We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean,slick and nice quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Vacaville

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Vacaville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Vacaville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Lawrence Drive, Vacaville, CA 95687   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Vacaville
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“clean,slick and nice quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a good HIE with a convenient and quiet location along I-80. Vacaville is actually a very nice and mellow agricultural town. Nothing like busy Sacramento or cities near San Fran.
I was impressed. Clean. I will remember to stay here next time and stay out of the chaos
further to the west.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. As you stated the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Vacaville is located in between the San Francisco Bay area and Sacramento. I like to think of Vacaville as the calm middle ground. We are located off of I 80 and 505, but tucked behind a couple buildings to make our Holiday Inn Express and Suites a quiet place to stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Guest Services
Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
15
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is amazing from the cleanliness to the social hour they have on weekdays with free beer and wine. The hotel is conveniently located next to the Vacaville Premium outlets, and just right over the freeway from the Nut tree shopping center. This stay was my first stay and most definitely will not be my last. During the social hour the manager was there chatting with us guests and Lori at the front desk may be on crouches but is very efficient and friendly. Victoria was the one who checked us out and she also was beyond helpful by assisting with directions to the SFO airport. My husband and I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites.
Kathleen
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 days in California and we always stay at Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express with his corporate discount and as priority members we were upgraded to a suite upon arrival and we were welcomed with an evening happy hour with wine, burgers and refreshments. We had just left South Lake Tahoe and we were starting our next day in Napa Valley. This was such a convenient stop along the way. We didn't stay long but our stay was very pleasant, the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean! We also spent time at the Holiday Inn in South Lake Tahoe CA,it was older and a little outdated and also in Pacifica CA this one was a jewel with an Ocean view 20 minutes from San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am very pleased to hear that you and your husband had a pleasant stay with us; I would also like to thank you for being a loyal priority member and taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of our Hotel. We hope to see you and your husband the next time you’re in town.
Guest Services
Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The NW
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The location is near a highway interchange, so it makes getting around fairly easy. Everything was impeccably clean. The social hour, on weeknight evenings, is nice if you want a snack and don't want to have to go out to eat. Crackers, cheese, caesar salad and chicken wings one night. The next night traded meatballs for the wings. Wine and beer were also available.

The only slight complaint I have is that the odor of cleaning chemicals was a bit overwhelming for me because of asthma/allergies, so I had to open the window to air out the room, when I got there. This meant I could hear the highway noise, but it wasn't that bad. The sheets and towels also had a strong aroma of sanitizer (maybe bleach?) which tells me they are doing all they can to make sure everything is clean, so that's a good thing. Unfortunately for someone like me who is sensitive to these chemicals it was a bit much. This issue would not bother most people, but if someone is ultra-sensitive to cleaning chemicals, it could be a problem for them. I didn't complain, to staff, because it's not something they can control or change, so I just kept the window cracked open to keep fresh air flowing through the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express and suites. The social hour is a big hit with our guests.
I am however sorry that the chemical smell was too much. Next time you come to town please give us a call 707.451.3500 and we will gladly block a room off for you and air it out, so at night you can have the windows closed.
Thank you for talking the time to review our Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Guest Services
Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here.

This is a good HIX property with decent sized rooms great facilities and friendly welcoming staff.

There is a small pool which is probably the warmest pool I have used plus a small spa.

There is a guest laundry, PCs for Internet access as well as free Internet.

The location is good being next to the outlets and many dining options. Breakfast is good if not particularly healthy.

Have no hesitation in recommending the hotel though the recent priority club changes mean this was last booking at a ICHG hotel. I have switched to hilton after many years as priority club platinum.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that the changes with priority club are making you shy away from IHG Hotels. Please give us a call (707)451-3500 when you come back out this way, we can see what we can do. If you would like you can email me at Hiex.Kathleen@yahoo.com and tell me what changes made you decide to switch to the Hilton brand. We hope to see you again.

Guest Services
Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I got in late, due to flight cancellations, and rental car issues, so I hit the sack almost immediately after I walked into the room. When I woke up, I was staring at one of those “Tacky” room safes that Hotels charge a fee per day to bring in extra money. Will they charge me for it when I check out? We’ll see.

This is a very nice place, about 35 minutes from the Sacramento Airport. I stayed here back in 2011, and everything was perfect, so I had no problem returning.

The Front desk staff was outstanding.

My room was large with microwave and fridge, an HD flat screen TV with perfect picture, and a lot of channels to choose from. The work area had a standard size work desk with outlets at desktop level.

The bed was firm and supportive. The minute I got in, I knew it was going to be a good nights sleep. The heat/AC was effective, and very quiet.

Business center and Guest laundry were very nice. I didn’t use the fitness center or pool.

They have a very nice “Meet & Greet” on weekday evenings, with free food, beer & wine.

Check out was fast. Did they add a ridiculous safe charge? Nope. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Mr. JimDavisHouston,

We at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our Hotel. We are sorry to hear about your flight and rental car issues, but are glad that your stay at our hotel was a good experience for you. Hopefully next time your in town you will get a chance to utilize the pool, spa and fitness center. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kathleen
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night. It was near the freeway but traffic noise was not a problem. Very clean and nicely appointed. A decent breakfast was included. Well worth the price. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear, MR. sndovale

We at the Holiday Inn Express and suites in Vacaville would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave a review of our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Hot complimentary breakfast bar we offer which includes biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, Cinnamon rolls, and much more. The Cinnamon rolls are a big hit with our guests. We hope to see you again.


Kathleen
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vacaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vacaville

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vacaville Hotel Vacaville
Holiday Inn Express Vacaville Hotel
Holiday Inn Vacaville
Vacaville Holiday Inn
Address: 151 Lawrence Drive, Vacaville, CA 95687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vacaville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vacaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vacaville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vacaville! This Vacaville, California hotel offers convenient access to Travis Air Force Base in Fairfield, UC Davis, and a variety of corporate locations. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vacaville, guests will experience the highest standard of customer service and enjoyable accommodations. We are centrally located between San Francisco and Sacramento. Conveniently located off California's Interstate 505 and Interstate 80, this 100% non-smoking Vacaville hotel features 91 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites each equipped with satellite television, free wireless and hard-wired Internet access, microwave , refrigerator and a large safe for personal computers and valuables. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning before taking advantage of the hotel's other amenities such as our heated indoor swimming pool and spa, fitness center, charming patio and a 24-hour business center, and more. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vacaville is ideally situated near all local attractions, activities, and businesses including the Vacaville Premium Outlets, Nut Tree, Golf Courses as well as Brenden Theatre, Jelly Belly, Alza and Genetech. Restaurants are within walking distance. The friendly, helpful staff at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vacaville is ready to ensure a fun-filled and memorable stay in Vacaville, California. PARKING LOT WILL BE GETTING REPAVED FROM JUNE 30,2013 THRU JULY 03, 2013 WE WILL HAVE STAFF AVAILABLE TO ASSIST WITH LUGGAGE IF NEEDED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vacaville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.