We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Garden in the middle of the Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lamp Liter Inn to your Saves list
Lamp Liter Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
South Pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Garden in the middle of the Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Here's a modestly priced, well kept, family run, non-formula spot that has a comfortable ambiance, with lovely gardens, flowers, and shade trees. This is one the all-time best hotel/motel pools I've ever found: it's long and wide and very clean with comfortable lounges and chairs. The rooms are clean and fresh, and the mattresses offer a comfortable sleep. The gardens and landscaping surround each wing and make the place have a special feel. The room size is amble as is the bathroom. The linens and towels are of surprisingly high quality. I didn't use the adjoining restaurant but people I spoke with indicated it was quite good. I think it also has a bar and meeting rooms available. I'm hoping to do some business this summer in the Central Valley and plan to use this motel as my base.

Room Tip: I like a top floor room no matter where I am. The wings are all nicely situated with the garden feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    103
    56
    12
    11
See reviews for
80
109
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had to be traveling on Mother's Day weekend...woke up Sunday morning at 7am by gardener's using a leaf blower right outside our door??? Also, when we booked the room we weren't told that the attached diner would be closed in the morning for breakfast because of Mother's Day and the coffee provided in the room didn't have enough for two cups? I called the front desk and they said they would have the gardener stop and bring more coffee but sleeping in was shot.......and all they had the gardener do was move to another part of the hotel because we can still hear them working.. That was very inconsiderate by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am so sorry you were disturbed. We were preparing for our Sunday Brunch which was to begin at 9:00 a.m. and it appears we became a bit overzealous in our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

First bad: Lamp Liter Inn is typical family motel, two floors, elder rooms, furniture and old air condition, which I don't like that much. I prefer more rooms in new decorated hotels. Good thing: If you don't mind motel style, it's quite a nice one, you will be happy. Room was big, motel has nice garden, pool (we didn't try it), staff takes care. People at reception were very nice. Our room didn't have fridge and microvawe, we asked for it and we got it first thing in the morning. I would give 3 stars of 5 for hotel level, but 3,5 stars for good feeling there and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Price is excellent. Restaurant on site has great breakfast and good service. Beautiful outdoor gardens. Old style inn. Only complaint was water temperature variable in shower. Was on 2nd floor and no elevator. Wifi was good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you are looking for an event location with real old fashioned service this is the place. Just had a event here with over 300 people and it was a huge success. The service was over the top, the food was great and the management was so easy to work with. I cannot say enough good things about this facility. It is locally owned and managed so you don't have to wait for any Corporation decisions or rules. Any kind of function you are planning, give them a try, I don't think you will be disappointed. They were great, thanks again Lamp Liter.

Room Tip: The cottages are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was in Visalia on business and stayed at the Lamp Liter for one night. The front desk clerk was very welcoming and moved me to a quiet, ground floor, garden view room without my asking.

This hotel is very standard, with dated decor and a shower only in my room. But it was clean, convenient and has a nice oasis of lawn, garden and pool in the center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear to avoid highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here on our way to Yosemite - cool property!

Loved the gardens, and the room was clean and large. Smelled good. Affordable, we spent less than $100 for a king suite overlooking the beautiful gardens. Poppies were blooming poolside and great light in the room. Firm and comfortable bed. Large restroom. HBO.

Loved that it was not a chain and unique. Friendly and helpful staff.

Would stay here again. highly recommend it!

Room Tip: king suite is the way to go - great value, we loved our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Liter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.