We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Blue Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Blue Lakes to your Saves list
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5135 West Hwy 20, Upper Lake, CA 95485   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Ukiah, California
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I and many of my friends have stayed at the Lodge several times in the last few years. The first people you will meet are the owners Maryann & Peter. They are gracious & very friendly making you feel at home immediately & will go over & above to make your stay a wonderful experience . The rooms are immaculate & decorated beautifully with hardwood floors & high end furnishings with special amenities. Jacuzzi room is wonderful if you just want to relax & rejuvenate or spend a romantic weekend with that special someone. I have also stayed in the kitchenettes, great for a few friends or a family. Open the door & your looking at PARADISE! Nestled between mountains is the crystalline Blue Lakes. The grounds are beautifully kept with luscious green lawns & comfortable lounges for sun or star gazing. When staying over night they have great BBQ areas or Maryann & Peter can tell you about the great restaurants close by. I could go on & on the wonderful times I have spent at the Lodge. It is a magical place. I want to thank Maryann & Peter for all they do to make every stay special & memorable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    22
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
49
56
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Friendly staff, wonderful room with elegant amenities including a jacuzzi, relaxing environment, great vacation value!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

As a "regular" at the Lodge I know I can always look forward to a warm welcome from owners Peter and Maryann Schmid and their friendly staff.They really go out of their way to look after your needs without being intrusive, mindful of the world-famous hospitality of innkeepers in Peter's native Switzerland. With its almost alpine setting on sparkling Blue Lakes, I can easily imagine myself in the Swiss countryside, say Interlaken or Neuchatel, and I finish my stay in the same relaxed state of mind. The Swiss flag even flutters over the swimming pool.
Blessed tranquility! Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

It will be difficult to describe in words all of the kindnesses extended to us by the owners and manager of this Lodge.
First of all, the suites with the jacuzzi tubs are to die for. My husband and I both used it and it was very enjoyable. The bed was a dream to fall into (literally) and asleep on. And the attention to the smallest of details and amenities does not go unnoticed.
We have stayed here more than once and really won't stay anywhere else if we are within an hour of this resort.
Our latest stay was just another example of the owners going above and beyond for some special circumstances we found ourselves in again. Every time we phoned the office to make another request it was met with the same usual cheer and enthusiasm as all the others. The owners really go out of there way to make your stay feel more akin to being in your own home with the freedom to RELAX and appreciate the atmosphere and beauty of your surroundings. They are VERY pet friendly and if you get a chance you must meet their special friend Henri.
We are delighted to recommend The Lodge to anyone and everyone who finds themselves needing an incredible resort to spend a night or a week or more in Northern California. Cheers to all of you at The Lodge and as always, thank you again for EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at the Lodge about a week this year.

Please check this hotel, quite outdoor and room setting, great retreat with super clean lake, fresh breeze from water, and the prompt customer service was the the value as well. The clean room including all extra supplies was great and easy.

Hot now? Make time to stay and relax at lodge with cool breeze. It is more than worth of it.

The location was great covering Ukiah and Clear LAke area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

My name is Joelle and I was at the lodge several times during the last 5 years. The place is amazing as well in winter that in the heat of the summer.
My children's had a very good time and demanded that we came back the next holiday.
I am from Belgium and this is the best place around Blue Lakes to rest and have fun.
The owners are even really nice to pets!
Thank you Maryann and Peter for the perfect vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

My husband & I, along with our 8 & 10 year old boys, decided to go on a week-end getaway from the city! A friend recommended this place! As I always do, I went to Tripadvisor.com and read one discouraging review. I was then hesitant to go, but my friend insisted that it was worth it! So we went just the same. I'm glad that we did! It was all that she said it was: our room was immaculate! Peter (I think he is the owner) was so friendly and helpful! My boys, Jason & Jack, had a grand time riding on his boat! Jack even got to be the "Captain!" We would go again for sure! Thank you Peter!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Blue Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Blue Lakes

Address: 5135 West Hwy 20, Upper Lake, CA 95485
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Blue Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge At Blue Lakes offers 20 luxury guestrooms. Rooms feature lake or mountain views. Room types are deluxe 4 poster beds with in room jacuzzi tub, kitchenettes, lakeside and mountainside rooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Wireless Internet access is limited and is only available to certain rooms/areas. Free local calls. Flat screen TVs, small refrigerators and coffee/tea makers are provided. Air conditioning, climate control, welcome amenities, and hair dryers are also included. Microwaves and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Rooms are accessible via exterior corridors. Housekeeping is provided. All guestrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Blue Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Hotel Upper Lake
Hotel At Blue Lakes
Resort At Blue Lakes
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Lake County, CA - Upper Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Blue Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.