We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Resort Southern California

Save Saved
You added Harrah's Resort Southern California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harrah's Resort Southern California
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   777 Harrah's Rincon Way, Valley Center, CA 92082 (Formerly Harrah's Rincon Casino & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Valley Center
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nestled in the foothills, this Harrah's Rincon Casino & Resort offers an awesome, just renovated, outdoor pool area called The Dive Pool. Three pools and 9 Jacuzzis are surrounded by lush, tropical plants reminding me of Hawaii. Only the Lazy River, with it's waterfalls, are for the kids -which is what I became when I jumped in- fun for all ages. The Lazy River is surrounded on one side by Cabanas with flat screen TV's and misters, rentable for the day. Adults have another pool that abuts a great bar - yep belly-up to the bar while still in the pool. Lounge mats are along the sides of the pool creating comfy water chairs and a very popular space. All other outdoor furniture is plush and comfy too; some surrounding almost private, adult-only Jacuzzis where you can hideout with your adult beverages while the DJ keeps great music coming at you.
Rooms are in the Spa Tower or Garden Tower. The Garden rooms, though more expensive have a fridge and fancy, Las Vegas style, luxury bathrooms (marble, deep soaking tub and separate shower) plus separate toilet room. The Garden rooms are a little larger and superior but the Spa rooms are fine too and both have a comfortable couch and a desk. We took our 13 month old granddaughter (who loved the Lazy River) and were provided a crib and bedding.
Restaurants and Buffet are very good - the Café is surprisingly good and a good value. There is a new Mexican Restaurant - Rita's Cantina - with a food truck out it's door that provides quick frozen margaritas, hot dogs, beer, etc. An overall fun atmosphere.
This is just the right size casino with a large "No Smoking" area and good ventilation. I enjoy spending most of the day in the outdoor area - then, in the evenings, after a nice dinner, I hit the gaming floor and have had a blast. Check the promotions online - Saturdays are All-Adult in the Dive Pool.
Rates are reasonable - but I go mid-week when they are ridiculously low.
The 1 hour drive from San Diego sure beats the 5 hour drive to Las Vegas. We now check in to Harrah's Rincon Hotel once a month for 2 nights for relaxation and lately, friends have been joining us. Oh NO! The secret is out!

Green Features: Only solar-powered hotel in California. That alone makes this place attractive.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    119
    71
    38
    49
See reviews for
79
185
33
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a wonderful day at Harrahs lounging by their pools (one has a swim up bar), enjoying their many jacuzzis, a fun lazy river with inner tubes provided, and lots of lounge chairs with comfy cushioned pads and lots of umbrellas...for $10 per person! The main pool is huge and only adults over 21 are allowed! The kids are all at the lazy river...it is fun to float in and then go back to the main pool! There is a casual mexican restaurant adjacent to the pool...you can eat inside, outside, or enjoy poolside service off the pool menu! Be sure to go on a weekday because it is craziness on the weekends...there was no one there on a Wednesday! One other tip...go inside the casino and sign up for your free Harrah's card and they give you $20 value right away...food, free play or pool fees...awesome!! We didn't stay overnight...just used the facilities and drove home to San Diego...about an hour away. Almost as good as a trip to Cabo!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just spent the weekend Labor Day at this place. There is nothing around in this area and it is about 10 minutes driving from Valley view casino resort. There is not enough parking and only Vallet parking available while the parking garage is in construction. It was very crowded but does not have the fun atmosphere you expect...we just played slot machine and black jack table with no luck and ate at the buffet diner for $25 pp with average food. It is a little too far from Los Angeles and nothing special to bring us back to this resort again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I placed a bid and won a get-a-way package from a charity auction for my stay. I have never visited this hotel/casino before so this was our first time. When I called in to claim my package the guest services lady was super nice she set up everything and even advised me to call ahead to book some spa services for my wife as they fill up fast. Upon arrival check in was a breeze and our room was very modern, clean and spacious.
We ate dinner at the buffet the first night and it was great, except they ran out of oysters too fast.
We signed up for the Harrah's playing card, and my wife won food credit and I won gambling credit so that was pretty cool.
We both forgot to bring our swimming clothes so we didn't get out to the pool at all.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tower room it was nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't hear any complaints from the environment
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rincon means the corner in Spanish and the Harrah's Rincon is a beautiful little corner of the world that sits like a little oasis. It's tucked in the mountains, a beautiful drive to get there. The rooms are beautiful, we were on the 20th floor with a wonderful view. The Dive swim area was amazing, with a little lazy river float ride, several waterfalls, beautiful surroundings, and the mountains in the background framing it all.
They have an amazing all you can eat buffet with crab legs that just won't quit, and everything else wonderful under the sun that you can imagine. It was a spectacular evening with a dear, old friend!

Room Tip: I liked the view from high up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent last Monday at Harrah's and we had a blast. My husband and I have stayed here once before just the two of us and after that trip we decided that we would only go back if we had a group of people with us and here is why. When you are there you just don't leave ( mainly cause there is nothing else really around it) and if you gamble that can get a little scary! With a group of people it was awesome, we spent most of the say at the pool which was a blast because on Mondays it is Industry day and drinks are half price and the have a DJ spinning. The lazy river was a blast with all of us training along with each other! We then all went and got ready for diner which ended up being at their Chinese restaurant which was tasty. The only other choice is the buffet, the steak house ( which is kinda spendy!) or at the Cafe. After that it lead to gambling of course but with a whole bunch of us we keep each other entertained and had fun. Overall the property is nice ( they are doing some upgrading so there is some construction noise 24/7) they have upgraded the pool area since the last time we were there and it is a good upgrade!! Like I said, great place to go with a group of friends for one night .... and one night only!!

Room Tip: try to ask for a room that isn't near the construction area of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently spent three days and two nights at the Harrah's Rincon. I was looking for relaxation, tasty meals, great hospitality, and comfortable gaming conditions. I FOUND ALL OF THEM.

From its serene location in the mountains approximately 50 minutes north of San Diego to the accommodating staff and wonderful cafe, I was most pleased.

There is construction on the property, but it should be overlooked because of the pleasant time one would enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains offer a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrah's Resort Southern California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Resort Southern California

Address: 777 Harrah's Rincon Way, Valley Center, CA 92082 (Formerly Harrah's Rincon Casino & Resort)
Location: United States > California > Valley Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Valley Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Resort Southern California 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Harrah's Resort Southern California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Rincon Casino And Resort
Harrah`s Rincon Hotel Valley Center
Harrahs Rincon Hotel
Harrahs Rincon Resort
Harrahs Rincon Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Resort Southern California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.