We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Biscuits, and BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ

Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ
2550 Park Ave., The District at Tustin Legacy, Tustin, CA 92782-2712
714-259-1227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 256 Restaurants in Tustin
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Service, Biscuits, and BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The BBQ sauce is just right - not too spicy and not too sweet. The combo plates were huge enough for 2 meals. We met family there and stayed way late, but the staff was great about it. All 4 of us had different meals, but I would say that the brisket should be avoided. The pork and chicken were the best. Don't forget to eat those biscuits - but you might have to take your dinner home after you do.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    50
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome 'Cue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten bbq throughout the country, I did not expect much from this chain of restaurants, but we were meeting a friend and he recommended it highly. The restaurant is huge, seats many and is well decorated for an American smokehouse. The menu is extensive, including cajun dishes as well as traditional bbq offerings. All meats are cured and marinated in house, and the lovely waitress was quick to recommend everything on the menu including its heat index. Their 3 types of sauces are in bottles on every table ready to taste (and buy). We tried the St. Louis baby backs (awesome), ½ chicken (moist, very flavorful, apparently marinated 24 hours), bbq beef salad (huge & tasty) and the gumbo. Combine that with great biscuits and a choice of 2 sides and you won't have room for dessert. The full slab is only $3 more, so we took some home some for lunch the next day. Overall a great eating experience with great service and reasonable cost.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always Awesome BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Love this place! My lady and I live in the San Diego area and we always have to stop here on a trip north! We have enjoyed every meal we have had there, food is always awesome, their BBQ sauce is great, and the service is always good! Its a little on the pricey side, but the food is always worth it.

We went for dinner this time, but I highly recommend stopping by for lunch. They offer some great lunch combos, in which you get to try a few different types of meat and the price is a little better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Valentine's Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

First of all....MAKE RESERVATIONS when you go to ANY lucille's on a busy day.

I did that and we were seated in less than 10 mins (yes you read correctly). This particular location has a different set up than the ones I went to, its a bit confusing and no section is the same. Other than that side note, the food was great! It came out in a timely manner and our server was super sweet.

Minor flaw was that the servers did not care if you heard their inappropriate conversations, would rather enjoy my dinner without stories from last night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Smoked Tri-Tip and Baby Back Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great Smoked Tri-Tip and Baby Back Ribs and very good service considering the long wait. We waited approximately 45 minutes as promised. They do not take reservations. The place is very big and they are busy everyday of the week. The waitress told me that the Rancho Cucamonga location is a typical 3 hour wait! The only thing holding us back from returning is the long wait otherwise 5 star rating. I even saw the pink ring around the tri tip that they talk about on the travel channel...good smoked bbq!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 
Tustin, Orange County
Tustin, Orange County
 

Been to Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.