We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get a reserved room when check-in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Resort Southern California

Save Saved
You added Harrah's Resort Southern California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harrah's Resort Southern California
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   777 Harrah's Rincon Way, Valley Center, CA 92082 (Formerly Harrah's Rincon Casino & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Valley Center
GreenLeadersGold level
Calif.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't get a reserved room when check-in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I have been in Harrahs Rincon many times , almost once every month, as a Diamond
club member I expected at least I can get a room as we requested in advance . (I always make a reservation for a room 2 weeks ahead of the time) but when we checking in , always there were no non-smoking room with 2 beds as we requested .Last week-end we have to take a smoking room in
Garden tower with pool view ,but smoking smell so bad in the room and loud noise music from the pool. We are very unhappy with the way Harrahs treat club members, seems like just becaused we use comp. for a room so Harrahs try to put us in any room they wants without care for club member like it or not .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaynPlay, Manager at Harrah's Resort Southern California, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Harrah’s Rincon Casino & Resort. We appreciate hearing from our guests, and look forward to using your feedback to create a better guest experience.

We try very hard to place guests in their requested rooms, however all room requests are based on availability at the time of check-in. Unfortunately, we did not have a room available that met your request

We truly appreciate your loyalty as a Diamond Cardholder, and hope that you will visit us again at Harrah’s Rincon.

Sincerely,

The Management Team
Harrah’s Rincon Casino & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    112
    69
    37
    46
See reviews for
76
177
33
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

In June 2009 we enjoyed our second stay at Harrah's Rincon. We had a comp room that was quite comfortable and clean. I love Rincon and will return whenever we receive comps and have the time. I truly like it there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaynPlay, Manager at Harrah's Resort Southern California, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
Zeusjojo,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harrah’s Rincon Casino & Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and will share your positive feedback with our Hotel and Marketing Team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

The Management Team
Harrah’s Rincon Casino & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

As a Poker Player, I enjoy their Poker Room and Facilities. Currently they have a number of specials going on... The dealers and staff are very professional. Also, they have a very good selection of video poker machines. Buffet and restaurants were good, and good to see them doing remodeling within, improving areas. Rooms and service to rooms was very good, staff very nice that we met and observed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

I go to rincon a few times a month and I live an hour and half away so that pretty much says how much I love the casino. Each area of staff has always been very friendly with me. My only bad encounter with an employee was a bartender that totally disregarded my presence even after making eye contact. The food is incredible, especially the cafe. It might be a little overpriced compared to dennys but the quality is way better. The buffet is really good considering we're not in vegas and there are days where the food is not as good as other days. Rincon has let go a lot of employees and therefore the service is really slow right now but once they start rehiring the place should be back to its old self.

The rooms are really spacious and nice. All rooms come with a separate shower and tub that fits 2 people and all come with a fridge. Their biggest suite is the 2nd largest suite I've been in; furniture needs to be updated and tv could be replaced, but overall it was a really nice suite.

The players that go to Rincon are mainly middle-aged to older people and mainly speak a different language. Therefore you will have a variety of players that will seem rude but it might be just a part of their culture.

Overall this is a great, convenient casino. Harrahs has many properties throughout the U.S. which makes certain traveling plans a lot easier when you have a players card. Either get free or reduced rates for rooms and points to cover food.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Service is greatly lacking for a Harrah's property.  As a Diamond Rewards Club member, I have come to expect to feel welcome and somewhat special for gambling  thousands of dollars.  Unfortunately, this was not the case at Harrah's Rincon.  The staff seemed to have an attitude on the casino floor.  The restaurants were poorly staffed...except for Fiore.  The bartenders were rude.  The Memorial Holiday weekend brought out the worst in this casino hotel.  I had absolutely no contact from a Casino Host and do not even know if they have them there.  The pool was great, though there were an abundance of kids.  This is an Indian Casino out in the wilderness.  Do not expect anything more.  Barona is much more inviting.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

I've stayed and dined at some of the sister casino's in Vegas, so i expected the quality to be much higher... especially in the dining department. The food was way overpriced and would have tasted better if they'd hired a cook from Denny's

When the menu said "mixed greens" for my Asian chicken salad... they brought soggy iceberg with some toppings. If the menu mentioned "mixed" meant cilantro would be in it I would have ordered something else... that was the only green thing in the whole salad... the dressing had no taste and the smoke in the air was not particularly helpful either.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We went to Harrah's Rincon for two nights, one comped, one discounted for our anniversary. We stayed in the Garden tower which was renovated. The room was really nice, spacious with nice furnishings and a huge bathroom. Just a few problems there, the sink backed up while we were gone and filled with hairy gross water, the door handle for the bathroom broke, and the drain in the bathtub was looking and coming off. Also we didn't have a room service/hotel services book but they were very helpful in brining one up quickly after we called.

The casino was good. It had a lot of variety of slots and table games and is a decent size, so even when it was really crowded we could still find machines to play. The free drink machines are nice since we didn't see any cocktail waitresses.

We had dinner at Fiore, their nice steakhouse. The food was really good, especially the truffled mac n.cheese and the service was great, we got a free dessert for our anniversary. I did find it weird though that it's casual dress, that most people were in shorts and flip flops in what was considered their most upscale (and expensive) restaurant and it was really loud in the restaurant. Overall, the food the whole trip was good but we had to wait in line forever for breakfast saturday morning at the cafe.

My biggest complaint for the whole trip was the pool nightclub. It starts at 9pm and lasts until 2 am. They warn you at check in and have signs posted that the music will be really loud, and it is. You can hear the music really loud in your room (and we weren't facing the pool, I can't imagine those rooms) so we pretty much had to stay out of our room until the club closed. That's something they need to fix, they can't just tell guests sorry it'll be loud and expect everyone to be fine with it. The front desk worker said they receive numerous complaints about it every night but have no plans to fix it.

Overall the trip was fun, food was good, and the rooms were nice except for a few minor things.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaynPlay, Manager at Harrah's Resort Southern California, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
Dear PunkyB546,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at Harrah’s Rincon Casino & Resort. I’m glad that you enjoyed your dinner at Fiore’s, and I agree that the mac n’ cheese is fantastic! I have forwarded your comments about your experience in the hotel to our Hotel Manager, as well as our Director of Hospitality Service so that they can address these matters.

Regarding your comments about Eclipse, our poolside nightclub, we are in the process of installing a new sound system that includes strategically placed speakers that will allow for a fun experience while minimizing the impact to our hotel guests.

We appreciate your business, and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

The Management Team
Harrah’s Rincon Casino & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrah's Resort Southern California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Resort Southern California

Address: 777 Harrah's Rincon Way, Valley Center, CA 92082 (Formerly Harrah's Rincon Casino & Resort)
Location: United States > California > Valley Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Valley Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Resort Southern California 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harrah's Resort Southern California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Rincon Casino And Resort
Harrah`s Rincon Hotel Valley Center
Harrahs Rincon Hotel
Harrahs Rincon Resort
Harrahs Rincon Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Resort Southern California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.