We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Ukiah

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Ukiah to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Ukiah
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ukiah
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Talmage Road, Ukiah, CA 95482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst place ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms. My mother I'd handicapped and can not climb stairs. Her room was on the bottom floor, but the room smelled of cleaner as if they dumped a gallon of pine sol to cover up something. It was so strong it burned your throat and gave you a headache to be in the room, and the carpet was so dirty it was black. My room was filthy. The walls had dirty handprints all over them and other substances I was afraid to touch. The mirrors were streaked with dirt, toothpaste and looked as if someone was popping pimples in the mirror and the got it on the glass. The sink was falling off the wall. The showed us two other rooms in the same condition, both on the second floor my mom couldn't walk up to. The staff were horrible people that wouldn't refund our money so we could stay somewhere else because it was booked on Hotwire. They said it was policy, and wouldn't provide me with their business license number to file a complaint. The lobby was dirty as well, the glass was covered in fingerprints and smelled like curry. After an hour of arguing with the staff about policies they could not provide to me, we took our loss and stayed in another hotel. But not until after I made them look at the filthy rooms they made me pay for. I asked them would you sleep in this? And I did not get a response. Don't ever, ever, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Smelled like cigarette smoke most of the time. The screens were off all of the rear windows to make for easier access for the locals. Carpet was stained and the place was generally run down. There was a convention in town and this was the only place left. The bed was very comfortable though.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I had stay at vagabond inn and i had N- joyed stay and had morning Breakfast in morning and nice sleep at night and its quet place and nice price rates.Next time i will stay again at Vagabond Inn

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Clean and convenient location, some minor maintenance issues but otherwise a good stay, no breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

Our room was very clean and came with two queen beds rather than doubles! It seemed like the thermostat was out of our control and didn't cool the room as much as we would have liked. I also loved the fact that I paid what I paid and wasn't hit with any additional charges for "incedentals". The room also came with a mini fridge which was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My husband and I were driving up the 101 towards The Avenue of the Giants from Korbel Champagne Cellars and we were looking for a hotel that was clean and economical. We were lucky to find such a steal at the Vegabond Inn Ukiah. We paid $59/night + taxes came to $65.49, most other hotels were charging $80-$180! We just wanted somewhere to sleep and shower with basic amenities.

When we walked in our room, it was very clean. There was a fridge and microwave along with soap, shampoo/conditioner in one bottle and lotion. They also have FREE Wi-Fi Service which was super easy to connect to.

Definitely would stay here again. I've had my share of bad hotels, but this one exceeded my expectations.

FREE PARKING

They had a pool, which looked very inviting, but I didn’t bring my swimsuit so I didn’t go in. Everything looks very well kept.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Ukiah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ukiah

Address: 601 Talmage Road, Ukiah, CA 95482
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ukiah 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Vagabond Inn that is so close to everything, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Located in the gateway to the beautiful Redwoods and the valley, we are located only two hours away from San Francisco and just minutes away from world-renowned wineries and the excitement of a casino. Experience our personal service and newly renovated hotel - you will be ready to book your next visit before you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ukiah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ukiah Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Ukiah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.