We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ask for anything extra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ukiah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ukiah to your Saves list
Super 8 Ukiah
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   693 South Orchard Avenue, Ukiah, CA 95482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    112
    31
    22
    27
See reviews for
92
88
55
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very disappointing stay. Staff didn't seem helpful. Got the reservation wrong. Kept insisting I wanted two rooms when the printed reservation I had said one room. Asked for non-smoking room. Given smoking room. Room was the closest there was to the freeway.

Not good all the way around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at Ukiah Super 8 while on a trip to CA in spring. It was a great motel! The best Super 8 ever. The owner doesn't do AAA discounts anymore but still gave us the discount as we'd found the motel in AAA book. He believes in so has recycling bins in rooms. Also rooms were very nice,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

If I could give a rating of worse than terrible I would. I made my reservation for this hotel 3 months in advance, knowing it was a holiday weekend in combination with a huge race weekend for BMX. I called and gave them my credit card number to reserve my room. My arrival date was Saturday, 5/24/14. I arrived and gave them my name and was told there was not a room for me, but they had reserved a room for me at the Discovery Inn. I was very upset and asked the manager why bother even reserving a room when they were going to give it away to someone else. She tried arguing back with me telling me that I wasn't understanding what she was telling me. Oh yea, I completely understood...they gave my room away to someone else....PERIOD! This went back and forth for some time. Her excuse was that some people traveling for bmx arrived on Friday and were staying for 2 nights. Um hello? You just don't give away rooms to other people when it has been reserved for someone else!!!! They are money hungry jerks! We had some friends stay there for bmx and the rate was supposed to be $55, but when they checked in their room rate had jumped to $75. They were told that was the rate if you had 2 beds. Wow, I wonder if they did that to other bmx people.
Now, if no one has ever stayed at the Discovery Inn, let me just tell you this a motel where people live!!!!! Absolutley disgusting, run down, dirty, stained carpets, a night club of some sort on one end ....need I say more??
Luckily my family was fortunate enough to stay with some other friends and it all ended up working out, but had it not; we would have had to find another hotel in a different town.

I will NEVER, EVER recommend the Super 8!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

While on a work related road trip, needing an inexpensive and not-too-grubby place to stay, I spent one night at the Super 8 in Ukiah.

I was very surprised to find that this "2-Star" motel was actually very, very nice! The room I had (single king, one of those in their photos) we more tastefully decorated than some other places I have stayed that are considered 3-Star+ "resort " lodgings.

The floors are done in nice, high quality wood finish flooring, rather than the usual cheap indoor/outdoor carpeting. The furniture was all in great condition and well arranged. The entire room seemed to have been decorated with a designer's touch rather than the slapdash parolee-on-the-run style so often found in lower cost motels.

The breakfast area featured fresh hard boiled eggs, make-your-own waffles, cereal, juice, etc. The pool & hot tub area were very clean, free of screaming children and very appreciated after a 97' day in the area!

The staff were very friendly, courteous and seemed genuinely interested in guest's comfort. Not sure how long ago Kerissza1119 stayed there, but I saw no sign of the sort of problems she mentioned. Garry A's experience is much more what I found.

I wish I had more reasons to go to Ukiah other than the rare business trip through the area. I would certainly stay again and recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: Book through AARP for a very good price.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very "Green" including a separate recycling container in the room, electrical charging station for cars, gentle reminders to turn off lights and a/c when not in use, etc.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great motel. More like a resort. Owner has great pride in his ownership upgrades rooms all the time and the property

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed at the Super 8 for work. Wasn't expecting much, however the room was large, clean and nicely furnished. The staff was also very friendly. Pool and restaraunt on site. Happily surprised. Will stay there again. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Ukiah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ukiah

Address: 693 South Orchard Avenue, Ukiah, CA 95482
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ukiah
#2 Business Hotel in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Ukiah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you look for a perfect vacation, the stay has to be just right to make the traveling a delight so that you can come back rest assured that you will get a good night sleep after a long day. The Super 8 Ukiah Hotel, the only Certified Green hotel in Ukiah, confers you the respite, the pleasure and the peace of mind amidst the beautiful and tranquil redwood forest giving you a soothing stay. We have recently renovated our two-story hotel in Ukiah, California ornamenting it with the contemporaneous luxuries and modern amenities and highly sustainable lodging to fulfill all the desires of our coveted guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Ukiah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Ukiah
Super Eight Ukiah
Ukiah Super Eight
Ukiah Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Ukiah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.