We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Six Flags” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27513 Wayne Mills Place, Valencia, CA 91355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Valencia
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect for Six Flags”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Perhaps a bit clinical on arrival but staff were warm and friendly. Rooms were excellent and the hotel had all that you'd expect: business centre, heated pool, fitness centre, breakfast area and a good choice of breakfast food. The only issue with breakfast (on first day) was it was so overcrowded, it was frustrating but the staff opened up a meeting room nearby to accommodate the overflow.
There was also a fridge and microwave which really should be a must and is absent in many US hotels. Laundry facilities too which is so useful when travelling.
I had been lead to understand that there was a shuttle to Six Flags but on arrival found it was seasonal. A bit disappointing as I had specifically asked and been mislead.
No place to store suitcases when arriving too early for check -in. Perhaps this could be reviewed.
Able to walk to some good restaurants though the busy road can be daunting.
I asked for rooms at the rear of hotel as I am a light sleeper. So slept without the traffic noise and so grateful of advice of that reviewer!

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of hotel if you want to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Lloyd055,
By your profile, it appears you love to travel! Thank you for including us in your mix and for your appreciation of our amenities and warm staff. We were glad that you received a pool-side room, but apologize for the shuttle confusion. The seasonal shuttle is City run and available only during the summer months. Off-site reservation agents are not always privy to this. We hope that you join us again for the opening of Six Flag’s Full-Throttle in spring 2013, and take advantage of that seasonal shuttle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    68
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
80
34
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel was very clean. There's a Denny's in the parking lot. The staff is friendly.
I might try another hotel next time for the same price range. Its very close to Magic Mt.
What's the deal with trip advisor asking for 200 character minimum?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear ksb20,
Given all the hotel choices out there, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and for noting our friendly staff and other conveniences. Sorry to hear about Trip Advisor’s character minimum – that must be new. I will have to talk to them about that because you left out some important stuff, like our awesome free hot breakfast buffet and upgraded fitness center!! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I stay here often when I need a quick place that I can count on that the prices to be perfect. The rooms have a microwave and fridge. I can say if you are staying for Magic Mountain it's perfect and there is breakfast that's very good. There is also a Starbuck and Denny's in walking distance!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear TripSLMS,
Thank you so much for allowing us to be your go-to hotel – we are so honored! Thank you also for noting all that we have to offer, and for the five-star review. You made a friend for life! Hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Was genuinely surprised at the cleanliness of the room, the hospitality of the staff & the 1st time, in a long time, that we have been satisfied with the breakfast that is offered. The cinnamon rolls are awesome!!
We will definitely be staying here again, maybe we will bring the kids next time ;-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Tracy B,
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay – and the cinnamon rolls! We will be looking forward to meeting the kids on your next visit. Thanks so much for staying with us and hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express, and the second time we've stayed there. Our room was immaculately clean (and I look in the dark corners). Very comfortable bed, a gazillion cable channels, and a really very good continental breakfast. The staff is very friendly without being intrusive. The grounds are well kept. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Desert Dogwood,
Thank you so much for joining us once again this year – it is always a pleasure to serve our beloved repeat guests! I was happy to hear that you took advantage of our upgraded cable package; I hope a gazillion channels were enough for you! Thank you also for all of the wonderful praise and for noting our clean and well-maintained property. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stopped here on the 3rd leg of our USA road trip so we could visit the California 6 Flags magic mountain theme park as well as visit the north LA attractions. This hotel is located about 2 minutes off the I5 in Santa Clarita about 25 miles north of Los Angeles. It is clear from the outset that it is well managed and well ran. The Hotel is modern, comfortable, exceptionally clean and about 15 minute walk from the entrance to 6 flags (I would go as far to say it is nearer to the entrance when you put the car park walk distance and $17 parking fee into the mix!!!) The hotel is also convenient and traffic friendly if you want to visit Universal Studios or the Hollywood sign.

It is the only USA hotel Ive stopped in where the friendly cleaning staff literally crawl all over the hotel, I actually caught them deep cleaning the corridor carpet 1 morning !!!!

My only criticism of the hotel is the layout of the breakfast bufet - You need to put half of it on the opposite side of the room! - Oh and a palm tree or 2 in the swimming pool area would be nice! - Iam a very critical fussy traveller so there you go! My advice - stop here - its great, clean and does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Cliveboy1971,
Thanks a million for joining us on your US road trip and for acknowledging our clean and well-run property. Our housekeeping team is not only efficient but carries out the job with a smile – glad our beloved critical and fussy traveler noticed! Your breakfast layout recommendation would definitely help streamline things especially during busy months. As for the palm tree in our pool area, we’re still working on that one! We sincerely hope you enjoyed your adventure and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I am a Gold Priority Club member and was appalled by the cleanliness of our room - particularly the carpet. Take flip flops to walk around if you stay there - my feet were black. Service was "ok" - check in was not up to the standards of PC. I was not surprised one bit by the fact that they person checking me in constantly kept answering the phone with me standing right in front of him. As a PC member, my room was ready and he just needed to grab the key, swipe my card and i could go - took over 15 minutes...
Bed was fine, internet was slow at times.
We were not there for Magic Mountain but, just a nights stop on the way to L.A. - unfortunately, because this is such as "tourist area" in the summertime, I am not sure they can keep up.
All in all, just not up the normal standards I have had with HI Express.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValenciaTeam, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear TexasTimesT,
Thank you staying with us on your way to L.A.! I apologize that one of our valued Priority Club members had a less than stellar visit. Though we have our carpets cleaned on a regular basis, there are some guest room that might see a little more traffic than others. For future reference, our front desk staff is always happy to accommodate and assign a more suitable room at any time during your stay. Thanks again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita

Address: 27513 Wayne Mills Place, Valencia, CA 91355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Valencia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from Six Flags Magic Mountain and 1 mile from the Valencia Town Center. This hotel offers a complimentary hot Express Start breakfast bar and free wireless internet. Guests can also enjoy an outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. On site dining is available at Denny's restaurant. Hotel offers meeting room spaces totaling 1750 sq ft, catering services, and audio visual equipment to compliment a variety of meeting formats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Santa Clarita
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Santa Clarita Hotel Valencia
Holiday Inn Express Valencia
Holiday Inn Valencia
Valencia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Santa Clarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.