We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 99

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 99 to your Saves list
Motel 99
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   26442 North Highway 99, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Togas Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Tulare, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I'm annoyed that they always claim they only have the more expensive rooms with two beds. And, although you pay more, you don't get more value.
Was only offered a smoking room although we're both non-smokers. Window did not close properly. AC unit was a joke. Each time I stay, I think I cannot be more disappointed. Then, I stay again and am proved wrong. Maybe I'm the wrong color?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Unprepossessing at first - it's next to a burned out restaurant - this is a wonderfully clean, friendly, and quiet location. On two occasions two years apart I've stayed there, at a bargain price - $32 for a single - that was immaculate, comfortable and with a view of a lovely courtyard. There's not much else around it, and the breakfast is spartan at best, but when you want a good room, you can't beat this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

1st the place is hard to find, our newly updated GPS couldn't find it, as it really is in the middle of nowhere. The rooms themselves are very nice, however, the wifi is poor, the pool was closed (the reason we booked the room in advance) and the breakfast was a joke. Rooms were spacious, and clean, a nice comfortable bed and the fridge and microwave in the room was quite nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back offer a lot of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here on a father-son road trip to attend a brother-in-law's funeral in Visalia. Room isn't brand-new, but was very spacious and clean - bath floor tile was slightly discolored (but otherwise clean), and bath wall tile was in very good condition. Comfortable king bed. Traffic & train noise never an issue. Very well-maintained grounds with inviting pool. And the price for the value received was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norther Central PA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't let the surrounding area keep you away! There were six in our party...3 adults and 3 children. We had one large room with 3 Q beds. With our senior discount we got a great price. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable. The internet was slow..not an issue for us. There is a train somewhere close by but it none of us heard it when sleeping. It didn't bother us a bit. The breakfast area was small but clean. Breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, juice, 2 kinds of cereal, and 1 pastry per person only. The downside? You had to pay for ice. and...the building next door was dilapidated and covered in graffiti but at one time it must have been a grand place to stay. There are pictures of it in the motel showing it at it's peak period. It was very ritzy. The owners were very friendly and you could tell they cared about cleanliness. Overall, it was a great value, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tann, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed there for a week because there was nothing else available in the Tulare area. First I thought I made a big mistake but it turned out to be not to bad. The only downside was the basic breakfast but the rest was good. I can recomend room 111

Room Tip: I can highly recomend Room 111 because there are pictures drawn on the wall about the story of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLORADO SPRINGS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

M99 is old but comfortable. I had fresh towels, shampoo and soap everyday also had housekeeping when I didn't really want or need it/comfortable bed and clean pillowcases. The girls at the front desk (3 in my 6-day visit) were clean, nice and polite but were totally useless in giving directions to anywhere!!!! The phone calling area is extremely limited and there was no public phone, (Of course no one knew where there might be one) . The parking lot is in sad need of repair. It is in a remote area but after all it is farm country , what else would you expect?????? If you lower your expectations you'll be fine. I personally didn't get close enough to any maintenance people or groundskeepers or drug dealers to know if they reeked of alcohol. i was just passing thru.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
1.9 mi away
Charter Inn & Suites
Charter Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Tulare
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#6 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 99

Address: 26442 North Highway 99, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Togas Inn)
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 99 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 99 is located in the historical Tagus Ranch in Tulare, California, near to world famous attractions like Sequoia National Park, Agriculture Expo, and other places of interest like Outlet Stores, Golf Courses etc. The motel is surrounded by the beautiful farmland of California with 55 extra large and clean rooms and a nice outdoor pool in the middle of its Grand Courtyard. The motel also has free Hi-speed Wireless Internet throughout the facility so you can work and relax from anywhere within the motel premises. We take pride in cleanliness and ensuring that your stay is relaxing and comfortable. Free Complimentary Coffee 6 RV and Truck Parking Available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 99 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 99, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.