We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ukiah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanford House
306 S Pine St, Ukiah, CA 95482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Ukiah B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly, very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We also turned up unannounced and Dorsey went to extra lengths to welcome us and sort us out. Totally welcoming, friendly and helpful.. All of which is nice but if the rooms aren't up to scratch, so what? Well they are: super-comfy bed, lovely individual decor. Great advice on local restaurants and all capped by a breakfast that deserves to become a B&B legend: fresh, tasty and nourishing.

I'd give Sanford a 6/5 if I could

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Occidental, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have visited this bed and breakfast three times now and every time is as magical as the last. The home is beautiful, charming, and when you arrive you feel you have escaped to a classic southern victorian. The owner's attention to detail is impeccable. The garden has wild flowers and friendly critters-a perfect place to sit, have a refreshing drink and enjoy a conversation with your friends. The rooms are all a bit different but each room feels as though every piece of antique furniture was designed to fit with the design the owner had for that very room. There is wine and chocolate awaiting your arrival. Arriving and settling in feels so relaxing because there is such a warmth welcoming you. The comfort the mood provides in this b and b accommodates the both warm and chilly weather ukiah offers up. The beds are comfortable, lighting is just right, and bathrooms are private and stocked with any amenities you might need. And then there is breakfast. Each meal i have had has been simply wonderful. Breakfast is served in her dining room looking out on her charming garden. The charm in the dining room is as lovely as the rest of the house, with relaxing music in the back ground, beautiful local pottery and fresh hand picked flowers. The owner offers local and organic food, but her creative approach to a great breakfast is a delicious surprise. This woman really knows how to cook. I have enjoyed fresh homemade scones, smoothies packed with fresh fruit, and savory french toast with fresh salmon and a fabulous sauce made from herbs from her garden. A friend of mine had food allergies and she immediately cooked something up to accommodate her that was equally as yummy. On our way out we were served homemade miniature cream filled cupcakes. I leave this b and b so relaxed, full of good food, and anticipating my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Sanford House is a delightful B&B in Ukiah and is a refreshing change to the poor quality motels in the area. Each room is slightly different and charming. The owners are lovely, warm people who really enjoy the diversity of people that come through their B&B. Doresy is a wonderful cook and made us an organic breakfast with many of the ingredients coming straight from her garden. Wonderful place! Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Wilson room is really neat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The house is very charming. Filled with animals and flowers. The owner is super friendly. We feel very welcomed. The breakfast is amazing. The best I have ever eaten. Better than any restaurants or five-star hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluEmu1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We came without a reservation and unannounced, just knocked on the door after a local merchant recommended Sanford House. Dorsey welcomed us as if we were long lost well-liked family. Our room was light, beautifully decorated and filled with flowers from the spectacular garden. Our breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the home, garden, local wineries and restaurants. Have Dorsey make a recommendation for dinner. She knows the area well!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanford House

Address: 306 S Pine St, Ukiah, CA 95482
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ukiah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sanford House to your Saves list