We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel--Beautiful Grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Save Saved
You added Lamp Liter Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Motel--Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have just returned from Sequoia NP and I stayed at the Lamp Liter Inn in Visalia for 2 nights. It is an old, but VERY clean inn with beautiful garden grounds. I took my 92 year old Mom and the handicap rooms were GREAT. Also Justin at the front desk was SO helpful and nice. I would stay there again---with out a doubt !! The restaurant was delicious and a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    89
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
57
87
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, Usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

First, we got in late (9pm) and our room was not prepared - both beds not made-gave us another room. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom just a window at ground level, the shower head was extremely low and they caulked over old mildew on the tub. Clearly a case of you get what you pay for, but went off previous reviews. Nice small diner on the grounds for quick meals (good breakfast). Hotel seemed quiet but we checked in late Wednesday and checked out early Friday spent our time at Sequoia & Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am sorry you wern't happy. We strive to make our rooms very comfortable and are in the process of doing a "soft" renovation i.e., new paint,fixtures and more upscale bedding. The Inn is independently owned and we are a older property I hope you enjoyed our beautiful gardens and wonderful swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel, and found it to be of great value.
Yes, it is an old motel type building, but, the rooms are a reasonable size, with 2 queen beds. The grounds are lovely, and very we'll maintained.
The rooms could do with a makeover, as they are a bit on the dark side, and a fridge would be good.
The staff were great, even, opening my bottle of wine, and supplying wine glasses!
Well worth considering

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I would guess this place was built in the 60's. But when you see the grounds it really makes you want to give it a chance. We have spent several nights at the Super 8 in town and it is nothing special. $77 (with tax) and it goes up on the weekend! The service at the Lamp Lighter is amazing! The front desk, maids, all personnel..very helpful and courteous. The room isn't overly wonderful but its better than some. I also like that the bathroom doesn't open right into the bedroom (its kindof around a corner) so there's more privacy. There is central air so no window unit. Very spacious room. Extra bedding. No breakfast tho. $75 (with tax) and it doesn't go up on the wknd. All things considered this will DEFINATELY be the place we stay when in Visalia.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our Golf Group from Blythe, CA. has been staying in the Lamp Liter Inn for the past two years, and we plan to stay there on our third trip this August. We have found it to be excellent for our stay, close to the courses we play, a great restaurant, within shopping distance for all our needs, and managed by an efficient, friendly staff. What more could you ask for. Thank you again for the comfort you provide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were traveling thru California on two Harleys and arrived at this pl;ace a few hours early. No problem with early check-in into a "Garden View" room. The room was comfy with a great view including the pool area. The A/C was great, parking right outside the door and a restaurant is right on the property. Helpful staff, beautifully decorated grounds, reasonably good food at the grille and easy access back on the highway. Great little place.

Room Tip: Pick a first floor "garden View" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Here's a modestly priced, well kept, family run, non-formula spot that has a comfortable ambiance, with lovely gardens, flowers, and shade trees. This is one the all-time best hotel/motel pools I've ever found: it's long and wide and very clean with comfortable lounges and chairs. The rooms are clean and fresh, and the mattresses offer a comfortable sleep. The gardens and landscaping surround each wing and make the place have a special feel. The room size is amble as is the bathroom. The linens and towels are of surprisingly high quality. I didn't use the adjoining restaurant but people I spoke with indicated it was quite good. I think it also has a bar and meeting rooms available. I'm hoping to do some business this summer in the Central Valley and plan to use this motel as my base.

Room Tip: I like a top floor room no matter where I am. The wings are all nicely situated with the garden feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Liter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.