We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Could not fault this place, clean, comfortable and excellent value. I am guessing this hotels main customers are the business trade. Our room had air con, fridge, free wifi, premium TV channels Breakfast is very basic but there is an ihop next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
53
46
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family decided to make a last minute trip to Sequoia National Park for Independence Day. Since it was so last minute, we had problems finding a place to stay close to the park. I liked the price and the reviews of this place so decided to give the Charter Inn a try. My wife can be a little picky so I was a little worried, but it turned out to be one of the best hotel values I have experienced.

The room was large and very clean, the staff was all extremely nice and helpful, and even the lobby was better than expected for the price. There was a "happy hour" that featured California wines at reasonable prices.

The only issue during our two night stay was the size of the breakfast area. The selection of food was good, but the seating was limited on this busy weekend. We actually ran an errand because it was just too crowded when we tried the first time. There was in IHOP next door but when we returned there were some tables that were open.

Overall, a very good choice at a extremely good price. Great Value stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

pleasantly surprised, very well kept, had full breakfast room had fridge and microwave more like a suite . pool and exercise room , even though we were at the front on a busy street still pretty quiet . would come back again if staying in the area, front desk desk people were nice too.

Room Tip: no restaurant actually on location but several nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

First time visit & it was an unexpected surprise to find a hotel with so many amenities at this price. Nice large room, comfortable beds, fridge, microwave, wet bar, complimentary bathrobes, pool towels, nice hot breakfast, complimentary appetizers in the evening & they are pet friendly. Excellent staff. Very convenient location. Short walk to the outlet mall & grocery store. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The room had everything you could need, a desk , a dresser, a microwave, a frig, a love seat and a coffee table .Breakfast was great I had a strawberry waffle with bacon Yum. The bead was good my only complaint was they need new pillows cause they were a bit on the flat side. Yes I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Do NOT lose your charger in this hotel, the staff will say NO immediately, even before she check with housekeeping and when you go to the hotel, she will give you a bad after taste. Unless they improve their lost n found dept. stay away or do NOT leave your things in the room when you check out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel twice (including this trip) and just LOVE staying here. Everyone is super friendly and the rooms are GREAT! Super clean, cool and comfy. They also have a great lobby for just relaxing. They provide a superb free hot breakfast and piping hot coffee. A must stay if you're in the area. I will always recommend/stay at this location when I'm in the area.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.