We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31140 Alvarado-Niles Rd., Union City, CA 94587   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Solid Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here on business for a couple nights. The hotel and room were very clean. The rooms were updated and quiet at night. The staff was friendly. WIFI is solid. Didn't use the pool, but it looked good. The location is not the best if your visiting San Fran (it's about 45 min-1hr to downtown + a toll). The location is great if you're passing through or just staying in Oak town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
8
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Dell, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We hardly ever go to the city but it's graduation time and we wanted an easy in and out with everything close by...WOW! The staff was outstanding! Always available and helpful. The Breakfast offered at the hotel is one of the best free breakfasts I have ever seen, hot food and variety. They are so wonderfully located next to all the shopping and dining choices you could hope for and a quick hop to the freeway even though we never heard the freeway noise. Some guests even brought the whole family but we never heard them or saw them until breakfast, but you can take it back to your room if kids bother you. There is also a pool and jacuzzi and a work out room near the dining hall. My only peeve was only one elevator but not a big deal, there's plenty of stairs. Our stay lasted 3 days, long enough for something to go wrong but it never did.All around a great stay in Hayward!

Room Tip: There is so much to do and see within walking distance just outside the door.Food, skydiving, movies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Lithoria,

I am so glad to hear that you consider our Union City Holiday Inn Express as your perfect destination! And I'm even happier to hear that you plan to return to our hotel because of our easy freeway access, our breakfast and our wonderful staff services.We love to here the Wow feelings! and this will motivate our staff to work hard.

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We hope to see again very soon!

Thanks Again!

Ann Marie,
GM
(510) 475-0600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a stop on our trip up to Napa. Very nice for the price, clean and modern room, and nice facility. Had your choice of firm or soft pillows, there was a fitness room, and free breakfast (which was okay).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
1,132 helpful votes 1,132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for a sleep over on your travel trips in this area. Remember, this is only a express hotel, however, it is excellent for what you pay for!!! It does have a small pool and hot water spa it its courtyard in the middle of the hotel. Also, it provides free morning continental breakfast and newspaper. I give it high ratings as a express hotel only!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Stephen S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a professional courteous front desk clerk Shuja M. was during my stay at the Holiday Inn Express. He corrected what could have been a major problem with the parties sleeping arrangements that I was traveling with. The mistake was made by Hot wire.com on my original reservation. There was a miscommunication with the people, rooms and getting the rooms paid for with my credit card. The customer service clerk had a heavy accent, it was difficult translating my needs to him. After it was all said and done he messed up the reservation! Shuja M. corrected the mistake, and our stay at the Holiday Inn Express was outstanding! With the economy riddled with lack of accountability, and Unprofessional service providers, it was great to have someone care about the needs of the customer.

Room Tip: When you book with Hot Wire, com do not use customer service on the phone, use the internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights last week. It was my second time to stay in this hotel. I had room 415 overlooking the front of the hotel. There is a lot of traffic and activity in the front of the hotel and the noise could be bothersome if you are noise sensitive. Other than this, I thought my room was very satisfactory. The room was large with a large bathroom. The front desk and housekeeping staff were all very polite and courteous. Although I have never used the pool, it looked clean and adequate for a good swim. The breakfast is standard fare for an HIE. There are many places to eat in the adjacent shopping area. There is easy access to the freeway and adequate parking in front of the property. I did not feel unsafe staying in this hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a stay on the East Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Chose this place because it was closest to my son's friend who lives in Fremont. The room was a good size with a very comfortable mattress and choice of pillows. The heater was a little tricky to set. The workout room was adequate. The pool has a device to assist individuals with physical impairments. The free breakfast had many choices with some hot items. There is a Krispy Kreme walking distance that is open 24/7. There is free coffee, granola bars and fruit in the atrium.

When I booked, I asked for a room that was quiet. Unfortunately there is construction occurring around the hotel. When I checked in, I was not advised on this. If they disclosed this at check in, I would have given them a 4. I brought the issues of the noise with the front desk and was told that they do not start early nor stay late. I do not believe there is a room in the hotel where the noise is not heard. Construction started at 730 AM until 430PM.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying here, you should call the hotel directly to see what the status is of the con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear uzengirl,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the construction noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose

Address: 31140 Alvarado-Niles Rd., Union City, CA 94587
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Union City, CA! We are located in the heart of the SF Bay Area and at the gateway to Silicon Valley! The new Union City Holiday Inn Express Hotel offers all the modern amenities with the convenient to Oakland, Hayward, Fremont, & San Jose. We are also central to several major universities & attractions including Cal State Hayward, UC Berkeley, Jack London Square, Oakland Coliseum & Arena, Chabot College, Stanford University, Great America Theme Park, and San Jose State University. Located adjacent to the Union Landing Entertainment Complex, our guests can choose from over a dozen restaurants, a variety of shopping options, IFLY (indoor skydiving) and 25 movie screens within walking distance. Choose to dine at Chevy s, Chili s, TGI Friday s, Texas Roadhouse, Applebee s, IHOP, or just pick up a snack at In-N-Out Burger, or Krispy Kreme Donuts. The hotel features an indoor/outdoor solar heated pool, heated whirlpool spa, on-site fitness center plus our renowned complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. Our guest rooms feature free high-speed internet access, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, two-line speaker phones with voice mail and ergonomic chair. We are central to all Bay Area airports: San Jose, South (SJC), Oakland, North (OAK) and San Francisco (SFO) - each within a 25 mile range. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Bay Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose Hotel Union City
Holiday Inn Union City
Union City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.