We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night after a day trip at Sequoia Park and we were pleasantly surprised. We chose this hotel because of its affordable price.
Hotel room was spacious and clean.
Staff members were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
53
48
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were trained by other places not to expect much when one stops for a night in an inexpensive hotel, but this one was a complete surprise. The room was very spacious, clean, with high ceilings and lots of air. Staff was very accommodating, smiling and just upbeat. They have a small "bar" table in the lobby, so you can get a glass of wine to sip in the evening. Breakfast was actually edible, and included whipped cream and strawberry preserves for waffles. Items were replenished regularly, and when I had to ask for one, the hostess brought it right out.

A side note: the 99cents store across the road is a little gem for folks travelling with kids. We got bunch of fruits and snacks for the kids, and the prices were very nice. It's a liquidation store, so I am sure selection varies from day to day, but we were pleased.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plains, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Tulare is not a nice place, but they have tons of chain type restaurants and shopping. I-5 runs through it, so there you go. The Charter Inn and Suites was a nice hotel. Good services, good staff. Clean and the breakfast bar was good and well stocked. The price was right.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Breakfast:very good selection of hot and cold items. Always plenty of food. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and quiet equipped with microwave, fridge and a little sink.Bathroom was clean. Pool and hot tube were clean and quiet. front desk people were very nice and helpful. Multiple WIFI hot spots offered by hotel and working at good speed. Overall a nice, clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Could not fault this place, clean, comfortable and excellent value. I am guessing this hotels main customers are the business trade. Our room had air con, fridge, free wifi, premium TV channels Breakfast is very basic but there is an ihop next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family decided to make a last minute trip to Sequoia National Park for Independence Day. Since it was so last minute, we had problems finding a place to stay close to the park. I liked the price and the reviews of this place so decided to give the Charter Inn a try. My wife can be a little picky so I was a little worried, but it turned out to be one of the best hotel values I have experienced.

The room was large and very clean, the staff was all extremely nice and helpful, and even the lobby was better than expected for the price. There was a "happy hour" that featured California wines at reasonable prices.

The only issue during our two night stay was the size of the breakfast area. The selection of food was good, but the seating was limited on this busy weekend. We actually ran an errand because it was just too crowded when we tried the first time. There was in IHOP next door but when we returned there were some tables that were open.

Overall, a very good choice at a extremely good price. Great Value stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

pleasantly surprised, very well kept, had full breakfast room had fridge and microwave more like a suite . pool and exercise room , even though we were at the front on a busy street still pretty quiet . would come back again if staying in the area, front desk desk people were nice too.

Room Tip: no restaurant actually on location but several nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.