We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice for Turlock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Turlock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Turlock to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Turlock
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Powers Court, Turlock, CA 95380   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Turlock
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Nice choice for Turlock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for Turlock, CA. The one bedroom suites are very large and really well updated. There is a rather large kitchen (large for a hote), a very nice sized bathroom (also updated), a large bedroom, and nice sized sitting area. Everything appears to be clean and in order. My only complaint is the couch in my room is very worn and stained (time for a new one for sure). Also, I think it is for environmental reasons, but they obviously do not use bleach as all my towels have an off-white color to them.

All in all probably the best choice in Turlock if you are staying a long time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cws S, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Turlock, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are pleased that your stay was pleasant and above expectation. We will keep moving forward in offering our guest a clean and presentable place to stay. We will also look into the situation with the couch. Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    2
    7
    8
See reviews for
8
6
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our first experience at staying at a Candlewood Suites, but it was very pleasant. The room was spacious, and very clean. Breakfast is not provided but that was not a problem, as several fast food restaurants are near. We especially appreciated being able to catch up on our laundry, as we had been traveling for a couple of weeks. We got a discount at the restaurant next door, and had a great dinner. Would recommend this motel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cws S, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Turlock, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are pleased to hear that your stay with us met your expectations. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Turlock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Walking in no body at the desk. After a while a front desk clerk came to check me in. She didn't ask me what I was waiting for I told her if she had any rooms,that's rude for a place like this . The rate was ok . The room was nice but smell was out of this world . Please let me know how u could sleep through that Oder .

Room Tip: Your guess is good as mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cws S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Turlock, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Kathy L,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and sincerely apologize for your experience. We will take the corrective actions to insure situations like this do not occur in the future. We hope that you give us the opportunity to make it up to you when your travels bring you back to Turlock, CA.

Kind Regards.

Wannetta Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I take my hat off to the young lady who went out of her way to make my stay the the way I like, not to just show me they care but going above and beyond to make the stay like home . I usually stay at the xpress but gave this great hotel a try , I will be back ! Thanks Nisha and rose you girls made my stay wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cws S, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Turlock, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are pleased to hear that your stay exceed your expectaion. Everyone at Candlewood works hard toward making sure each of our guest enjoys their stay. We thank you for the kind words and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First time stay at a Candlewood property. Pleasant, clean long term stay hotel. It's a bit on the expensive side for Turlock but all rooms come with a kitchen (nice but no oven).
Rooms are quiet between floors but the walls separating rooms are a little thin. I was surprised to learn that the rooms are cleaned once a week but fresh towels are available. Bed was comfortable.
The best thing about this property is the quality of the front desk staff. Everyone was pleasant. I don't remember everyone's name but Geoff, Ravi, Peter and Grace were great... Kudos to the other front desk staffers.
I especially liked the fact that there were no big groups of kids!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cws S, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Turlock, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Turlock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites for two months. My experience there was not pleasant at all. First off, the hotel luggage carts are broken making it difficult to transfer your luggage into your hotel room ESPECIALLY if your room is on the third floor. Then you have have to walk through the hallways filled with rotten smells of who knows what. Since you do not get service you also walk by towels and trash bags that people leave outside their doors. Then when you finally get into your room you decide to cook a meal and relax but unfortunately you cannot due to the loud awkward noises coming from the thin walls. Then when you are ready ready to put your dishes in the dishwasher to wash them you can't because the hotel has ran out of dishwasher soap for three days. Then when you finally do decide to go to bed you the bed sheets smell dirty and are itchy. I never received service and my room became dusty and gross. I would only go into my room to sleep. I would leave around 9 am and come back around 8 pm. If you are expecting service, forget it... you have to ask and that is if they even have it in stock.

After I checked out, I checked my bank account and I found an outrageous fee of $2oo for supposedly smoking in the bedroom. I am a smoker and so is my boyfriend, who came to visit twice, but we never smoked inside the room. My boyfriend has the tendency of placing cigarette butts into his pocket when there are no cigarette dispensers outside, once he comes back inside he throws them into the trashcan. I spoke to a the receptionist over the phone and was not understanding at all and would not allow me to speak to the hotel manager by claiming that there was none on duty. How is a hotel able to run with a manager? That explains why there is such horrible service there. I have yet to speak to manager, so that I can be refunded back.

Room Tip: I would suggest the Fairfield Inn on Hotel Drive. Not only are the rooms modern, nice, and clean, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Turlock, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Celi M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Turlock, CA.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Room looked nice, but bed was loud and no room service. I went to the front desk Three Different Times to get new washcloths - the first time they took the two I used (and only two that were in the room) and came back with hand towels because they were out of clean washcloths. The other two times they were Still out of clean washcloths. Try washing with a wet hand towel!! Grrrr. For the price of this place I could have stayed at a Marriott and had room device And clean washcloths. I'll never stay at a Candlewood again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Turlock, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear SNE1217,

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy that you found our room accommodations nice enough. I deeply regret the inconvenience you may have experienced due to the service received. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We will definitely use your comments to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Turlock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Turlock

Address: 1000 Powers Court, Turlock, CA 95380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Turlock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Turlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Turlock 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Candlewood Suites, Turlock the one and only extended stay hotel in the area. Candlewood Suites Turlock is centrally located just minutes from Emanuel Medical Center, University of Stanislaus and Pedretti Park (walking distance) in Turlock. We are only 12 miles a way from Modesto and all the major hospitals (Kaiser, Sutter Memorial and Doctors Medical Center of Modesto) and international companies in the area (E. & J. Gallo, Conagra Foods, Seneca Foods, Sensient Technology, Bunge, Del Monte and many more). Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet. Our guests will enjoy the one of the best restaurants in town right next to our hotel and will receive great discounts on their meals. For those guests that prefer to Dine In our Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream or enjoy our out-door grill Much larger than the average hotel room and more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project and temporary medical assignments Whether your visit brings you to us for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is ready to serve you. We are a pet friendly hotel (Pet fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Turlock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Turlock Hotel Turlock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Turlock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.