We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32083 Alvarado-Niles Road, Union City, CA 94587   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Victorville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This place needs a major overhaul. The toilet was cracked, the paint was peeling and the fan in the bathroom sounded like a diesel truck. There were bugs on the bed and in the bathroom. The front desk did not care about my issues. We were the only ones eating in the cafe and it took for ever. The lobby is nice and that is about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Robert J,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    27
    25
    26
See reviews for
25
7
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I will never ever come back to this hotel! I unfortunately had to stay at this hotel because I could not find anything else.
Let me get to my bad experience, and then offer some good things about the hotel!
On the day of check-out, when I walked into the parking lot ( that doubles as a tennis court) I found that 3 cars, including my rental was broken into -all windows except passenger side smashed in.
The cops were immediately called and we filed police report. the cops noticed there was no CCTV/ surveillance installed in the parking lot.
I am in sales, and had an executive multi-million dollar proposal to present that morning.
In order to take care of the cop report, insurance, get a new car etc I had to push my meeting by a couple of hours
At the hotel desk, being upset I asked to speak with the manager. I was first informed around 930:am that manager on call Christina will be able to help, but she was running late in the morning.
I said I need to switch my car rental, and be back in an hours time. Upon returning around 11:30am, I asked front desk to connect me to the manager again. after waiting for about 10 minutes, a Mr Mark Yoshimitso came out. I told him to comp me for my two nights stay, as I had paid $500 deductible using personal insurance ( this was a mixed vacation/busines trip so I had stuck with my own insurance as I was going to use the car for weekend vacation). He said he cannot do that, I asked him to atleast extend my check-out to 7:00pm instead of noon, as I lost 2-3 hours sorting out car problems in the morning, and cannot both check out and make my meeting on time. He refused! He said there is nothing he can do to help me, made a crude hint about not getting the insurance offered by the rental agency, and acted like it was my fault the car was broken into. he pointed out signs clearly said ' hotel not responsible for damage etc'
anyhow : I just wanted some help to get by my morning, and received no help. The rest of the afternoon was extremely rushed/stressful for me.
I am not going to write about anything good at this hotel: oh yeah the Restaurant was boring, and i must say it was the worst chicken wings i have had in my life.
I would like to speak to someone higher up that Mark Yoshimitso if possible.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Atulkap,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you.

We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Thank you,

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

What a shame the the Intercontinental Hotel Family would include this dump in their hotel system. It is a Day's In dressed in maroon color with a plastic crown.

It is far from Oakland (1.5 hour drive to UC Berkeley). The room is crummy. Service is bad. We checked in and found 0 bath towels in the bathroom. It took us 4-5 calls to the front desk to get the towels.

WiFi is free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Chuck_In_Chicago,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received bad service from our staff and for the lack of towels during your stay. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boden, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is In limbo.
It seems like the management are trying hard to fix the surfaces using carpenters - but there are several other issues that needs to be taken care of:
- The restaurant is boring, the menu below standard, the cook should go somewhere to get new inspiration and the restaurant staff doesn't really put in that little extra effort...
- The rooms are okay - but our room hade a hidden major water leakage that hade poured water all the way through the wall to the next room. I guess that there are a lot of mould under the VERY wet carpet...
- Low internet speed and terrible TV-signal quality

On the pro side:
- Nice goodie bag upon arrival
- Very friendly and professional staff at the front desk
- The lounge is cool and cozy
- Easy to find and quite close to a large shopping area

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear peji70,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you have acknowledged the services of our staff. I would like to apologize if you did not find our restaurant services to your liking. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

From the moment I walked in the door to the Crowne Plaza until I checked out the following morning, I loved every minute! I was exhausted when I checked in--it must have been about 10:30pm after a long day. The greeting at the Front Desk was so pleasant, and I was even given a welcome basket to take to my room with assorted goodies to enjoy. A very nice person actually went to my car and brought in my heavy bags for me! The room was large and open, very comfortable! Everything was great! The room included a free buffet breakfast! Wow!

Thank you again to Crowne Plaza Oakland in Union City, CA! I truly needed pampering that night, and was so pleasantly surprised to receive it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We Hotwired a stay here for the night of May 9th, 2012. We were exhausted after driving
for many hours from Southern California and arrived late. Dropped into bed and woke at
6:00 to find our sheets covered in blood spots. I immediately called the front desk and
when I asked what they were doing about the bedbugs the man said "we move our guests
to another room". As we were on our way to an early flight out of Oakland I demanded that
the hotel manager call me upon my return to my home in Hawaii. He did not call but an
assistant did. He said I should put in for a refund to Hotwire and when Hotwire called them
he would okay it. He also said that they depended upon the people checking into the rooms
to tell them if there were bedbugs....rather like the canary in the mine approach. Hotwire gave
me our money back as well as a $25 credit to be used for a future booking. I again demanded
that the manager call me...it is now 5/26/12 and he never has. Do not stay in the
Hotel. Certainly they know where the bugs are...when the maids do the rooms they can
see the large blood spots all over the sheets. Also note, as I checked in the woman on duty said
"we have frogs". They have lots of frogs so windows must be closed as they are very loud.
Noelle. Kona Hawaii

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear noelleharrott,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Thank you,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here twice. Room looks decent, but one of them really really stunk like it has never been aired out. Thankfully the window was really flimsy, so although it had a stop so you can only open it a few inches, I was able to remove the whole pane and air out the room. The bathroom had peeling paint on the ceiling and a towel rack that was about to fall off. The furniture is modern and clean, the pillows nice and fluffy, so no problems there. No fridge in the rooms. Wifi works well.

Room Tip: Some rooms on upper floors look to the freeway, could be noisy. On the other hand, by the pool it i...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear BalageTravels,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you liked the pillows, WiFi, and cleanliness of your room. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the conditions of your bathroom. As our valued guest, your feedback will surely be looked into and be forwarded to the appropriate departments.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City

Address: 32083 Alvarado-Niles Road, Union City, CA 94587
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome to the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City, where you will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Union City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, we are your home away from home! We are centrally located in the heart of San Francisco East Bay area, just a short distance from Silicon Valley, San Francisco and Oakland. Our central location provides an easy access from all major Bay area airports such as San Jose (SJC), Oakland (OAK), and San Francisco (SFO). Further, getting to the hotel is simply and easy as we are located directly off the 880 Fwy, at the Alvarado Niles Road exit. Whether you are coming to Union City for business or just for fun, your room at this hotel is your personal retreat after a long day of travel. Come and relax in our spacious luxury bedroom with stylish decor, loaded with lifestyle amenities you would expect from a top notch hotel. This room is the perfect way to end your busy day! Come and enjoy. The best of Union City is waiting for you at the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North Union City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union City Hotel Union City
Crowne Plaza Union City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North/Union City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.