We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in quiet town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tallman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tallman Hotel to your Saves list
Tallman Hotel
9550 Main Street, Upper Lake, CA 95485   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in quiet town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We drove to Tallman Hotel in search of sun and silence, and that's what we found. This little hidden gem in the middle of nowhere is so well-appointed--they left no detail unturned when the hotel was renovated. Our upper garden room with deck was lovely, and the decor was charming. Bed and pillows were very comfy, and I loved the Molton Brown bath products! The staff was very professional, kind and helpful. We especially enjoyed lounging by the quiet pool, which isn't chlorinated. The breakfast was a little sparse, but got the day started. We dined next door at Blue Wing and enjoyed the local wine selection. The food was alright, not spectacular. Overall, if you know that there's nothing happening in Upper Lake other than the Tallman Hotel and Blue Wing, then you won't be disappointed by this delightful spot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
100
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent customer service on check in. Very clean room. The property is well maintained. The pool and hot tub areas were excellent - the water was salt treated so no nasty chlorine smell after the pool. They could do to work on the continental breakfast a tad, it was rather sparse, throw in some sliced ham and croissants and it would be more acceptable. Dining choices outside the adjacent Blue Wing Salon are non existent. The Blue Wing did an excellent burger, good selection of beers, all the wines are from Lake County which I found admirable of the owners. I would advise trying wines by the glass as the wine qualities were hit and miss, but very affordable. The white wines were generally crisp and refreshing. If you want to visit the area of Clear Lake you would be hard pushed to find a better spot to launch your day than the Tallman. With the adjacent grill everything you need is on site for a few nights getaway. If you do not stay in these small quaint towns, they disappear, and that would be a boring USA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stumbled on this place when a driving trip up the coast of California and Oregon got a little off-schedule and we needed to stop short of our originally intended destination. Gorgeous hotel! I'd return just to stay there. Our suite (pet-friendly) was HUGE and very pretty. And the restaurant attached to the hotel had very good food and wine. We were attacked by mosquitos while sitting in the restaurant garden at sunset - next time, I'd dine indoors! But this hotel is a real gem. I am picky about bathtubs and really liked the one in our room.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pet-friendly room away from the main building. It was a very large two-room suite. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We won tickets for Blue Wing Blues Festival, dinner and an overnight at the Tallman Hotel from our local Sonoma County radio station KRSH. We'd never been to Upper Lake (though we've lived in Sonoma County most of our lives). This historic hotel is a little piece of heaven off the beaten track. Our Upstairs Garden Room was comfortable, cool and well appointed. The owners and staff were delightful. The blues and zydeco concert on the shaded patio between the Hotel and the Blue Wing Saloon was a delightful respite from the heat of an August afternoon abd the BBQ was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a beautiful hotel this was, the room was beautiful and the staff was so friendly I felt like I was in the twilight zone. This is one hotel I wish I could move around the country to places I like to visit so I could stay there again. The downtown area it was located in was so quaint and you have to love it when you see people just walking around with their wine glasses after stopping off for tastings. My only complaint was that I only stayed one night and I gotta say something about the pool and spa closing at 9 p.m., that was a little too early to close it up. We headed out to sit in the spa after a long day and discovered that the pool area was closed (we jumped the fence anyway - shhh don't tell!). Bed was super comfy!!

Room Tip: All the rooms at the hotel were beautiful, we picked the least expensive one and it was absolutely p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We just returned from the Tallman Hotel on Tuesday. They have one dog friendly room, and the daily charge of $30 per day was accepted. The temperatures in Lake County in summer were 100+, and our dog began shedding. I put her in the bathtub to keep her cool. I received a letter today from the manager: "We welcome small dogs to spend the night but, as I’m sure you can understand, our rooms aren’t designed to do pet grooming. We will be charging your credit card a $125 bedding cleaning fee plus a $60 pet fee (@ $30 per night). It was our oversight that we didn’t charge your account the pet fee when you checked out.

We have an excellent groomer in the area and would be happy to make an appointment "

Caveat emptor.

Room Tip: Veranda room was attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in June and could not have been more pleased. We had an upstairs veranda room in the main building. There are only 4 rooms upstairs so we had 1/4 of the whole upstairs veranda to enjoy. The included breakfast in the hotel dining room is excellent; thanks to Carli. Those were the best scones I have ever had. And the quiche (on Sat/Sun only) is also excellent. The claw foot bath tub was my favorite feature; while hubby enjoyed separate roomy shower. Bed was comfy, room decor lovely.

The Blue Wing restaurant next door is just a great place as well. Great food. Don't miss Monday night Blues night with live music and more lively patrons! Lots of dancing going on. But so nice for hotel guests, this bar/cafe closes at 9pm; so quiet for sleeping. Sunday brunch in the courtyard between hotel and cafe features live music on the hotel porch. So nice and relaxing.

I love this place and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tallman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallman Hotel

Address: 9550 Main Street, Upper Lake, CA 95485
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This handsome country hotel, built in the 1890s, was completely restored and expanded to a 17-room luxury facility in 2006. The historic hotel received one of seven statewide historic preservation awards and is listed on the California Register of Historic Resources. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tallman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallman Hotel Upper Lake
Tallman Hotel Lake County, CA - Upper Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.