We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longed for good Italian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fuso

Fuso
535 Main St, Ste A, Vacaville, CA 95688-3962
707-447-5560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 156 Restaurants in Vacaville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Longed for good Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a 50% successful dinner... The bread was good-- it was bread-- the salads were good-- yet just salads... The soup tasted like it was made with mildewed onions... Not good--- the pasta was good but as expected it was overly rich and seasoned. This may be a harsh review but this is why I do not like "American Italian"... Lived overseas too long to experience and long for good, true Italian.

Another positive, the hostess was very kind and helpful as was the rest of the staff.

Won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friday night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Small Italian restaurant,nice atmosphere,friendly service staff. Extensive menu with many daily specials. We dined with two other couples and everyone ordered different dishes. Chicken Marsala, filet mignonette tips in risotto, salmon with capellini, gnocchi in marinara, and crab Louie along with soup and salad were our orders. The house salad was very good as was the fish chowder. A nice local dining choice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Offaly, Ireland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Excellent family restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As a previous review wrote 'this restaurant is a refreshing alternative to the chain restaurant and shopping strips of Vacaville'. We arrived on a busy friday night, there is the option of outdoor seating also, they usually have music at the weekends so i believe if you want to sit outside you would need to book in advance.
We sat inside, our waitress was very nice, she forgot about us for a little bit but more than made up for it in excellent service and attention afterwards, and she was honest about it, we had the starter to share of deep fried brie and then two pasta main courses, absolutely delicious food which we could not finish, it was boxed and made a lovely lunch the next day, they often have wines on offer so its good to ask, a nice wine list and defnitely when i am next in Vacaville i will return here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to Vacaville chain restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very cute Italian restaurant in downtown Vacaville. In a town overrun with chain restaurants and shopping strips, this restaurant is a refreshing alternative. The downtown area is very quaint, and Fuso fits right in. They had some innovative entrees, such as the manicotti I had with sirloin tips. My son always gets the chicken parm which he really enjoys. The creme brûlée was delicious - it was called Honey Lavender Creme Brûlée, but not sure why. My son enjoyed the cannoli, but my husband and daughter in law thought the tiramisu was just okay.
If you're tired of chains, try Fuso!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Eloquent dining downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I like to dine at Fuso for special occassions. In the most recent occasions that I've dined there, they have had wonderful live music playing on the side patio. The food is always high quality and delicious. So far, our service has been great!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuso also viewed

 

Been to Fuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.