We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place for Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joy of Eating Cafe

Joy of Eating Cafe
1828 Springs Rd, Vallejo, CA 94591-5555
707-644-5315
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 161 Restaurants in Vallejo
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Carmel, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Super Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the place for an excellent home cooked breakfast. It isn't fancy, only a cafe but the service and food was really superior. We were in a bit of a hurry and were fortunately able to get a table right away as the place was pretty crowded. Someone gave us menus as soon as we were seated and we placed our order shortly after. We had omelets with bacon, avocado, tomato and cheese. Potatoes and homemade bread were included with the eggs. The toast was very difficult to resist; it almost seemed like a dish in itself, buttered and spread with jam. The omelet was perfectly cooked and very fresh tasting vs. that commercial flavor that restaurants sometimes give their eggs. The potatoes with green onion were also a good accompaniment and again tasted fresh. So, if you don't care that much about fashionable surroundings but want good homey food this is a place to try. I would definitely return and sample some of their other selections.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeport, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Two words:
Bacon Waffles!

Like the other reviewers have mentioned, all of the food is from scratch and homemade. Try the bread pudding, it is so good. And that is from someone who has not cared for bread pudding her whole life!

Great vibe, excellent comfort food, bottomless coffee. Great way to start your day!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is nothing fancy but it has an awesome breakfast! The homemade toast is amazing! You get 2 LARGE slices to go with your huge breakfast! You won't leave hungry. If you like hole in the wall places with great food and service, check out The Joy of Eating Cafe!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not much to look at but what a JOY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been going for more than 20 years but they have been open longer. Its small but its clearly a neighborhood joint that welcomes all. I have gone there alone and with a party of kids and friends. The food is the name THE JOY OF EATING, from their home made bread, to their country potatoes to my favorite the crab sandwich this place is the BOMB. You don't go for the decor but you will keep coming for the service and the food. They have a location in Suisun now, its bigger AND the food and service lost nothing in the expansion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Joyful Eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Restaurant was clean, food was plentiful and tasted fantastic and the service was friendly and efficient. Everyone was there to enjoy good, local food. The 24 min parking is not enforced! An oasis in an otherwise area devoid of charm. Don't let the neighborhood scare you away. This place deserves your enjoyment!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy of Eating Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Joy of Eating Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joy of Eating Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.