We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Ukiah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hudson Museum

Grace Hudson Museum
431 South Main Street, Ukiah, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Attractions in Ukiah
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Mendocino
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gem in Ukiah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very interesting and great gift shop; lots of local history and old photos. Nice grounds for a picnic too

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is a little hard to find, you have to really watch for signs. Grace Hudson was a magnificent artist and her art is well displayed. We also got to go through the house, she and her husband built and lived in. Wonderful tour guide.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“It brought back memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband chose this destination and it was really nice. I love old houses and the Sun House is a look back in time. What really brought back memoires was the sleeping porch. I can remember when I was a kid, an elderly neighbor who had a sleeping porch. I thought it was funny that she would sleep in a bed out on the porch in a room surrounded with windows. An unusual concept today but not before air conditioning.

Anyway, the museum portion had wonderful exhibits of Indian baskets, how they were made, and cooked in. I guess you learned quickly how to not burn the baskets when making mush. That's just a teaser, you will have to visit to learn how they cooked in the baskets. And did you know acorns are poisonous---you will learn how they kept from poisoning themselves with this staple. There was also an exhibit of quilts by local artists and of course, the paintings and art of Grace Hudson.

There is a minimal fee--$3 for seniors but well worth the price of admission. The museum is clean and nicely laid out. I would recommend a visit for a look at a women who painted her own self portrait and designed clothing at 15 years of age. Her later paintings of the areas indians are wonderful.

Check out some Northern California history.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Preserving important knowledge of the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

You don't come to Ukiah looking for its history. Most people come for outdoor activities. But stalwart locals have valiantly paid tribute to Grace Hudson, who painted loving portraits of the Pomo people who lived rich lives in the area and her husband, John, who collected ethnographic artifacts crafted by the Pomos. A very nice museum has been built and maintained. John's collections have been sought by major museums including the Smithsonian. Here in Ukiah you learn the couple's family history, view a fine display of Grace's paintings feeling how much she admired and respected the Pomo people. Also on display is amazing Pomo basketry collected by John. Grace Hudson's paintings made her famous and wealthy during her lifetime 1865-1937. The Sun House is their modest Craftsman style home located next door to the museum which you can tour. The museum also has changing exhibitions of local crafts. The day I was there artistic quilts were on exhibition. The museum is working to preserve and teach about former peoples living in the region. This museum's work is to be encouraged.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF bay area
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Worth a stop if your going through Ukiah. Nice exhibit of textiles.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grace Hudson Museum also viewed

 

Been to Grace Hudson Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hudson Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.