We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lamp Liter Inn to your Saves list
Lamp Liter Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great location, rooms were big. Also very clean & neat. Older tv but we weren't there to watch tv. Great restaurants near by. Not to mention there was a restaurant on premises. Would surely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    100
    50
    12
    10
See reviews for
77
104
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I had a tire problem hours after i used price line to book this hotel, the staff at lamp litter fixed me up for the next day. They didn't have to do that at all. happy with our stay, this place is a well up kept lush green community. I would stay here again because it's clean, cozy, and the people took care of me in a crisis.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faxon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Rooms were clean and updated but not expensive, beautiful pool and seating area. There was no continental breakfast but there is a restaurant or McDonalds a couple of blocks away. Staff was very friendly and lots of parking. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Lamp Lighter for three nights for a a professional conference in Visalia, but our room was pretty sad. When we checked in the very nice woman at the front desk kept fretting that she couldn't put us "way back there" and she looked in vain for another room. Our room 'way back there' was not out of the way, but it was bit sad and rough around the edges. Our two 'queen' beds were full beds and very uncomfortable and broken down. The room was musty smelling. There was no bathtub and the hair dryer fried out the first time I tried to use it. The TV was a tiny (19-20 inches?) 1980s throwback. Friends staying at the same hotel got much nicer rooms though, so I think it was just a result of the incredibly busy weekend that included the conference and a wedding next door. I would still recommend to a friend with the caveat to insist on one of the good rooms.

Room Tip: Insist on one of the nice rooms. Apparently, it is the far back row of rooms that is not well-mainta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Manitoba
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

When I booked the room I did not realize that it was actually a large compound of a hotel, we thought it was a smaller place. The garden area is gorgeous surrounding the large outdoor pool area. The hotel is a little dated but it was relatively quiet even though the freeway is right there. But for those of you a heads up..it is situated on a one way street so if you dont take the right exit you find yourself wandering around in residential areas to find your way from the backside. Something that the hotel website should post is the exit to take to get there. It would have been most helpful! And no I dont remember the exit number either!

Room Tip: our room was around the back of the lobby area but the sound of the freeway sort of reverberated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here based on other reviews and they were not incorrect. The Lamp Liter room was large, clean, comfortable and even had a few extras. kudos on the hot cocoa in addition to the tea and coffee provided in the room and I was thankful that a shower cap was provided. The rates were good and even though I did not try the restaurant it seemed to be doing a good bit of business from locals on the next morning when I checked out. Staff were pleasant and check-in and out were a breeze. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The lampliter Inn is a large property that I recently stayed in. It was built as a two story motel some years ago. ( maybe the 50s) The gardens are well maintained and really beautiful. There is a very large pool not usually seen in motel settings. There is a nice coffee shop on site. The room was clean and looked to have recently been painted, the furniture and carpet were dated but adequate. I found the bed comfortable. The heating or cooling system I did not understand there is a dial on the wall for high med and low but no temp dial. I did not know if I turned it on if I would get heat or cool. As it was the days were mild and I did not use. I was close to the office (202) so the road noise from the freeway was pretty loud. I would recommend asking for a room more to the back if this is an issue for you. The staff was business like but I would not say friendly. The cafe staff however was very friendly, the food was good mostly home made average prices, casual atmosphere.

Room Tip: Suggest downstairs room more to the back of property if freeway noise will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Liter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.