We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1051 North Blackstone St., 99 Freeway and Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Tulare
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very nice experience. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice room. Only complaint, you couldn't take breakfast back to your room. The breakfast was excellent, except that it was so crowded, there was not much room to sit and they kept running out of food, which they did replenish, but you had to wait for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    123
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
100
86
34
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I live in the sf Bay Area. I come here often to visit family. Booked a room online. Turned out needed it one day later. I called the hotel 2x To be told "call the call center " emailed the CS as well as called. Went to check in to be told I was being charged for the prior night with no concern. 9 hotels in the area. CHOOSE ANOTHER ! They don't care ! I'm even a diamond member and still treated like dirt. This is a very small town. What a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding the no show reservation at our hotel, we apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We strive to insure that our guests have a pleasurable experience with our hotel from the time a reservation is made to the time our guests check out. I would like to provide an explanation in hopes that you’ll understand it was not our intention to disrespect you in anyway.

You reserved with Priceline and were charged by them the moment the reservation was made. Since it was made through a 3rd party company and not directly with us, we our bound by terms and agreements to not alter the reservation. Although inconvenient, the guest must call the 3rd party company to make any changes or cancellations. Once the 3rd party makes the changes they either send a new reservation or call the hotel directly and our staff can proceed forward.
In this situation, we never received an updated reservation from Priceline, thus couldn’t make the change, and the end result was a valued guest extremely inconvenienced.

I do hope you will give us a call so that we can discuss this situation and determine a solution that will make the worse experience you’ve had into an inconvenience made right by the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pforzheim
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and stayed there on our trip from Yosemite to Las Vegas. When we arrived late at night around 9pm, we were more than pleasantly surprised. The hotel has free parking and a huge parking lot. Check-in was quick and we had the first room around the corner - definitely a plus if you are tired after a long trip! The room was spacious with two queen size beds and the shower was super refreshing.

As a big plus, this hotel includes a bar, where we were able to get a burger and fries and a few beers before going to bed. Thumbs up to Andrew, such a nice barkeeper! We also had some nice talks with some of the other hotel guests. Many seem to be regulars at this hotel and you can tell that from the athmosphere. The hotel bar was also really cheap for a hotel, and they had 2-for-1 coupons in the hotel room, so you could end up spending $3 for two domestic beers. Breakfast is served in the same room and was satisfying. They offer both hot and cold items and a waffle maker.

There is so much more to the hotel that we were not able to check out, such as the outside pool. I have to say that the hotel was a more than positive surprise and that I would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: None of the rooms is located towards the street, so they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

In town to visit family in Visalia and Tulare and Sequoia NP, we selected the Best Western in Tulare and happy we did. The room was large enough to earn the term "mini-suite" and be quite comfortable. The fixtures, carpet, paint and all were in good condition. The lines and towels were good, and freshly laundered. The King bed was in good shape although pretty hard for our tastes.

Breakfast was hot, with choices from an English muffins to several cold cereals to scrambled eggs with fried potatoes and sausage links. The fridge was small but kept stuff cold, though the freezer wouldn't quite freeze the three 12 oz water bottles over night. The microwave did popcorn just right! The staff was pleasant and helpful. We left a camera charger and they called and said they would mail it to us.

Our three nights were nice, and this one will definitely stay on our options list!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Another enjoyable stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Town and Country Lodge. This motel was booked full for the weekend. However, the service was excellent as usual. I have stayed in most of the other motels in the area over the years. Prices may be a bit cheaper but, with everything included, I always return to this Best Western motel. Personnel from the front desk down to the care takers are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are always very clean. With the addition of the new key card system, it adds to the safety of the guest. The breakfast that is offered in the morning is very good with a lot of choices. I will be back to stay at this motel in the coming months. The front entryway remolding adds to the appearance of this motel.

Robert A. Michaud

Room Tip: When booking a reservation at this motel, do not hesitate to request any special request you may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have family in the area and end up visiting three or four times a year. We used to stay at the one star, discount motel next door but, the noise, clientele and lack of cleanliness drove us over the BW about six or eight years ago. We've never looked back. Never had a bad experience. And, we can bring our dogs - though we are VERY respectful of the property, clean up after them and follow all the lodge's rules about pets.

The service is always great and management at this BW makes sure that things never get out of hand.

Plus, over the years they keep remodeling and improving!

Room Tip: Their online reservation system has never failed us. Always the best available rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Been a couple years since my last visit. Was more than pleased to see the newly remodeled interior. Very nicely done. Always pleasant staff. Just a quick over nighter so didn't visit the lounge or breakfast.
Check your schedule as they will be remodeling the lounge real soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge

Address: 1051 North Blackstone St., 99 Freeway and Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tulare
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulare
#1 Business Hotel in Tulare
#2 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Town And Country Lodge
Best Western Plus Town & Country Hotel Tulare
Best Western Tulare
Tulare Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.