We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for Six Flags” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27513 Wayne Mills Place, Valencia, CA 91355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Valencia
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stop for Six Flags”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good hotel for the price, nice rooms, good breakfast. I honestly have no complaint about the hotel itself! The beds were comfortable, the heater was quiet, the stay enjoyable. The pool and hot tub are outdoors, but still very relaxing after a long day of roller coasters!

That being said, I agree with the previous reviewer.. we didn't want to pay to park at Six Flags, that's why we stayed here.. it IS close enough to walk to the park and some good restaurants though the busy road can be VERY daunting. Once you pass the Marie Callendars and gas stations there are NO sidewalks the rest of the way up the hill to the park!! No sidewalks even into the park so we were trudging through wet soggy grass and mud. The walk back to the hotel was dark and we were a bit timid without good lighting, cars whizzing by and no sidewalk. If you have little ones with you, I wouldn't walk!! I wish the hotel offered a shuttle year-round..

Also, my one other minor detail that perhaps the hotel can work on.. please don't get me wrong, the staff was VERY nice and friendly! But truly clueless about the surrounding area. Couldn't give me ANY recommendations on evening entertainment. My friend and I were looking for perhaps a bar with live music, karaoke, or lively DJ.. It was a Friday night! We wanted to go out! They didn't know of a single place to go. :-( We ended up driving around in vain and a bit disappointed, we returned to the hotel early, watch a movie and went to bed. Be prepared with your things to do list before you go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear ElizabethT,
Thank you for joining us after a long day at the park and after braving that walk – you’re right, not exactly pedestrian friendly! Sorry that our front desk was unable able to recommend a lively bar with music – quite honestly, this is Santa Clarita -- there are none! Only sports bars, restaurants and a few shady dive bars that we cannot recommend in good conscience! Some restaurants such as Salt Creek and Lucille’s will have live music on a Friday or Saturday night but it’s a crap shoot. We’ll do some diligent recon and have some venues for you by your next visit! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    65
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
78
34
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As we were a party of 3 heading to six flags the following morning, we took advantage of paying the extra $20 or so and upgraded to a 2-bed queen suite. This included a sofa-bed and bedding included ready in the room.

The hotel includes free WiFi and a free basic hot breakfast. There is a Denny's in the parking lot if you want somewhere close to eat.

The hotel has a free business center from where we were able to print our Six Flags tickets.

I don't think you can get better value for money than this.

Magic Mountain is only a few minutes drive away (note: probably not close enough to walk though as this hotel is located across the highway!).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CityLiving90,
We are so honored to score a 5-star review from someone who really gets around! We want to thank you for staying with us and for acknowledging our hotel as a great value. We like to include everything in the rate to simplify the travel process for our guests. So glad you appreciated it! Loved your profile and will for sure stay away from Hotel Tamara!! Hope to see you soon on your future adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Perhaps a bit clinical on arrival but staff were warm and friendly. Rooms were excellent and the hotel had all that you'd expect: business centre, heated pool, fitness centre, breakfast area and a good choice of breakfast food. The only issue with breakfast (on first day) was it was so overcrowded, it was frustrating but the staff opened up a meeting room nearby to accommodate the overflow.
There was also a fridge and microwave which really should be a must and is absent in many US hotels. Laundry facilities too which is so useful when travelling.
I had been lead to understand that there was a shuttle to Six Flags but on arrival found it was seasonal. A bit disappointing as I had specifically asked and been mislead.
No place to store suitcases when arriving too early for check -in. Perhaps this could be reviewed.
Able to walk to some good restaurants though the busy road can be daunting.
I asked for rooms at the rear of hotel as I am a light sleeper. So slept without the traffic noise and so grateful of advice of that reviewer!

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of hotel if you want to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Lloyd055,
By your profile, it appears you love to travel! Thank you for including us in your mix and for your appreciation of our amenities and warm staff. We were glad that you received a pool-side room, but apologize for the shuttle confusion. The seasonal shuttle is City run and available only during the summer months. Off-site reservation agents are not always privy to this. We hope that you join us again for the opening of Six Flag’s Full-Throttle in spring 2013, and take advantage of that seasonal shuttle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel was very clean. There's a Denny's in the parking lot. The staff is friendly.
I might try another hotel next time for the same price range. Its very close to Magic Mt.
What's the deal with trip advisor asking for 200 character minimum?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear ksb20,
Given all the hotel choices out there, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and for noting our friendly staff and other conveniences. Sorry to hear about Trip Advisor’s character minimum – that must be new. I will have to talk to them about that because you left out some important stuff, like our awesome free hot breakfast buffet and upgraded fitness center!! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I stay here often when I need a quick place that I can count on that the prices to be perfect. The rooms have a microwave and fridge. I can say if you are staying for Magic Mountain it's perfect and there is breakfast that's very good. There is also a Starbuck and Denny's in walking distance!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear TripSLMS,
Thank you so much for allowing us to be your go-to hotel – we are so honored! Thank you also for noting all that we have to offer, and for the five-star review. You made a friend for life! Hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Was genuinely surprised at the cleanliness of the room, the hospitality of the staff & the 1st time, in a long time, that we have been satisfied with the breakfast that is offered. The cinnamon rolls are awesome!!
We will definitely be staying here again, maybe we will bring the kids next time ;-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Tracy B,
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay – and the cinnamon rolls! We will be looking forward to meeting the kids on your next visit. Thanks so much for staying with us and hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express, and the second time we've stayed there. Our room was immaculately clean (and I look in the dark corners). Very comfortable bed, a gazillion cable channels, and a really very good continental breakfast. The staff is very friendly without being intrusive. The grounds are well kept. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Desert Dogwood,
Thank you so much for joining us once again this year – it is always a pleasure to serve our beloved repeat guests! I was happy to hear that you took advantage of our upgraded cable package; I hope a gazillion channels were enough for you! Thank you also for all of the wonderful praise and for noting our clean and well-maintained property. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita

Address: 27513 Wayne Mills Place, Valencia, CA 91355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Valencia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from Six Flags Magic Mountain and 1 mile from the Valencia Town Center. This hotel offers a complimentary hot Express Start breakfast bar and free wireless internet. Guests can also enjoy an outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. On site dining is available at Denny's restaurant. Hotel offers meeting room spaces totaling 1750 sq ft, catering services, and audio visual equipment to compliment a variety of meeting formats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Santa Clarita
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Santa Clarita Hotel Valencia
Holiday Inn Express Valencia
Holiday Inn Valencia
Valencia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.