We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Azteca Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Azteca Mexican Restaurant
1631 S State St, Ukiah, CA 95482
707-463-1330
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 80 Restaurants in Ukiah
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“so so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

driving from SF to Humboldt and we stopped at El Azteca for lunch. The food was super hot, cooked fresh to order, delicious! We eat a lot of Mexican food and consider ourselves to be a little hard to please when it comes to our tacos and burritos. This place is awesome! The tacos were great and the burrito was great. In my opinion, the best rice and beans I have ever had- better than any chain restaurant and better than any of the hole in the walls we have been to. The salsa was good and chips crunchy good! The prices were decent and the service was fine- they were busy and only 2 girls taking care of food and orders. Loved it!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food.....However”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have been eating at El Azteca Restaurant for many years, probably over 20 years and like their food very much not to mention their great service. However that said, within the last year or so they started making their Chiles Rellenos with chopped chiles out of a CAN, if you can believe that, rather than a whole chile (with the stem on) as served in most good Mexican restaurants. Chiles Rellenos made with canned chiles is just not my idea of good Mexican food. I hope that someone from El Azteca reads this review and reconsiders how they make their Chilles Rellenos, otherwise it is a very fine Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Happy Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I ate here pretty much by accident - a group of friends and I were going to eat at the Himalayan Cafe next door, but walked out when our food failed to arrive in over an hour. So, we went outside and across the parking area to this place.

What a happy change! The restaurant was packed so we sat out on the patio next to a gas heater, but the staff were so cheerful and accommodating, and the service was excellent. The waitress went out of her way to make us feel welcome and happy and the food portions were big and satisfying. A great save to a derailed evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, not much atmosphere, but what the heck.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice little restaurant on the south end of town. Have eaten there several times, not fancy inside. Everything I have ordered has been excellent and the service is very fast. The salsa is also very good. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Mexican near the airport, S of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good, authentic Mexican meals. Friendly staff. Good-sized potions. The best alternative is the lady outside at the supermarket across the street and a bit N who makes handmade corn tortillas and cooks tacos and so on outside.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Ukiah, Mendocino County
 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 

Been to El Azteca Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Azteca Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.