We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1051 North Blackstone St., 99 Freeway and Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Tehachapi, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stay there at least annually and always get a great value. It appears that they recently updated the rooms. This is an older building, but because of that, the rooms are larger than the newer motels. The staff are always friendly and polite. I always look forward to staying at this BWP.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel when visiting Tulare; we appreciate your business. It’s rewarding when we hear that our guests notice the upgrades we’ve completed at the hotel. It is our goal to continually improve to provide our guests with a great stay at a great value. We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Tulare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    128
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
103
91
34
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

When we checked in, the carpet flooring in the room was wet and the window was wide opened in spite of winter time and quite cold weather. Also it was some chemical smell in the bathroom. So the room didn't correspond with minimum requirement. It looked like there had been some incident in this room before we arrived, but they provided us with this room without saying a word, with no excuse and no compensation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. We recently completed a project where we shampooed each guest room. Unfortunately we released this room prematurely. Please know that we’ve adjusted our procedure so that this issue does not occur again. Please give us a call at 559-688-7537 so that we can discuss an appropriate compensation for your inconvenience. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are repeat visitors at this Best Western and we enjoyed it once again! The rooms are comfortable, our stay was restful, and the WiFi is great. The morning Breakfast was as expected and the Breakfast Room/Pub is large and well cared for. We will return again and recommend this location!

Room Tip: Close to Kings Canyon and Sequoia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing us each time you’re in Tulare; we appreciate your business. Our staff strives to make each guest experience great and we take pride in knowing that you’ve enjoyed your multiple stays with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was fairly surprised by this hotel. I need a place to stay for work and I was able to get a room at this very convenient hotel. Anything and everything is around the hotel. Plus there is a pub located in the hotel. And loved the 2 for 1 drink ticket they give you when you check in. Room was great. Shower was great. TV was great. Can't say enough about this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff works hard to insure that our guests enjoy their stay, and to read that you had a great experience is rewarding to us. We look forward to seeing you soon, and hope you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your future stays with us even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It had been a very long day of driving on January 18. We arrived late in the evening, and the front desk woman was fantastic. We explained that we had two Reward Cards, and couldn't recall either number. She called us later to say that she had researched it for us, combined our numbers and we were all set! We didn't ask her to do this, and that is what "customer service" is all about! Then - I forgot to get a receipt for our stay. Fast forward three weeks, and now we need the receipt! We called the hotel, and got the same type of fantastic service from a different employee! They get great reviews for a reason! Glad to add our comments to the growing list.

Room Tip: No elevator, we asked for a more quiet room and received one on the second floor. No problems at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our staff strives to provide outstanding service and knowing that we achieved that during your stay and when you called is very rewarding. We appreciate your loyalty with Best Western and we look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Tulare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great place for a overnight stop on CA-99 in the San Joaquin Valley between Bakersfield and Fresno. Good value, clean, comfortable, convenient to shopping and restaurants. Only complaint is the small in-room fridge that cannot be shut off without unplugging it, tends to cycle noisily during the night. Pet friendly too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We appreciate your business and your comments regarding our hotel and what the area has to offer. We do have many guests who find our location convenient because we are a midway point on the 99 freeway. If passing through this area in the future, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was a very nice Motel. The room was nice and roomy and had a Microwave, a refrigerator and a coffee pot and they all worked. The desk clerk was very nice, friendly and professional. There was also a large Screen TV in the room. I was given a buy one get one free drink coupon when I checked in. There was a lounge that served some drinks and where you could order some food at a reasonable price. There is no elevator, but there were accessable rooms available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when visiting Tulare and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We continue to do our best to provide a comfortable and well maintained room, desired amenities like a refrigerator and microwave in each room, convenience by providing food and drinks in our lounge and friendly service. We look forward to your visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge

Address: 1051 North Blackstone St., 99 Freeway and Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulare
#1 Business Hotel in Tulare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulare
#2 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Town & Country Hotel Tulare
Best Western Plus Town And Country Lodge
Best Western Tulare
Tulare Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.