We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in Visalia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Visalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
631 N. Encina St., Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Visalia B&B and Inns
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B in Visalia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stopped at the Spalding House during Thanksgiving week and we were very glad we did! Peggy, the hostess and owner, was gracious and welcoming. Or room was really beautiful and very clean. The bed was comfy. There was some next-door neighbor radio noise during the day. We had full run of the place and sat in the living room to watch TV for a while. Peggy had recommended Brubaker's Brewery for dinner and it was very good. We fell in love with the downtown area and went back the next morning for some shopping. Breakfast was good (I particularly liked the yogurt parfait). I felt it was an excellent value for the accomodations and atmosphere. But best of all, we really enjoyed Peggy as our hostess. She was helpful, kind and very pleasant to talk with. Thanks for opening up your inn to us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

You feel like you are on a film set in this beautiful period house. Walking distance from shops and restaurants and well placed for the national parks. Delicious breakfast and charming owner happy to share the history of her home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
872 reviews 872 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 331 cities Reviews in 331 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Historic house built in 1901. Very charming throughout – and the host lets you have the run of the place. A very nice value. You can walk to the very nice downtown. A couple things on the negative side… There was a fair amount of car noise from street (on Saturday night). Also, breakfast was served without any question about what we wanted (beyond if we had any diet restrictions). In other words, no choice. Having said that, the French toast was yummy, the sausages crisp and the preview fruit bowl with yogurt was delicious. Oh, pillows were too big/bulky - would be nice to have a selection. But, I am getting too picky. :>)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Spalding House is the best recommended B & B in Visalia and quite rightly deserves this honour.

But why stop in Visalia ? well this is the perfect jump off
point to visit both the Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon in a short space of time. Visalia is a small American town with a fairly big population set in a very agricultural area so that at times, one wonders whether one is in Mexico or the
USA. All over there are signs exhorting the migrant labourers to work hard and
reap the benefits and they truly do.

Spalding House is on North Encino Street, at the end of a leafy street edged with wooden panelled Colonial houses and large verandahs and wind chimes hanging in the trees. The ice cream van trundles by on his rounds with a repetitive jingle advising all of his imminent arrival and across the road a little dog, the size of a cup cake and the stamina of a Brontosaurus barks away unheeded. On a sunny, sleepy afternoon it almost feels as if one has stepped into a 1950’s film set.

The house is immaculately kept and a genuine family home, beautifully decorated with luscious, heady blooms of roses in the garden and filling the rooms inside with their scent. The sitting room overlooks a small shaded garden and the library, where one has breakfast is filled with interesting books.

The Spalding Suite is a delight. A large double bed set into an antique four poster with a small narrow bathroom en suite. Leading off the bedroom is a very pleasant corner sitting area decorated with comfortable cane furniture and fly screened windows on both sides, shaded by a large fir tree. A fan whirls overhead giving a soporific effect and one could easily relax and while away the time flicking through the wonderful old books or magazines instead of doing what one came to Visalia to do.

The owner Peggy could not be more charming nor welcoming, in another life we must have been family. Not only were we advised where to eat and where to go and what to do but she almost made the GPS system superfluous. The local restaurants were an easy, pleasant walk away as was the shopping area, such as it was. Do stop by "Flirty's" in case you are missing a figure hugging, fish tailed, spangly, tulle number from your wardrobe!

The breakfast served on a crisp linen cloth set with good china and cutlery and a beautiful fresh rose bowl daily, as good as at any five star hotel. Some of the dishes served have been carefully noted and will be served on our home menu.
Spalding House cannot be more highly recommended and worth every cent.

Room Tip: The Spalding Suite is home away from home if you are lucky enough to have a wonderful home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had a comfortable nights stay in a really lovely house with a nice breakfast the next morning. Well placed for walking into Visalia centre. Very knowledgeable and pleasant owner.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Peggy Davidson, the owner of Spalding House B & B, welcomed us with a smile that made me feel like I already knew her and was coming home. Her beautiful historic home reflects the warmth of her personality with comfy beds, sitting rooms with a large selection of books and magazines, and a quietness that comforts a weary traveler. This historically intact home is a marvel to see; original windows, floors, woodwork, and so much more. This is by far the best place I have ever stayed away from home. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This beautiful old home is well-kept and friendly. Peggy cooked a 3-course breakfast that puts other B&B's to shame! Easy walk to main street's shops, restaurants, and entertainment. Worth getting off hwy 99 for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 631 N. Encina St., Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spalding House Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.