We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Save Saved
You added Lamp Liter Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped in for one night at the Lamp Liter so that we could visit Sequoia National Park the next day. The hotel grounds, decor and landscaping have a 60s era charm, and it's well kept. Inside, the rooms are upgraded and clean. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave, which was useful since we were traveling with kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lamp Liter has a beautiful pool, by the way. We wished we could stay longer just to spend more time there. Considering how inexpensive the Lamp Liter is, I would definitely recommend it for a stay in the area. Four instead of five stars because, though the wi-fi was free, it didn't work.

Room Tip: Garden and pool view rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    90
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
67
89
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Like many other reviewers we wanted to visit sequoia np and this hotel offered the perfect location for a 2 night stay and pick up for NP and to wind down after a 350 mile drive . Friendly staff clean tidy room comfy bed [ great sleep] good pool,. nice on site restaurant also.close to other restaurants and good supermarket, 10 mins drive to malls and other shops in town centre. All this for a great price .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

On our drive back south through CA, we stopped by the redwood and needed a place to sleep for the night. We didn't have high expectations going in, but wow this place surprised us! All staff was very friendly, the rooms and grounds were clean and very charming. We were very comfortable in our room and had no concerns about safety. We really enjoyed the attached restaurant and bar because we didn't have to venture out after a long day of driving.

Pleasant surprise! Keep up the good work Lamp Liter!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Yes, its not fancy. The TV was a little small, the old fashioned key was a little sticky in the lock. But really, it was clean, bug free, everything worked, plenty of hot water, and the bed was pretty good (husband said he noticed a little sag in the middle but I didn't notice it at all). Plenty of parking near the room. Not too much noise. We didn't try the pool but it looked nice. Lobby area was nice and front desk help was great. Good location, convenient to dinner choices and nice launching point for our day trips to Sequoia and Kings Canyon. Price was great. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were in 247. While nothing was brand new, nothing was worn or threadbare either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Passing through on our way to San Francisco we found this perfect location hotel, affordable, clean, good service. The outdoor pool is perfectly clean, we had the perfect morning swim and enjoyed the garden before getting back on the road. It takes about 4 hours to get to San Francisco from here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wow! If you are lucky enough to get a room on the first floor near the pool and office you will more than likely want to sit outside in the evening and enjoy the well kept grassy courtyard. It was like having you own back yard, well shaded, and well kept.flowers and shrubs.

The attached restaurant served excellent food served by a friendly staff.

Room Tip: No refrigerator or microwave, but but we never missed that. The atmosphere and restaurant more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated for a trip to the Sequoia National Park, particularly since the shuttle to the park picks up right in front. It's close to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, and the pool is clean and nice, though we wished it didn't close at 10. There is a full-service restaurant (more like a diner with a large menu) offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Our breakfast was amazing--fresh blueberries in the pancakes, everything cooked perfectly to order. The people are incredibly kind and helpful, both in the restaurant and in the hotel. They truly seem to care about providing a good experience. As another reviewer mentioned, the wifi is inconsistent, but that was the only negative. I can't imagine doing better for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Liter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.