We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat this place for quality and value! Book it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Regina, Sask, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You can't beat this place for quality and value! Book it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed one night on route north. The excellent service provided, the quality and cleanliness of the room, linens and public areas were amazing. At 4 pm they offer happy hour in the lobby lounge serving free cheese, crackers, salsa and tort chips as well as cheap as can be soft and hard drinks, wine and beer. On the night we were there was a "free evening meal night"; although different meals are offered depending on the night, we were served soup, very fresh and yummy salad, chicken and beef fillings for fahitas, two kinds of torts, rice, beans, salsa, apples, oranges, and bananas. Coffee, tea and juices are available all hours in the very open, spacious and friendly lounge. Free newspaper and a fantastic breakfast greeted us in the morning. Full breakfast of eggs, bacon, potatoes, cereals and milk, waffles with whipped cream and strawberries, fresh fruit, juices, chocolate milk, bagels, toast, muffins and pastries were all available. For the $65 cost of the suite (with fridge, wet bar, coffee pot, 2 queen beds) with the happy hour snacks, supper for 2 and breakfast for 2.... I don't know how they made any profit!? The pictures on this site do NOT do the rooms justice. Our room had been updated with high quality linens, was very spacious and we couldn't find even one small thing to complain about. Blanca the front desk attendant was amazing... very helpful and accommodating. If staying in Tulare, this is THE place to stay... wonderful value... a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
56
50
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

This is an average hotel but it's the little things that push it up a notch. The front desk guy was quite professional when we rolled in late on Wednesday night. Apparently hotels.com never sent in our reservation but he was helpful and friendly and provided us with a free upgrade to a King Suite.

Room was typical size for a CA room but they seem to be really trying on the upkeep. Nice toiletries (B&B works), cotton robes, HUGE bathroom (full tub/shower) although bare bones overall.

Room had mini fridge, coffee makers, large bed. My only real complaint was that there was no comforter nor was there an extra in the closet like most hotels do so we had to turn up the heater.

Fast wireless internet, hot breakfast buffet in the morning, and near the outlet mall were other pluses.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River Mills
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Just stayed one night here on our way down to San Diego. Searched TripAdvisor and found good reviews for this hotel. What a nice experience. Clean room, well apointed, even a terry cloth robe in the closet. They provide a great breakfast -- a full meal. Quiet, easy access, just off Hwy 99. Desk clerk very friendly and courteous. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

My family and I stayed here and we were very well pleased and satisfied with the hotel. The hotel and rooms were very clean and spacious, the staff was very helpful, they provided a hot breakfast and I couldn't ask for more in a hotel for the value. We look forward to returning there again one day for another stay, and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in that area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista,CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

If you are looking for a great place to stay this is it. We booked two rooms on the first floor,one had a king bed with sofa and the other room had 2 queen beds with a chair and foot stool. The room amenities were above par and included: toiletries,hair dryer,make-up mirror,iron and ironing board,coffeemaker,sink,refrigerator,microwave
oven,free wireless internet connection,TV with HBO,phone,robes,fitness center,pool, and complementary full hot breakfast. The rooms are entered through an interior corridor for extra safety and protection. The superb staff were very warm and accomodating. The full breakfast from 6:00 to 9:00 am was terrific and more than expected. There is also a daily happy hour from 4:00 to 6:00 pm. Bowls of candy,boxed mints, and pretzels in the lobby area complemented our stay. Another nice surprise was bell waiter carts for luggage transport to and from our rooms. We will definetly book this hotel for future travels to the area.
Tips: Just south of the hotel is a 99 cents store for your shopping convenience. About 1/2 a block north there is a K-Mart store. Within 2 blocks to the east there is a Longs Drug store. Also 1 block west is an excellent restaurant "Apple Annies".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Really nice rooms. Big bathroom, close to the outlet shopping centre. The bed was super comfy. You should maybe ask for a room on the upper floor this because you can hear them walk. We had people above us who seemed to like walking a lot at night. But we had earplugs which saved us.

The rooms were really clean and big, and i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Anyone presently in the hotel business or anyone wanting to open a new hotel needs to stay at this hotel for at least one night. You will learn how to run a hotel THE RIGHT WAY!! These folks thought of everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.