We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to Magic Mountain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28523 Westinghouse Place, Valencia, CA 91355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Valencia
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, close to Magic Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Valencia for a wedding. The hotel is really nice, the lobby area is very large a bar, happy hour specials, and lots of places to sit and visit. This was really nice, as we were able to spend a lot of time down there, catching up with other guests attending the wedding. The front desk staff was fabulous- Irene, I think was her name, the front desk manager was a sweetheart and provided us with free breakfast every morning! My complaints are that the room was kind of oddly designed, with the placement of the bed and other furniture. It was hard to see the tv from the bed. The room was very, very clean, excecpt the bed linens has such a strong bleach odor to them. Also, the bed was not very comfortable. Marriott should invest in some upgrades to it's beds. The rooms were quiet, heard little noise from the hallways. Would stay here again (but would bring my own pillow).

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was much quieter than rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDManager, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our hotel. We have a very nice lobby area and are very glad you and the other wedding attendee’s could enjoy it. We pride ourselves in the customer service we are able to provide and we are very fortunate to have people like Irene and the rest of the front desk staff. We are looking in to the bleach issue, thank you for bringing that to our attention. We hope when you travel to the area next time, we will be able to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    59
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
31
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have been using this hotel in Santa Clarita for since it opened a few years ago. We find that when visiting family, it is nice to have a place to retire to in the evening rather than making all the family change rooms so we have a place to sleep. The hotel has been kept in very clean conditions, and the few times we have noticed a small problem, the management has fixed the issue in a very short time. We have our favorite room and they are always good at holding this room for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDManager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We appreciate your business and we intend to be better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived early afternoon find out our room was not ready. No big deal. The front desk was nice enough to find a room for us right away. Too bad it was already taken! After several attempts to get the key to work, the man already checked into the room opened the door.

The front desk was very apologetic,and said it would be best if we came back later. They even offered to throw in breakfast. They called us when the room was ready, but never mentioned breakfast again. The room we eventually got was small, but clean. The beds, however, were uncomfortable which was a total bummer.

What really surprised me were the kids running all over the hotel unattended! They were running around inside and out, not to mention very loud!

This hotel was clean, and I really appreciate that more than anything - but not one I would choose for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDManager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We truly apologize for the inconvenience that you had to go through. Unfortunately that weekend was pretty hectic due to the holiday weekend. But i want to thank you for taking time in giving us your comments. I hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We got a good deal with expedia. Spent the day at 6 Flags and was too tired to drive to our next location. Its a clean and modern hotel. Only drawback was that breakfast was a little pricey and didnt look too good either. We hopped in the car for a quick trip to McDonalds. Saved about 10 bucks and it was probably the same quality. Overall, its a nice hotel with a great location to 6 Flags.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDManager, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us! We do indeed have a fantastic location which is very close to many restaurant, shops and most importantly Six Flags! We hope when you are in the area again, we will have the pleasure of seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My one sentence says it all. It's ridiculous that a nice Marriott hotel that people use for business trips doesn't include breakfast. Even a continental breakfast. I should of stayed at the Holiday Inn Express this time. Facilities and breakfast and customer service are all fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDManager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We truly appreciate your business and thoughts about our hotel. Unfortunately Courtyard hotels are typically designed not to include breakfast with the rate. Also if ever you would like to stay with us again for future reference breakfast is $10.95 for adults and $7.95 for children under 12 which includes All American Buffet that consists of Eggs cook to order, waffle station, sausage, eggs, bacon, potatoes, assorted muffins, assorted sliced breads, 4 kinds of fresh sliced fruits, yogurt, milk, hot oatmeal, 6 kinds of cold cereal, coffee, tea or juice...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I live in this area and needed a hotel that could give me adjoining rooms for a spa party /sleepover for my grand daughter. I called a couple of weeks in advance to get assurance of adjoining rooms and talked to a nice young lady at the front desk who assured me adjoining rooms. What a relief! I got to meet her at checkin and I indeed had adjoining rooms. I wish I knew her name because she was so great. Most of the hotels in the area would not promise adjoining rooms or that they could even get our rooms near to each other. The rooms were clean and all the staff we encountered were friendly. The only downside to my review is I think this hotel should do what other hotels in the area do and offer free breakfast. Their cheapest breakfast choice was buffet $8.95.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDManager, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience you have had with us! We always try to do our best with adjoining rooms and getting rooms as close as we can to one another and we are very glad that we were able to accommodate you. Unfortunately, as a Courtyard property we are unable to include breakfast in our rates as it is a standard across the brand. We hope your granddaughters party was a success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We should have known better being that this hotel is so close to Magic Mountain and it was labor day weekend. The place was packed with young children. We were treated to running screaming young girls in the hallways for a good portion of the evening. I assume their parents were in the bar downstairs as there didn't seem to be any supervision. The room above us had very heavy feet late into the evening and early the next morning so it was not a very restful one night stay.

I am sure we could have complained and had the problem taken care of by the staff. They seemed to be very nice and accommodating but we remember our kids being young and excited and blamed ourselves more for not thinking this stay through better. I would consider this Courtyard a great place for families but if you are looking for a peaceful stay I would drive a little further away from Magic Mountain.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid hearing footsteps from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We are a family friendly hotel and committed to making everyone's stay enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to ask should you need assistance at any time. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit to Santa Clarita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita

Address: 28523 Westinghouse Place, Valencia, CA 91355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Santa Clarita Valley, the Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita is just 30 minutes north of Los Angeles. Minutes away are Six Flags Magic Mountain, Valencia Town Center, and the Mountasia Family Fun Center. American cuisine is available in the Courtyard Café which serves breakfast and dinner, room service is also available. The Courtyard Lounge has a great Happy Hour and a different $1 drink everyday! Guests can enjoy complimentary high-speed wireless internet, Flat Screen TV's and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Clarita Hotel Valencia
Courtyard Santa Clarita
Courtyard Valencia
Courtyard Hotel Santa Clarita
Valencia Marriott
Valencia Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Clarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.