We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saucy

Saucy
108 W. Standley St., Ukiah, CA 95482
+1 707-462-7007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 82 Restaurants in Ukiah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: It's "Cheers Gone Chic" at Saucy, a wood-fired pizzeria in the heart of Ukiah's emerging, historic downtown. Thin crust Neapolitan-style pizzas star on the menu, which also includes an incredible array of delicious salads, fun, tasty, Italian bites (Cicchetti) like Nonna's Meatballs and Burrata, as well as "sandos", pasta and other wood-fired specialties. Saucy is an "urban oasis", boasting an incredible selection of craft-brewed Northwest focused beers on 15 taps and an eclectic, affordable selection of wine on tap and in the bottle. Saucy offers "Big City" flavors at friendly, affordable prices. Eat here or we'll both starve.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate here during our recent get away to the redwoods and coast near Anderson Valley. Went on a Monday night (usually not the best night to eat out) after a full day of hiking and beachcombing. We were seated upstairs and had a very pleasant and well versed server who was happy to take the time to go over the menu, specials, etc. The atmosphere was intimate and conducive for table talk and the walls were decorated with some very striking photos of Italy done by a friend of the owner. The food really highlighted fresh and well flavored ingredients. Savory pasta sauces, "toothy" and properly cooked pasta (al dente), and excitingly tasty fresh greens and lemony dressing. Also nice house wines (loved the Malbec) at a reasonable price. The owner came to the table and spent some time with us inquiring about our impressions and she share insights about the area (wineries to visit) and her approach to dining. Great eats at the end of a great day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had high hopes for saucy as my friends know the owner. The atmosphere was awkward as the bartender was literally yelling over our heads to have a conversation with other guests. The service was slow with only two other tables occupied. The food was just ok, our salad tasted out of can. The prices were outrages compared to the food quality. We now drive an hour to diavola for amazing food and service. I think the owner knows the bar is set low in ukiah and has no desire to raise it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great organic fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife (who is also a chef) and myself are 2 of the most difficult diners to please. We demand organic,fresh,healthy fare that is almost impossible to get in restaurants. Saucy's comes through. the salads are fantastic and the pizza amazing! And the prices are affordable for the quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SOOO Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family of 5 ate dinner here and we all really enjoyed it. After traveling by car for 8 hours that day we needed something fresh. The Mendocino wine on tap was excellent and we ordered the olives as an appetizer. They were tasty and fun to snack on while everything else was being prepared. I love a strong ceaser dressing so I echo what other reviewers have been saying about the crispy kale salad. My husband preferred the beet salad. The pasta carbonara was just as rich and yummy as expected and the kiddos shared 2 pizzas. Use the chili oil if you get a pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yummy Italian chic in Ukiah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had lunch here last week and loved the food. Their minestrone is some of the best ever and the sausage pizza is excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saucy also viewed

Ukiah, Mendocino County
 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 

Been to Saucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saucy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.