We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such good italian in a small town environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazza Ristorante Italiano

La Piazza Ristorante Italiano
1600 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-3153
+1 559-687-9833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Tulare
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fresh, homemade Italian cuisine specializing in steak, seafood, veal, lamb & Your favorite Pasta! Bread baked daily by chef/owner. Homemade gnocchi, tiramisu as well as sauces, etc. Fresh squeezed cocktails,beer & California-Italian wines. Casual-fine dining restaurant in an Italianesque atmosphere. Romantic & family areas. Private banquet room available. Family owned since 2005. Ample parking. East of Hwy 99, near hotels & shopping.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Such good italian in a small town environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a restaurant out of the ordinary.....
A comfortable booth with excellent attnetive service.
A fine selection of italian dishes at a fair price.
Excellent tasting, bread was great also.
Don't forgot the spumoni for dessert.
A couple runs the restaurant and they are on site all the time in the kitchen and in the front to offer great service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaItalian, Manager at La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad that you appreciate the bread that the chef/owner makes every morning. The staff works hard to provide good service & they appreciate your recogniton of it. Regards, Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penn Valley, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Italian surpize in farm town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have eaten here twice on our way to N. CA. It is a fancy little island in a farm town. The steaks are great but very pricey. Pasta dishes are good, in our limited experience. You can tell it is a local eatery, especially on the weekend. A nice relaxing atmosphere with an upscale feel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaItalian, Owner at La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you,Jan, for your kind review and that you were surprised to find us in the dairy capital of the US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

i love this restaurant and have been many times,
I have recommended it to many friends and often suggest we go there if meeting for dinner. I have never been disappointed.
The staff are fantastic, the food is delicious and so is the wine.

cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaItalian, Manager at La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear RiaG720, Thank you for your high recommendation and continued patronage. We appreciate it very much! Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unlikely Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just off Freway 99, in a town famous for it's farm show, I would hardly expect to find a place like this. Authentic gourmet Italian food as good as I've had anywhere. While I tend toward the tortellini, I have never been disappointed with trying something different here. The tiramisu is the must try item. Last time we went, my wife and I ordered 3 different deserts to take home and split over the remainder of the weekend. If you're in town for the farm show, or the antique farm show, or if you're just driving that long stretch of Fwy. 99, it's definitely worth stopping in!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaItalian, Manager at La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you honest J for your wonderful review. When I first starting eating the chef-owners food tortellini alla panna & tiramisu were my favorites too. Now I have so many favorites! Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Italian - who says”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Two adults, two children on a week night. The service was prompt and attentive. Spouse had lasagna and I the veal parmigiana. The children’s menu is limited; they can have spaghetti or they can have spaghetti. The older boy ordered a seafood Alfredo petite portion [half-price of the adult cost plus $2.00]. The lasagna was declared good, but nothing to distinguish it from frozen Stouffers. The veal parmigiana was ample [three pieces] but well covered in thick cheese [not lightly sprinkled with grated parmesan], like it was so poor it had to be disguised. Total bill [one glass house Chanti] was $66.00; not exorbitant but over priced for the quality. I’d classify this establishment as a “wannabe” Italian restaurant, but probably using other than a qualified Italian chef.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazza Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to La Piazza Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.