We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice grounds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Save Saved
You added Lamp Liter Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Monterey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location, nice grounds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was in Visalia on business and stayed at the Lamp Liter for one night. The front desk clerk was very welcoming and moved me to a quiet, ground floor, garden view room without my asking.

This hotel is very standard, with dated decor and a shower only in my room. But it was clean, convenient and has a nice oasis of lawn, garden and pool in the center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear to avoid highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    90
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
67
89
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here on our way to Yosemite - cool property!

Loved the gardens, and the room was clean and large. Smelled good. Affordable, we spent less than $100 for a king suite overlooking the beautiful gardens. Poppies were blooming poolside and great light in the room. Firm and comfortable bed. Large restroom. HBO.

Loved that it was not a chain and unique. Friendly and helpful staff.

Would stay here again. highly recommend it!

Room Tip: king suite is the way to go - great value, we loved our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here this weekend for the CCRG Model A meet. The place was booked solid. We tried to check in early and our room was not empty yet. We were told to come back later [at the check in time]. We came back later and were told that the people who were in our room were not leaving and that they were trying to take care of us. They put us into a cottage which was lovely and twice the price but honored our low price reservation. They were very nice and helpful in taking care of the problem that they did not create. I commend the staff that was able to actually think and come up with a solution to a problem. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

No A/C, just a fan. Bathrooms are dated but overall it's better than Motel 6. Arrive before 10pm, otherwise they lock you out of the lobby and do all transactions behind a Sam window like a convenience store in a bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

While traveling around California we never really knew where we were stopping each night so we would look during the day when we had a better idea of where we would be that night. This was a wonderful - non-chain-hotel - place to stay. The rooms we pleasant, the staff was friendly and the gardens are beautiful. We were there in the winter but I can only imagine how lovely it would be to stroll around in the evening. Beats sitting in a room at night! There is a restaurant and pub/bar on site so no need to drive once you stop. We went to the bar to eat but had to wait a long, long time as the same person was running both sides. Not a big deal as we were not in a rush but if you want to eat quickly I suggest you try the restaurant side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a surprise. this motel was. It is one of Visalia s older motels but the owner s really take care of it. The garden areas around the motel are beautiful, and with a super large pool in the middle it really adds to the trees and flowers. My room was spotless, and it was set up with plenty of room with a large closet and the way the room was designed someone could be sleeping and the other person could use the shower and bathroom with out bothering the other person.
I liked the fact that a nice little cafe was on the grounds with good food at a reasonable price. There was also a bar next to the small convention center which was by the cafe.
If you wanted to have a company banquet, or a fund raiser , this is the place. I attended a banquet there and the food was good, and we had about 140 people there with lots of room for more.
The next morning I had to attend a meeting there which was the next room over, and the seating and lighting was great.
The front desk was very friendly , and helpful. If you are planning a trip to Sequoia Park or Kings Canyon Park this is the place to stay. Very clean, plenty of room for the family and a nice little place to eat. You have to check this beautiful motel out, its a winner!!

Room Tip: Call them direct 559-732-1840....this way you can a select a room thats right for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Clean rooms and a great price are just the start. The staff is nothing short of amazing, which always makes the stay at a motel even better. It's not often, these days, that you are able to interact with a staff that truly loves their job. It's like a home away from home here. The rooms are clean, quiet and spacious. Their location is perfect with easy freeway access, grocery store and Starbucks nearby; and only a short drive to downtown. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Liter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.