We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, strongly recommanded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32083 Alvarado-Niles Road, Union City, CA 94587   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value, strongly recommanded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there during our Christmas vacation. We had 3 families and occupied 4 rooms. The rooms were nice and clean. The free wireless internet is great, super fast and we were able to use on all our ipad, iphone, imac... super fast!,The staff was very friendly and helpful. We love their goodie bag full of yummy snacks, banana and mountain spring water. The management is very thoughtful. They made our vacation wonderful. Great value too! Thank you, we will definitely recommend all our friends to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to advise us and others about your stay with us. Hotel staff can make a big difference between a good stay and a great stay. We are pleased to hear that our hotel staff members were great during your 3 weeks Christmas vacation in our hotel. We are very fortunate to have an exceptional hotel staff and management team that keeps our guests happy and satisfied. Thank you for your kind comments, as well, for letting us know you enjoyed our complimentary wireless Internet and our infamous goodie bag offerings that we prepared everyday with care and love to each of our beloved guests. We look forward to welcoming you and all your family back for any future vacation you may have and thank you again very much for all your business.
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    26
    22
    23
See reviews for
24
6
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The best place to celebrate new year's eve with big groups, The food was good. The manager was very helpful, the staffs that served the food were fast. I can count on the manager if I have a problem. Good Job Marivie! I will recommend you to my comrades for the next event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your New Year's Eve event with us here at the Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union CIty. We are so pleased that you enjoy your New Year's count down in our property. Thank you as well for recognizing our Sales and Catering Manager Marivie for her outstanding service in coordinating and planing your event. I will certainly share your comment with her and the rest of our management team.
Should your future event include the Union City or the Bay Area, we will look forward to welcoming you and your attendees back again. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you soon again staying with us!
Warmest Regards,
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City Ca
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel needs to be renovated bad compared to other IHG properties, however the Staff makes up for it! Natalia, Robert and Megan really make this hotel! We are a sizable group and have used this hotel for years and it is not for the amenities it is purely the first class treatment we get from these three employees! They really make a huge impact, great job!

Room Tip: Talk to Robert or Natalia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union CIty. I am so pleased that you enjoy your stay with us. Thank you as well for recognizing our front-desk clerks Natalia and Robert. Also Meagen the bartender/server for their outstanding services, we will make sure to share your kind comment with them and the rest of our management team.
Should your future travels include the Union City or the Bay Area, we will look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you soon again staying with us!
Warmest Regards,
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

2011 and 2012. Two in a row.
Great palce to be!! Very good in a category of a small hotel.
Our traditional fraternity celebration at Crowne Plaza Union City last Dec 8th.. Location is strategic since 60+ members from the Bay area, East Bay as far north as Sacramento and San Jose converge and celebrate in this fine hotel. Price is very competative. Our members love it!

Kudos to Marivi E., banquet and catering manager who supported and made our affair a success. Assisted us in the planning and preparation. Was at site during the evening ,very friendly and going out of her way to assist us in small request like providing decaf coffee etc. ( of which ms Althea our server explained was not part of our deal).
Could have given it a perfect 5 (excellent) if not for that boboo of Althea..
Definetly recommend it ..

Nol B,
San Francisco, Ca.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor about hosting your banquet event in our hotel facility. As a valued guest we truly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear of your favorable experience with our Sales & Catering Manager. Banquet Server staff can truly make a difference in a banquet event and I'm sorry to hear about one of our servers who did not go at her fullest our of her way to assist you. We will certainly address this with our banquet servers and implement some additional training. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in Union City when you return to our area. Please keep us in mind for any future event you may have.
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel as part of a business trip.
The hotel was nicer looking than I expected, based upon TripAdvisor reviews. The lobby and grounds were reasonably attractive.

You can tell this is an "old glam" hotel that can use refurbishing. It's nice but starting to break down. There's a conference center attached.

On the way to my room I noticed a strong smoke smell in the hallways, as if this used to be a gambling casino or something. This was definitely off-putting. When I got to the room, it was nice that the room itself did not have the same smell.

The room was reasonably nice with some evidence of being old but updated. I did not experience any breakdowns or facilities that didn't work. The room was kind of dark with an overall gold wallpaper look to it. The internet worked fairly well during the evening but went out completely at times in the late/early am hours. The bed was comfortable in terms of mattress, but the pillows were the old firm foam type rather than feathers or down. I don't sleep very well on the foam types of pillows.

The heater/AC had to be controlled from the unit itself, even though there was a thermostat on the wall.

In all, it wasn't a disaster but not a place I'd choose to return to if I had other options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let others and us at the hotel know about your stay with us. We want to kindly invite you and inform you that we are in process of starting a major hotel renovation, I was disappointed to hear about your past not pleasant experience. Please accept my apologies for your less than satisfactory stay. While we did make some improvements to our hotel we will be completing a total renovation of our guestrooms soon as next month with brand new beddings, furnitures and amenities. As I do not feel your stay was indicative of the service we generally normally provide, I truly hope that you will consider giving us a 2nd chance for us to prove you a much better experience than what you had. With that said, I'll be placing a special note on your profile in our computer reservation system to make sure to assign your future stay in our best renovated room. You are more than welcome to reach out to me to assist you with a future reservation. Again our apologies and we thank you for your business.
Best Regards,
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was not a trip. It was a family gathering/birthday celebration.
Marivie, the banquet and catering manager had been an excellent help to us when we were preparing to celebrate our mother's birthday. She gave us options and calling us if we have questions. The location for us is just perfect. Our guests commented on the good service we received as well as good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about your banquet experience in our hotel banquet ballroom facility. As a valued guest we truly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your experience in hosting an event with us . We are all very pleased to hear that you had an anjoyable and memorable event with us and that Marivie, your Sales & Catering Coordinator was very convenient in assisting all your needs. Thank you for all your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in Union City for any other future event or trip you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with a pool and hot tub. Clean, comfortable rooms, plenty of parking, and great bartender. Mainly a business traveler's hotel during the week, Paul, thebartender is a trip! Fantastic ambiance created by him. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union CIty. I am so pleased that you enjoy your stay with us. Thank you as well for recognizing our bartender Paul for his outstanding service at our cocktail lounge. I will certainly share your comment with him and the rest of our management team.
Should your future travels include the Union City or the Bay Area, we will look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you soon again staying with us!
Warmest Regards,
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City

Address: 32083 Alvarado-Niles Road, Union City, CA 94587
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome to the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City, where you will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Union City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, we are your home away from home! We are centrally located in the heart of San Francisco East Bay area, just a short distance from Silicon Valley, San Francisco and Oakland. Our central location provides an easy access from all major Bay area airports such as San Jose (SJC), Oakland (OAK), and San Francisco (SFO). Further, getting to the hotel is simply and easy as we are located directly off the 880 Fwy, at the Alvarado Niles Road exit. Whether you are coming to Union City for business or just for fun, your room at this hotel is your personal retreat after a long day of travel. Come and relax in our spacious luxury bedroom with stylish decor, loaded with lifestyle amenities you would expect from a top notch hotel. This room is the perfect way to end your busy day! Come and enjoy. The best of Union City is waiting for you at the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North Union City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union City Hotel Union City
Crowne Plaza Union City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.