We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place I Stay When in Ukiah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Orchard Ave., Ukiah, CA 95482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Bay Area CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Only Place I Stay When in Ukiah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I travel to Ukiah almost every week for business, and when I do I always stay at the Best Western, primarily because the staff (especially Christine!) is so professional, friendly and helpful. And not just for me (a regular customer) but for everybody who walks through the door. Christine is very knowledgable about the local area and always willing to offer suggestions for dinner, wine tasting and other activities talored to the customers preferences. On the rare occasions that I have any problem, she is quick to solve it. The rooms are spacious and always clean, and the large flat-screen TVs are a nice touch. Although the rooms, breakfast and other facilities are consistent with most good hotels, it is the incredible staff that really differentiates this hotel from the others in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    60
    35
    13
    17
See reviews for
53
60
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
aptos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We had great service from Christine and the manager Pravesh. Those were the only 2 staff we actually dealt with and they were wonderful. I could not have asked for better service. Evertime I walked by Christine asked "If needed anything," She was always very friendly. Pravesh was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were great, clean, big TV. But I just can't say enough about Christine. I have never seen a motel staff go above and beyond like she does. Great Place!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

I stayed at the Best Western Orchard Inn in Ukiah, CA during March 2009. My stay was absolutely wonderful! The front desk clerk was friendly, quick, and efficient. The continental breakfast was great- the waffles were a nice addition. The design of the hotel was amazing! The hotel had recently been renovated and the rooms are pratically brand new. The flat screen T.V. was a great addition to the room; not something I see in many other hotels. I would recommend anyone who is going to Ukiah to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

We recently returned from a week-long visit to San Francisco and Northern California and stayed here one night on our way back from Redwoods National and State Parks. There were six adults in our party and we had three rooms.

The hotel is in the process of being renovated and while the halls have not been updated, our rooms were simply wonderful, especially for the price ($85). There were new furnishings in each of the rooms, and the beds appeared to be new as well. The decor was traditional, and was something you would find in a well-appointed home. The comforter on the bed even matched the art on the walls!

The breakfast was your typical continental fare. My only complaint was that I wanted to use a printer to print a wine tasting pass, but it was broken and the staff on duty claimed that they could not access another printer. A very minor issue, and not anything that detracted from the stay or our sleep the night before.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling in the area, especially going to wine country.

  • Liked — The recently renovated rooms!
  • Disliked — No printer!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We booked a stay for arrival August 23, 2008 and hoped to rest up between business on 8-21-22 in Mendocino CA and Ukiah at 4pm on the 23rd.
My partner was experiencing discomfort from the all-day business meeting on the 22nd and so, when we checked out we proceeded straight to Ukiah instead of sight-seeing along the way. We arrived much sooner than expected - I think it was about 10am(?)
We, she especially, needed a place to rest and recover before we went to the event that brought us to Ukiah in the first place - The Pure Mendocino Organic Food and Wine Tasing at Parducci Wine Cellars.
We went to the front desk to check in and plead for a room. The clerk found our reservation but declined to discuss anything until we came back at 3pm .
Disappointed, we drove around and found another Motel that had a room ready and we moved in immediately. I went back to Orchard Inn to cancel and was told it could not be done. I did not want to debate the issue with a clerk; actually expected someone with some common sense would intervene.
It was not to be - we were charged $94.31 for a room we never saw and was probably rented a second time that day.

Please consider the circumstances and refund the above amount. Also, please send us an invoice copy. The clerk kept our own copy of the reservation.

Sincerely,
Persis Hamilton/Maurice McDonell

  • Liked — Very hard to say
  • Disliked — Management Policies - Nobody handy to make decisions.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

This motel is well-built; the rooms are large and clean. There is a tolerable restaurant near-by (Henny Penny, no less). The staff were pleasant and helpful. The Continental breakfast is well-planned, although it's a tight space. Everything I noticed about the motel is entirely acceptable except the owner-manager, who criticizes the staff even though they are doing their best. That makes it a not-pleasant experience.

A further advice might be to erect either a larger sign or traffic arrows. We drove all the way through town in search of the motel, although it's right next to the highway.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — The owner-manager
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for a night before heading over to the coast. The staff was professional and the room was excellent. Would HIGHLY recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn

Address: 555 South Orchard Ave., Ukiah, CA 95482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your cozy Ukiah hotel is in the heart of wine country where all of the bounty and beauty of California is at your fingertips.The wineries and vineyards are the reason most people come to our Ukiah hotel. Close to historic downtown Ukiah and several shopping centers, there is plenty in the neighborhood to entertain the entire family. Family-friendly events take priority here, but that doesn't mean there aren't options for some adult-only fun. We're also close to casinos so you can see how Lady Luck is faring.Come for the wine tasting and stay for the car shows. There's always something happening near this Ukiah hotel. Infuse a little cultural sightseeing into your trip by strolling around the neighborhood. If you prefer to work on your swing, there's a golf course nearby. Water recreation is a favorite spring and summer pastime.You'll find yourself in the greenest winery area in the country. Easy access off of Highway 101 means that you're never far from the beach for a scenic drive or sandcastle building. Free Wi-Fi and a complimentary hot breakfast sweetens the deal. Fill up on sizzling hot waffles and eggs, pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt and 100% Arabica coffee.Business travelers enjoy the plethora of activities and relaxation available at this Ukiah hotel. Caltrans, PG&E and AT&T are a few companies nearby. Ukiah also has several breweries to visit if that's your poison. Enjoy a generous dose of pleasure mixed in with your business. This Ukiah hotel is only two hours north of the San Francisco Bay area if you need some big city living. We're also close to Lake Mendocino, so bring the entire family. This pet-friendly hotel welcomes fur babies. Whether you need to be near the full 18-hole golf course or government offices, this is an ideal location. No hotel near Ukiah wineries does it better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orchard Hotel
Best Western Ukiah
Ukiah Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.