We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for you & your pets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for you & your pets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on Pet Friendly hotel site and what a find. Clean, friendly and good rates. Breakfast was great, as was happy hour and they even provide bathrobes with all the amenities of a high price hotel. Love this place and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
56
50
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed our visit and were pleased with everything. We had plenty of room. The breakfast was good although I think they could have done a better job with the eggs. We ate at the end of the breakfast period and things were getting scarce.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel had a lot going for it: clean, spacious suite with a comfortable bed and comfortable sofa (some hotel sofas are awful), very quiet (Room 327), free Internet, table and chairs, desk, free local calls, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, one bathrobe, cable channels, clock, good lighting for reading, good water pressure and plenty of hot water, a pool, good A/C, elevator, lobby with comfortable chairs, decent breakfast (sausage, eggs, cereal, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, milk), safe parking, near several restaurants, plus helpful and polite staff. We've traveled a lot and this was very comfortable and downright inexpensive. We've paid twice as much for this quality and comfort. Would definitely stay here again. BTW - They allow pets, but we never saw or heard one. We have no complaints at all!

Room Tip: We always wear ear plugs for hotel stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very good hotel .Clean like it should be.
friendly and helpfull staff
Nice looking Hotel is very OK
you have alittle outside area
Swimmingpool is also clean
You also can go to the internet because there is a computer
many people have wifi but i am still from an other planet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had 2 nights here, using it as a base for day trips into Sequoia, King's Canyon and Yosemite. The hotel is perfectly clean and pleasant. It offers a breakfast (limited selection available but we enjoyed making our own waffles in their machine!) in its very overcrowded lobby area. You can't walk anywhere from here for dinner, except IHOP next door. The pool is small and a bit grubby but my daughter enjoyed a swim at the end of the day. You can get a very nice beer in the hotel lobby, which was appreciated after a day of driving.

There is a small laundry room, which was quite handy.

One tip - you can go over the road to Smart and Final and pay $3.50 for 35 bottles of very nice spring water - much better than paying $1.75 each along the way - and very useful when walking in the parks!

I left my UK plug converter and iPhone charger behind and when we asked for it to be sent on to Los Angeles the hotel said it was never handed in, so either the maid decided to keep it or the cleaning wasn't thorough enough for her to even notice it, and the next guest decided to keep it. Not sure which of those options makes the hotel look better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I don't write reviews very often, but I think this is worth sharing. We had a guaranteed booking for a night. When we arrived late evening the desk clerk told us that the hotel was overbooked and we had to move to another hotel. When we asked how this can possibly be when we have a guaranteed booking the desk clerk said there have already been a few guests this night who also faced overbooking. Pardon, but do you really think it makes us feel better, when you tell us that you treat many of your clients that way? To make things worse, the room in the other nearby hotel was a worse category than the one we had booked AND payed for. The clerk (Hector) was neither helpful nor friendly.

To me this business practice is absolut inacceptable in the hospitality industry. As a guest I expect that everything runs smooth and I am treated welcoming. This experience in the Charter Inn was the opposite as we had to carry our luggage back to the car, drive to another hotel and get in all 30 minutes later into a room that was worse than what we had payed for and that we did not selected.

To Charter Inn management: If you really think you have to do overbooking in order to maximize your profits, then develop a process that works for your clients. Like calling clients with guaranteed bookings before you take their rooms away and ask if they would accept to move to a room of at least equal standard when they get a small voucher or whatsoever for their inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had high expectations for the Charter Inn in Tulare because of all the reviews here. But our experience was the worst we ever made.

We reserved "and guaranteed the reservation with a valid credit card) a King-Suite for a nice rate via hotels.com about two months prior our arrival. When we arrived at around 11pm we were told that there is no room available for us and that they tried to charge our credit card earlier the day but there was a problem with it and so the manager cancelled our reservation. We received no information/mail about this incident.

So we went around the corner to the Quality Inn and had to pay the nightly rate - of course with the same credit card which reportedly did not work earlier the day at the Charter Inn...

We will never again consider this hotel in our trip plannings.

Room Tip: choose another property in tulare
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.