We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferry ride from Vallejo to San Francisco Pier 41” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Bay Ferry Vallejo Service

San Francisco Bay Ferry Vallejo Service
289 Mare Island Way, Vallejo, CA 94590
(707) 643-3779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Vallejo
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
Attraction details
Oroville, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ferry ride from Vallejo to San Francisco Pier 41”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Awesome way to get from Vallejo (where we spent a day at Six Flags) to San Francisco the next day for an enjoyable time at Pier 39 Aquarium of the Bay. Left at 10 a.m. This ferry ride was awesome. Had our 3 granddaughters with us ages 5, 11 &12 and they loved it! got pretty close to Angel Island and Alcatraz and went under some HUGE bridges! So lots of big ships carrying cargo, etc. Excellent snacks and drinks available (we enjoyed chips and donuts) Restrooms were well maintained. Very enjoyable ride! Took lots of pictures. The employees were super nice and friendly to our 5 year old chatterbox who loves to ask technical questions of "how does this work?", "how fast are we going?" etc. The first stop at the Port of San Francisco was Beautiful! The dockings were excellent - no scares! When we got to Pier 41 we were so excited and had a great time! On way back to Vallejo at 4 p.m. we went by this quaint little island that had a sign "rent me for the night" that was interesting but wasn't able to catch the info on what where or who to contact. Anyone know? Lot's to enjoy on the ride. Thanks so much!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    15
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dependable, Affordable and Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Baylink Ferry is a great commuting option. I have used it for the past few months to go from Vallejo to San Francisco and back a couple days each week. They have a fleet of four ferries, three of which are the newer, larger models. The older one (The Vallejo) is small, but still clean and gives a nice ride. The crews are excellent and friendly. Parking at the Vallejo terminal is currently free but will have a fee charged sometime around March 2013. There are specials for groups and to the San Francisco Giants Baseball games. The ferries are always on time. It takes about an hour to go across the bay, and you will have some of the best views in the country.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California, United States
1 review
“Captain John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I take the Ferry to the Giants Ball Games. I enjoy the ride down and back to Vallejo and the walk to the ball park in San Francisco.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent way to get to SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sometimes having a car in the city can be nice, but often finding parking and dealing with traffic is more work than its worth. Taking the ferry puts you in a great position to take public transportation to anywhere in the city you want to go. And if you look it up ahead of time, sometimes they offer package deals that include museum or other attraction admission along with the ferry ticket. Its a great way to see the scenery of the bay as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“ONLY way to go to SF from Vallejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

No traffic, no parking, no hassle! The ride was smooth, the seats comfortable. They have snacks and drinks available too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Bay Ferry Vallejo Service also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Bay Ferry Vallejo Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Bay Ferry Vallejo Service, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.