We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel at a Good Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 North State Street, Ukiah, CA 95482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Ukiah
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Nice Hotel at a Good Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed on July 23rd, 2011. We're a couple from Sacramento. The room we had was on the first floor, one queen bed. The room was spacious, it had a table w/2 comfortable chairs. There was a microwave & minifridge. The minifridge wasn't super small like some places, it would have been great for a couple of cases of soda, and snacks there was a (VERY small) freezer on top inside it would have fit 2 boxes of hotpockets laying down side by side. We could hear our neighbors open and close their door but that was all the outside noise we could hear. The AC kept the room nice and cool without any odor. The bed was firm, but the pillows lumpy. The bathroom was small with a shower (no bath) and a toilet, the dressing area (mirror & sink) was big. They had a complementary coffee maker and an iron w/full size ironing board. Some of the reviews said the hotel is older and needs to be renovated. I didn't thinks so, it's not a five star hotel...hello. The young woman at the front desk was nice. I didn't care for the hot tubs, they're good size hot tubs (4-2 seat like 4 people, 1seats like 12, and the 4th one was closed but looked like it'd seat maybe 6-8) now, we went in about 10ish & there were people in all the hot tubs, several kids, young kids under 10. One of the wonderful parents was allowing their daughter to run and jump into the hot tub splashing everyone & not at all concerned about her safety (she was about 5) so that sucked, maybe atleast one of the hot tubs should be adult only? Or maybe no children after 9...the best solution would be respectful parents that discipline their kids. Ok, so not the hotels fault on that one. The hot tubs have tile seats so they felt a bit on the slimy side, gross...we didn't stay long between the slimy seats & splashing kid we excused ourselves rather quickly. Over all it was a nice place. The free breakfast is okay. Jensens is the local diner though, good prices good food. Across the street is a Raleys, Dollar Tree and a Kragens. It's very nice to be close to the lake. The people are friendly...I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    6
    12
    34
See reviews for
23
20
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We checked in late at night after a very long drive, with two sleepy toddlers, and that was the only reason I didn't immediately tell them the room was unacceptable and run the risk of having to find somewhere else to stay. The room was filthy. Crud on the walls, gum on the chair, exposed wiring, a broken tub, exposed wiring on the wall, and an energetic earwig scuttling across the pillow when I turned down the bedcover. Next door, dogs barked all night, and there were screams and shouts that sounded loudly through the paperthin walls. It was truly frightening and I couldn't understand how they were charging the money they did for such a crackhouse. When we went down to breakfast, it was so crowded that there was no room to sit (they serve it in a tiny room off the tiny lobby, with nowhere near enough room for the large number of guests that the motel accommodates, and we had to go elsewhere for breakfast, adding quite a bit to the cost of the stay.

The next day I told them we needed a decent room, and it turned out that the online reservation I'd made had somehow marked us as a family with pets who needed a pet-friendly room - hence our assignment to what looked like a kennel! So after some back-and-forth, the confusion was eliminated, and we were transferred to a perfectly reasonable motel room that seemed clean enough and was comfortable and quiet. If that had been the only room we'd gotten, or if they'd comped the first one, I'd have given this place 3 or 4 stars.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

we were there with a group of people and kids for a sporting event. we check in go to our rooms my room is still dirty,another moms room had people in it.my room did not lock , you didnt need a key to get in, we left the room to go to the kids game came back and our door was wide open, and i closed it.we had people next to us that lived there, and kept us up all night,and there was strange people walking all around th eplace it was creepy, we will never stay there again.and it was filthy,nasty dont go there

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

this place is a worn out 80s place... the rooms smell, the heaters dont work well, and I would never stay here again. It is worth about 35 a night max.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Ukiah was the half way point on our road trip in Northern Ca.,we are very glad we stopped at the Discovery inn. Top of the line customer service, excellent restaraunt, activity suggestions.We had a great time using your spa room, and the olimpic size pool kept the kids busy for hours. Beautifully landscaped property, craved statues, running water ways. Absolutely wonderful, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I really wish I brought my bathing suit. They had an indoor hottub room.The room was clean and they accept AAA for a decent discount. I might also note, there is a pretty cool wood scultpture theme throughout the property.Kinda neet for $80.00.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The room was very good for me and my dog, with a king sized bed and a mini fridge and a good air conditioner, which was an absolute must because it was at least 90 degrees outside when I woke up at 7AM. The hotel has a great breakfast, friendly staff and they have pretty competitive rates. They also have a very nice pool area judging by how many people were enjoying themselves out there. Could have been the 100+ degree weather though. The only thing I didn't like was that at first my room was very hot and musty and smelled like weed (non-smoking means nothing I guess) but I ran the AC for a half hour and was extremely comfortable after that. I wasn't too impressed with the town of Ukiah. I tried to go to a laundromat in town but decided against it because there were a bunch of people that looked like gang members hanging outside and several cop cars were driving back and forth down the main street like they were expecting something bad to happen. Also I think I mentioned that it's extremely hot in July which didn't really make me want to do too much exploring. But if you are passing through and need a place to stay, here's your hotel right off the 101.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1340 North State Street, Ukiah, CA 95482
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Inn Ukiah in the heart of Mendocino County. As a guest of our charming, spacious hotel, you'll experience friendly, professional service as well as immaculate, inviting guestrooms and suites.Discovery Inn Ukiah offers guests several accommodation choices with a number of deluxe amenities that are standard in every guestroom such as complimentary WiFi and premium cable television. All 177 guestrooms and suites are furnished with a warm, welcoming décor and provide plenty of spacious comfort for your Ukiah getaway. Microwave ovens and refrigerators are in every room, and our suites come with full kitchens. If you are traveling with your pet, we can provide special hotel lodgings in our "pet wing," where your best friend will be truly pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Ukiah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.