We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ideal for an overnight stay on the way to or from Sequoia National Park. Provided a clean spacious room at a fantastic price.quite location.
Breakfast included was more than adequate with good choice of food.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    37
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
58
52
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The management of this establishment is doing an EXCELLENT job. The entire hotel, including rooms, is charming, clean, modern and spacious. The pool was large enough to do a few laps. The jacuzzi was very clean. The location is excellent, next to many restaurants and in a safe area. I have been traveling from Oklahoma and this is the first hotel with strong shower head. The one state with water issues and they have the best shower?- go figure. The breakfast included eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy along with the usual continental breakfast. The coffee is delicious and they provide several different types. the TV lineup included several movie channels. The hotel also has a liquor bar station in the lobby. The price for the stay is on par for those who want to drive just a little bit out of their way from the usual National Park hotels. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Drive a little bit from the National Parks to stay here. You will not regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thr hotel is well maintained. Just today someone was painting the hallway. Has a great breakfast. Two different kinds of waffles. Regular plates and silverware. Impressive. However, the bed was too firm for my back. The laundry room desperately needs a folding table at the very least. Possibly even a couple of chairs to encourage people to stay with their laundry. It's the worst waiting for someone to return to free up the dryer. I will add there's a shopping center near by.

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy checkin, $2.50 beer and wine for sale in the lobby, clean room, great pool and spa, nice breakfast with eggs, potatoes, sausage, waffles, yogurt, cereal, and juice, all for a great price. The bathroom did have a little peeling paint, but the room was clean and had a mini fridge. Quite the bargain. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 via mobile

I have been to this hotel at least ten times and today I make a last minute reservation only to arrive and them tell me I cannot check in because I am not 21. However, it says nowhere on their website that you must be 21. The lady at the counter claims it has always been 21, but it has obviously not. The whole 10 times I came they served alcohol and I was able to check in. Now I am frustrated and have been on the phone with Expedia for over 15 minutes waiting to get a refund. I am not happy at all.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We stayed here prior to visiting Sequoia National Park the next day and it was perfect. They served a hot breakfast (eggs, hot waffle maker, etc.) the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the pricing was great. We also had a very small dog which was allowed with a lot of dog-walking space in back of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We stay in this hotel overnight on our trip to Sequoia National Park. The hotel is clean and new with swimming pool and BBQ place nearby, The breakfast is OK. Wi-Fi is fast. 99 is lose but far enough to be no noisy at night. Outlets are in walking distance

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.