We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nil customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nil customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As part of three week stay we booked this hotel six months ago as it was a convenient break point in our journey. Arriving at the hotel Jessica on reception was deep in conversation. We were ignored for ten minutes, when I dared to ask if we could book in. We were told we had been booked into a different hotel. No apology or explanation was offered. If we had not shown up, the hotel would have charged us. The hotel did not contact us prior to arrival to allow us to consider alternatives. Will await credit card bill to see if the management, who were conspicuous by their absence on our arrival, mess up and charge me for a room when none were available. I

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
53
46
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel went above our expectations! The girls at the front desk greeted us with warm and friendly smiles. The room was fresh and efficient. There was a microwave, refridgerator, coffee maker and a great blowdryer in the bathroom. The room had good lighting and the bed was very comfortable. The bath had beautifully folded seashell towels and nice toiletries. Very clean. The room also included breakfast. Great value and we will stay there again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have no clue why you would want to go to Tulare, it looks much closer to Sequoia than it is and that was the mistake that I made.
I booked a couple of nights at Charter Inn as they were dog friendly. The hotel was very clean and modern . The staff were very friendly and accommodating and they serve a breakfast buffet in the morning.
OK the drive to Sequoia was 45 minutes but the hotel was really good and relatively inexpensive so we actually didn't mind.

Room Tip: The Pool area can get loud so book a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This was a superb place for a stop off en route to L.A. It was comparatively very cheap and the room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. There are a few restaurants and shops within walking distance of the accommodation. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night after a day trip at Sequoia Park and we were pleasantly surprised. We chose this hotel because of its affordable price.
Hotel room was spacious and clean.
Staff members were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were trained by other places not to expect much when one stops for a night in an inexpensive hotel, but this one was a complete surprise. The room was very spacious, clean, with high ceilings and lots of air. Staff was very accommodating, smiling and just upbeat. They have a small "bar" table in the lobby, so you can get a glass of wine to sip in the evening. Breakfast was actually edible, and included whipped cream and strawberry preserves for waffles. Items were replenished regularly, and when I had to ask for one, the hostess brought it right out.

A side note: the 99cents store across the road is a little gem for folks travelling with kids. We got bunch of fruits and snacks for the kids, and the prices were very nice. It's a liquidation store, so I am sure selection varies from day to day, but we were pleased.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plains, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Tulare is not a nice place, but they have tons of chain type restaurants and shopping. I-5 runs through it, so there you go. The Charter Inn and Suites was a nice hotel. Good services, good staff. Clean and the breakfast bar was good and well stocked. The price was right.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.