We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Maintained Older Property - Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32083 Alvarado-Niles Road, Union City, CA 94587   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Apache Junction, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well Maintained Older Property - Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am a business traveler and this older Crowne Plaza suited my needs perfectly. Very well maintained with a pleasant and professional staff, nice landscaping, excellent bar with free snacks and an attentive bartender (pricey drinks though). The fitness room appeared to be well equipped, but I did not use it, or the pool/hot tub.

The free breakfast buffet that came with my room rate was very good and the same room is the restaurant in the evening. Just on the other side of the freeway is everything you could possibly need in the way of restaurants, entertainment & shopping including a Lucky's grocery store. My room came with a small fridge and they provided a microwave on request. I would stay here again & again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We always look forward to having guest who enjoys their stay with us. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and recognized the many complimentary incentives and ammenities we offer to our beloved guests. You will continue to see additional property improvements as we will very soon start our major renovation with brand new designed new furnitures and beddings starting the beginning next year as well. Thank you very much again for your very nice comments regarding our hotel facility. We look forward to welcoming you again soon in the near future. Thank you for your business!
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    26
    22
    23
See reviews for
24
6
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a bad experience with this hotel. I don't understand why this hone got rated 3 stars. It is scam.

I called and booked. The representative told me the hotel have refrigerator, and microwave. If not, he will find one and have it for me. After check in, I called this gentlemen again, he said he will have refrigerator for me. But never and never hadn’t I heard anything from him or Hotel again.

Also the breakfast ad is the free, but free only 1 person. I never have this experience before. Other hotel I always have 2 tickets for the double bed.

The breakfast is terrible.

Hotel is old and smells really bad.

I paid $139.00 + tax for a double bed: That is I think is premium. But this hotel should be rated no star, and the price should be around $40.00.

Take my coment seriously: Don’t' come this hotel. You will get caught big time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Having just completed a very serious staff meeting for all our hotel department to be improved and moving on to a major renovation, I was disappointed to hear about your experience. Please accept my apologies for a less than satisfactory stay. While we did make some improvements to our hotel we will be completing a total renovation of these guestrooms in early 2013. As I do not feel your stay was indicative of the service we generally provide, I hope that you might consider giving us a 2nd chance. You are more than welcome to reach out to me to assist you with a future reservation. Again our apologies and we thank you for your business.
Best Regards,
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalian
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We decided to use this Crowne Plaza because our friends live around the corner. The entrance looks nice, the front desk staff is helpful and the fitness room is well equipped. However, our problems started next morning when we entered the breakfast room at 09:30 am. Waitress told us that we could not use our breakfast coupons any more, because they were only valid until 09.00 am. It did not make sense at all of course, and after discussing the issue with the manager they served us some cold leftovers. We did not complain again but decided to write this review instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Oakland South - Union City. I am pleased to hear that you received friendly, fast and efficient service at check-in and that you enjoyed most aspects of our fitness center and the actual hotel location. I apologize for your inconvenience experience during the morning when you were trying to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. While I am not sure of the particulars of the incident you have my assurance that I will look into it and that re-training our staff and review for better service hour system will occur. We do hope that you will give us another chance when you return to Union City as we would enjoy having you as our guest once again.
Cristina L. - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This Crown Plaza reminded me of an old Holiday Inn that had been upgraded. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff at front desk was excellent. The bathroom still had a tub that was showing some wear and age, but functioned perfectly. Overall, the hotel probably needs a bit of a refresh in some areas but that did not affect our stay. We would stay here again if using Oakland airport. If going to airport for a morning flight, be sure to allow plenty of time for morning rush hour traffic. It's about a dozen miles to airport but took over 30 minutes on freeway to get there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. As a valued guest we truly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found our location to be very convenient. Hotel staff can truly make a difference in a guest stay and I am very glad to hear that our front-desk team made you feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you as well for recognizing specific members of our front-desk team for their outstanding service. I will certainly share these comments with them. In regards to the accommodation rooms, a complete hotel renovation of our rooms will begin in early 2013. We do hope that you will give us another chance when you return to Union City as we would enjoy having you as our guest once again.
Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Oakland South - Union City when you return to our area.
Cristina L. - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

we stayed the hotel on 07/10/2012(room 215) with tour. The room has strong mildew smelL that loos like long time no people has lived in, only two shower towels in bath. one light was't working, the quilt cover was very old and has some holes , no paper, no pen.................... I feel very bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear YIC2012,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased that you found our location satisfactory enough for your needs. Please accept my deepest apology for not being able to meet your expectations on this day, particularly with the room accommodations you received. Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for review and I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Union City for a whole week while I was attending a One week church convention. The convention went well. Every day, the employees cleaned the banquet room after a mess from 350+ people, set up the room, and supplied us with all the materials we need. They were very helpful when it came to customer service. I would recommend having your gatherings and conventions here. The room that I stayed in was spectacular. The bed was better than my bed at home. Every morning, I ate at the breakfast buffet. I had coupons for free buffet breakfast. The food was great overall. They had a variety of choices, so I didn't get tired of eating it after a week. I would definitely reccomend this hotel for weddings, birthday parties, or even a vacation stay in one of their rooms.

Room Tip: The room on the third floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I have shared this with our staffs and management and we truely appreciate you taking your time to review us! I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your time attending the church convention in our ballroom. We have received great feedbacks on our ammenities and services from many of your church attendees as well.
We hope to see you and your church convention group back here as our Guest/Meeting Attendees soon again!
Warm Regards,
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza hotel for two days for my business trip. My trip was great. The moment I walked to the front desk, I was greeted. After checking in, I was given a goodie bag with water, snacks, and a banana and coupons for free breakfast buffet. The eggs were great. My room was nicely put together. The bed was cozy and the water pressure for the shower was strong. The buisiness center in the lobby was very helpful. My computer died while I was here, so the computers came in handy. I will definitely be staying here again next time I come to Union city.

Room Tip: This hotel is very close to a big shopping center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union CIty. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you as well for recognizing our front-desk, housekeeping, maintenance, restaurant and kitchen team for their outstanding service. I will certainly share these comments with them and the rest of the management team.
I also want to thank you for taking your time to let us know you enjoyed our complimentary welcome Goodie snack bag we prepare every day with love and care to each of our hotel guests that comes to stay with us.
Should your future travels include the Union City or the Bay Area, we will look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you soon again staying with us!
Warmest Regards,
Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City

Address: 32083 Alvarado-Niles Road, Union City, CA 94587
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome to the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City, where you will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Union City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, we are your home away from home! We are centrally located in the heart of San Francisco East Bay area, just a short distance from Silicon Valley, San Francisco and Oakland. Our central location provides an easy access from all major Bay area airports such as San Jose (SJC), Oakland (OAK), and San Francisco (SFO). Further, getting to the hotel is simply and easy as we are located directly off the 880 Fwy, at the Alvarado Niles Road exit. Whether you are coming to Union City for business or just for fun, your room at this hotel is your personal retreat after a long day of travel. Come and relax in our spacious luxury bedroom with stylish decor, loaded with lifestyle amenities you would expect from a top notch hotel. This room is the perfect way to end your busy day! Come and enjoy. The best of Union City is waiting for you at the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North Union City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union City Hotel Union City
Crowne Plaza Union City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.