We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, above average food, except for Caesar Salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta Pomodoro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pasta Pomodoro
32216 Dyer St, Union Landing, Union City, CA 94587-1719
510-429-1991
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 104 Restaurants in Union City
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Fort Langley, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, above average food, except for Caesar Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was in town on business and dined alone. Overall Pasta Pomodoro was a very nice dining experience. I had a great server (Francis), but the hostess (who I assumed may be the owner) seemed moody and seemed disinterested. Francis was energetic and kept checking in on my requirements. Their warm focassia bread was nice & fresh. The pesto dipping sauce was full of flavor and a 9/10. I had the Frutti di Mare which was overloaded with seafood and nicely spiced. The only negative was the bland & tasteless Caesar Salad. Considered the rest of the food was packed with flavor, the blandness of the caesar was very dissapointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I love Pasta Pomodoro because they have unique and tasty Italian dishes not found in standard Italian restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Low calorie sucks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I order a dish that had one of the lowest calories on the menu, it taste almost like eating cardboard.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of us had the braised short ribs; the other had the Verdure. Both were excellent. The prices are excellent, and the service is always fine.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistent fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

It is nice to have a hometown restaurant that has an interesting menu and competent service. I am partial to the salmon with cannellini beans and sautéed spinach. The molten chocolate cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream is a decadent treat to share.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta Pomodoro also viewed

 

Been to Pasta Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta Pomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.