We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, not far off 101.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ukiah Brewing Company

Ukiah Brewing Company
102 South State Street, Ukiah, CA 95482
707-468-5898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 78 restaurants in Ukiah
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Organic, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, not far off 101.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good organic Calif. BLT and excellent 1889 Mild Organic beer. Combined with quick & polite service = the perfect lunch stop on a long drive to SF.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    41
    40
    23
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hopatcong, NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tasty organic beer ... and the pizza doesn't suck either”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

For the fans of organic and innovative beers, Ukiah Brewing is a great place to visit. They feature some brews you'd expect to see a brew pub (IPA, porter), but quite a few that you might not, including five different lager styles: a Czech-style pils, a Vienna-style lager, a marzen, and two bock beers. Many brewpubs don't even have one lager (it's more expensive all around to make lagers), nevermind having five of them.

Also interesting was their "Navarro Yarrow" beer, which uses yarrow flowers in lieu of hops. This was a really tasty brew, and I recommend you try it if you stop by the place. The yarrow adds a nice spice note and some bitterness. It's a very good sub for hops, but has its own unique character. Other standouts for me were the Lunar Harvest Ale (marzen/octoberfest) and the Yokayo Gold (I'd call this something of a double IPA).

My wife and I both ordered personal pizzas. She got a cheese pie ($8) and added her own toppings, and I got the "bacon arugula" pie ($11). Both were very good. We also ordered a side of garlic cheese fries ($6), which were also very tasty.

Overall service was pretty good. Our waitress was a little pushy, but also very friendly. The bartenders were great. There was also live music from an alt-country-folk duo. It's a very laid-back place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Organic brew & food all made on premises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on Sat. afternoon. Had CA BLT & bf had salmon burger. My BLT was delish on nice toasted wheat bread served w. a light pilsner beer brewed there (forgot name but had 1889 in the title) . Salmon burger quite tasty. Huge crowd of ball players landed while you were there which slowed our service but thumbs up for fresh food and nice beer. Server was personality plus too . Recommend when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma Wine Country
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“People make the experience - But you gotta have the Chow to back it up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We travelled for 2 days up through Mendocino and into Humboldt. The best dining for us didn't occur at the 4 diamond resort in Benbow, it was at Ukiah Brewing as we headed south for home. Every staff person presented a genuinely warm and sincere service standard. Our waiter James was superb. He's mastered the lost art of staying in the moment and not appearing hurried even when things are busy. The fish and chips was spot on, the fries were as good as you can get. The falafel plate was correct, someone actually knows what they're doing with the patties - they weren't dried out. Tried two different ales and both met the benchmark of high quality Northern Cali craft brewing. That's what makes a complete dining experience, staff who don't rush the tempo along with food and beverages that hit the mark of mastery. Nice going indeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brew pub food gone wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was on the road and saw a billboard for this place, said hey brew pubs have good food normally so I'll give it a try.

First issue is parking, street parking only and it was 20 plus minutes and 4 blocks away, finally arrived and sat at the bar, ordered a porter which was quite tasty. I also ordered a rueban sandwich because the menu description sounded great, especially with house made sauerkraut, and cole slaw.

Took about 25 minutes for sandwich to get to the bar, there was only about 15 people in the whole place. I looked at my plate and had to laugh as the side of cole slaw without exaggerating was 1 teaspoon of slaw. Then the sandwich which did have ample amount of meat was absolutely flavorless. The kraut if it was even on there no flavor, even the thousand island dressing had no taste. The only thing I could actually taste was the over buttered rye bread. Such a disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ukiah Brewing Company also viewed

Ukiah, Mendocino County
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 

Been to Ukiah Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ukiah Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.