduce you to her beautiful Belgium dog (I forgot the breed). We will stay here again if we are ever in Visalia.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and each is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Spaulding House is on a street with other beautiful houses - mansions really. The house is simply beautiful, almost all original. Peggy is a wonderful host - friendly, unhurried, welcoming. We enjoyed sitting with her and talking over her great breakfasts. We had full use of the living room and gardens. The Aviary Room is a smallish room with an alcove that has two wicker chairs. It was once a a true aviary, and it's beautiful - original tile work, stained glass backlighted ceiling... There are good restaurants within walking distance. Visalia turns out to be an interesting little town, except that it now has over 100,000 people, so it's not so little. We hit Sequoia National Park from the house, which was a reasonable drive (can't really get much closer). But overall, the experience was just so nice. It was like visiting a relative you like, who lives in a magnificent house. It's worth visiting Visalia again just to stay there.

Room Tip: At this time, Peggy is only renting the Spaulding and the Aviary rooms. The Spaulding Room is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stopped at the Spalding House during Thanksgiving week and we were very glad we did! Peggy, the hostess and owner, was gracious and welcoming. Or room was really beautiful and very clean. The bed was comfy. There was some next-door neighbor radio noise during the day. We had full run of the place and sat in the living room to watch TV for a while. Peggy had recommended Brubaker's Brewery for dinner and it was very good. We fell in love with the downtown area and went back the next morning for some shopping. Breakfast was good (I particularly liked the yogurt parfait). I felt it was an excellent value for the accomodations and atmosphere. But best of all, we really enjoyed Peggy as our hostess. She was helpful, kind and very pleasant to talk with. Thanks for opening up your inn to us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

You feel like you are on a film set in this beautiful period house. Walking distance from shops and restaurants and well placed for the national parks. Delicious breakfast and charming owner happy to share the history of her home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 631 N. Encina St., Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.