We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but customer service and food variable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lamp Liter Inn to your Saves list
Lamp Liter Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Hampton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but customer service and food variable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The King rooms overlooking the garden and pool are clean and comfortable. As we were hiking in King's Canyon we had a parcel of dehydrated food sent to us at the hotel to pick up on arrival. When I called a few days before to find out if it had arrived the staff couldn't find it. After calling the sender and obtaining the name of the person who had signed for it, they eventually found it. We went on a first hike and left some things behind in the same box. A week later, they again didn't have a clue what had happened to it and were at complete loss as to what to do, complete lack of initiative. One of the manager eventually found it. We had breakfast there, not very good. My pancake was horribly sweet and tasted of something straight out of a packet; the hash brown wasn't cooked properly. Dinner was quite good but the service was very slow, despite the fact they weren't many customers.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest away from reception are the quietest. The king rooms overlooking the garden and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to submit this review . The Lamp Liter does have a shipping and receiving and we did have your parcel logged in as received however it was a bit difficult in locating your parcel but of course we did locate it. To say there was no "initiative" I must disagree as I was at the front desk when they received your call and we made every effort to locate the parcel and did so within a reasonable amount of time. I regret you were not happy with your food at our Grill. Perhaps eating rich food after a diet of dehydrated food was to much of an undertaking but I digress. I thank you again for your review and for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    103
    55
    12
    11
See reviews for
80
109
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently stayed here at the Lamp Liter, and totally enjoyed my visit! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the grounds, they were beautifully maintained! The food on site was also very good! We enjoyed an afternoon at the very clean pool, it was peaceful and relaxing. I would highly recommend this location to my friends and family

Room Tip: I always request rooms away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

For anyone looking for a relaxing and meticulously landscaped getaway, Lamp Liter Inn in Visalia California is your bet! From the moment you arrive you are treated like family. There is never any rush, just total comfort and relaxation. Lamp Liter Inn also offers complete and beautiful banquet accommodations with a darling restaurant, delicious choice of food and first class customer service.

Room Tip: All rooms are very fabulous. I like the rooms closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. We got exactly what we hoped for (a peaceful, comfortable night), with the bonus of a large outdoor swimming pool, very nicely landscaped gardens, and restaurants and shopping at the mall just across the main road. We had to make a night-before change in our travel itinerary. Searching online, we saw that this lodge was offering great rates and had very good reviews. As other reviews say, it is an older, basic facility, but it has been kept in good condition, with the landscaped grounds and pool being its best feature. There seem to be 4 bungalows by the garden pool, but we stayed in the main buildings. Free wifi in the rooms. Classic 2-story building with outside entrances. There is no breakfast, but there is an shopping center across the street with a Starbucks, KMart, supermarket, and several small restaurants. We had a better/more-authentic-than-average Mexican dinner at El Rosal. The staff was friendly and efficient. The evening clerk told us about El Rosal. Our only issue was the Google Maps gave us incorrect directions. You should take the County Center Dr/Main St exit from Hwy 128, not
Demaree St.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery County, PA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent two nights at the Lamp Liter this month. We arrived a little early and the staff checked to see if our room was available. It was and we checked in. The room was satisfactory; nothing notable except it was dated and drab. However, the price was very good and the location very convenient to downtown Visalia and to the main highways. I used the pool and it was clean and well kept as were the grounds around the hotel. This facility has direct entry to rooms from the parking area if that is a concern for you.
We used this hotel to visit Sequoia National Park and used the "Sequoia Shuttle" service that picked us up at the hotel and transported us to the park. At $15 per person it was a very good deal. i'd recommend it if you are not staying at the park.
I had only one complaint about the hotel: When we arrived back at the hotel after a day at Sequoia we found that housekeeping had not visited our room. It was not a big problem for us, but i see it as a big oversight by the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you experienced a problem regarding the housekeeping service. I have dicussed this issue with them . I realize that does not help you at this time but do want you to know we are concerned. Your review stated we were "dated and drab"..we are in the process of completing a "soft" renovation with all new bedding,paint and fixtures. The Lamp Liter is a venerable older Inn and perhaps compared to all the newer hotels we may seem "dated" but we like to believe that the charm of our beautiful gardens full service grill and bar, and other ammenties are worthy of note. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Lamp Liter on the way to Sequoia NP. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with trees and flowers, and the pool is huge and very clean. I was almost sorry I didn't bring my swim goggles, because it is big enough to swim laps, if one is so inclined. Our room was clean and comfortable. There were only two minor issues: the lock was a bit tricky--we had to jiggle the key around to get it to work; second, we couldn't see a way to control the temperature on the air conditioner--it was either on or off. The bed was comfortable. The towels were good. The staff was very friendly and gave us an excellent recommendation for a nearby Mexican restaurant. There was free wifi in the rooms--information about this on various sites was unclear. The Inn is across the street from a shopping center with a K-mart and a grocery store, as well as restaurants, so was convenient for our last minute purchases for camping in the NP the next day. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay, especially for the low price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here with a large group and most everyone was fairly happy. The place is a little dated, but was about as clean you could get. There is a place to eat on the property since there is no free breakfast, and they did a good job with breakfast. Staff was very good and took good care of everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to let you know that we are in the process of a "soft" renovation and the rooms will have new paint,new fixtures and bedding. The Lamp Liter has been in Visalia since 1963 so in comparison to the newer properties I suppose one could say we are dated but we like to consider ourselves an "oldie but goodie". I do hope you enjoyed our beautiful garden area which we are well known for and once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Liter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.