We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Talmage Road, Ukiah, CA 95482 (Formerly Vagabond Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Booked two rooms. My mother I'd handicapped and can not climb stairs. Her room was on the bottom floor, but the room smelled of cleaner as if they dumped a gallon of pine sol to cover up something. It was so strong it burned your throat and gave you a headache to be in the room, and the carpet was so dirty it was black. My room was filthy. The walls had dirty handprints all over them and other substances I was afraid to touch. The mirrors were streaked with dirt, toothpaste and looked as if someone was popping pimples in the mirror and the got it on the glass. The sink was falling off the wall. The showed us two other rooms in the same condition, both on the second floor my mom couldn't walk up to. The staff were horrible people that wouldn't refund our money so we could stay somewhere else because it was booked on Hotwire. They said it was policy, and wouldn't provide me with their business license number to file a complaint. The lobby was dirty as well, the glass was covered in fingerprints and smelled like curry. After an hour of arguing with the staff about policies they could not provide to me, we took our loss and stayed in another hotel. But not until after I made them look at the filthy rooms they made me pay for. I asked them would you sleep in this? And I did not get a response. Don't ever, ever, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feliciaflores76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Smelled like cigarette smoke most of the time. The screens were off all of the rear windows to make for easier access for the locals. Carpet was stained and the place was generally run down. There was a convention in town and this was the only place left. The bed was very comfortable though.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadDog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ukiah hotels

Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I had stay at vagabond inn and i had N- joyed stay and had morning Breakfast in morning and nice sleep at night and its quet place and nice price rates.Next time i will stay again at Vagabond Inn

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Clean and convenient location, some minor maintenance issues but otherwise a good stay, no breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akoobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our room was very clean and came with two queen beds rather than doubles! It seemed like the thermostat was out of our control and didn't cool the room as much as we would have liked. I also loved the fact that I paid what I paid and wasn't hit with any additional charges for "incedentals". The room also came with a mini fridge which was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My husband and I were driving up the 101 towards The Avenue of the Giants from Korbel Champagne Cellars and we were looking for a hotel that was clean and economical. We were lucky to find such a steal at the Vegabond Inn Ukiah. We paid $59/night + taxes came to $65.49, most other hotels were charging $80-$180! We just wanted somewhere to sleep and shower with basic amenities.

When we walked in our room, it was very clean. There was a fridge and microwave along with soap, shampoo/conditioner in one bottle and lotion. They also have FREE Wi-Fi Service which was super easy to connect to.

Definitely would stay here again. I've had my share of bad hotels, but this one exceeded my expectations.

FREE PARKING

They had a pool, which looked very inviting, but I didn’t bring my swimsuit so I didn’t go in. Everything looks very well kept.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuisAngie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukiah
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#5 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ukiah Mendocino County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah

Address: 601 Talmage Road, Ukiah, CA 95482 (Formerly Vagabond Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Ukiah offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. Our property offers parking for trucks, and can accommodate 4 trucks with trailers attached. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, cable TV, and alarm clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off of US-101 and Talmage Road. We are near local attractions such as Ukiah Speedway, Mendocino College, and Dominican University of California. Americas Best Value Inn Ukiah is your best choice within the Redwood Region of California. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, sightseeing, or simply passing through on your way to San Francisco. At Americas Best Value Inn Ukiah our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Ukiah, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ukiah Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing