We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best, by far, for Tulare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best, by far, for Tulare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed in several motels in the Tulare area and this last time, we stayed at the Charter Inn & Suites. I believe this is the best motel we have stayed in, in Tulare. And the price couldn't be beat. The staff is so accommodating and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean. It's an easy on and off Hwy 99. Within walking distance of shops, a movie theater, and restaurants. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while in Tulare.

Room Tip: They are converting all rooms to non-smoking. We had a non-smoking room that had previously been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    39
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
59
54
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

During our roundtrip through the West of USA, we stayed in this hotel to visit the big trees in Sequoia NP.

It turned out to be an excellent choice. It was the cheapest hotel of all our bookings, even with a nice breakfast. The location for the parks was OK (almost 1 hour drive), but it was near the highway and near a big outlet centre and supermarket. The swimming pool took care of some cooling down.

The people of the hotel were very friendly. Especially Jennifer helped us very good. We forgot our passports in our previous hotel and she offered me her private cellphone to call that hotel because it did not work out with the landline. Big thank you for that!

I would recommand this hotel to everybody who wants to visit Sequoia NP. Best value for money hotel of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room is large, sheets are clean but carpet is really dirty. Air cond/heater is very noisy. Breakfast is fine, bread, bagel, waffle, yoghurt and lots of coffee and juices. There isn't much to do in Tulare though, we travelled to Visalia for the farmer's market as the one in Tulare us on another day. Found a really authentic Mexican restaurant called Vejars, fantastic food. Very popular. We stayed here for a night before going to the Sequioa National Park the next day. Its slightly more than an hour away. Would stay at Three Rivers if we have the chance to do it again. Its much nearer to the park and the nearby Lake Kaweah is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After traveling for 2 weeks this was far the beat place we stayed. The rooms were great and spacious. Amenites were great they have eveything you need.The breakfast was by far great. The young lady vanessa at the front desk when we checked in was awesome we even had to take a pic of her to remember her by!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very clean rooms,great staff has everything you need away from home.Would stay again everytime.lots of Amenities.Only regret is pool and hot tub closes at 10.Your paying for service should be able to use as adult

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Awesome place for money, best place we stayed at over 10 days. Very nice, GREAT breakfast, free wireless wifi. Refrigerator in the room that worked! The breakfast had bacon, eggs, waffles with strawberry and whipcream topings, yougurt, lots of coffee and juice. THe rooms were very clean and very spacious!! Close to restaurants but not walking, try the Black bear diner just down the street. (by car)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
316 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice and charming hotel well located near the road to go to Sequoia Park ; the lobby is very nice and the service extremely good ; we had 2 rooms and they changed the configuration of our booking to allow less walk for our children .
Swimming pool is nice and you feel at home in this hotel; rooms are very spacious and breakfast was also good . we asked for dinner around and they gave us plenty of good address . there is a small mall in front to have an expresso .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Sequoia Area
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.