We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

After traveling for 2 weeks this was far the beat place we stayed. The rooms were great and spacious. Amenites were great they have eveything you need.The breakfast was by far great. The young lady vanessa at the front desk when we checked in was awesome we even had to take a pic of her to remember her by!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    33
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
53
47
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms,great staff has everything you need away from home.Would stay again everytime.lots of Amenities.Only regret is pool and hot tub closes at 10.Your paying for service should be able to use as adult

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Awesome place for money, best place we stayed at over 10 days. Very nice, GREAT breakfast, free wireless wifi. Refrigerator in the room that worked! The breakfast had bacon, eggs, waffles with strawberry and whipcream topings, yougurt, lots of coffee and juice. THe rooms were very clean and very spacious!! Close to restaurants but not walking, try the Black bear diner just down the street. (by car)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice and charming hotel well located near the road to go to Sequoia Park ; the lobby is very nice and the service extremely good ; we had 2 rooms and they changed the configuration of our booking to allow less walk for our children .
Swimming pool is nice and you feel at home in this hotel; rooms are very spacious and breakfast was also good . we asked for dinner around and they gave us plenty of good address . there is a small mall in front to have an expresso .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

First off, I had extremely high expectations for this hotel, given all of the positive reviews and the website information about the property...all of which turned out to be misleading, or a flat out lie!!! When arrived at the hotel, that I booked in THE FIRST WEEK OF MARCH, I was told that they had "accidentally" overbooked the hotel, and that I would have to move the Best Western...uh, Okay? I was then told to "hold on, let me see what I can do" by the front desk clerk, as if she were doing me some sort of favor. After about 15 minutes or so, she came out to inform me that they had "found" a room for me...great, right? Not so fast ! I then inquired about the free "happy hour" advertised on their website, which boasted of "free beer, wine and snacks." I was told that the "free" beverages were actually $2.50 a pop, and that they have "...been trying to fix that on the website, but it just won't stay fixed"...what???!!! As we finally headed upstairs to our room, I knew we were in trouble, as the distinct smell of cigarette smoke began to invade my nostrils as soon as i stepped off of the elevator in this "non-smoking" establishment. Once inside the room, the smell of stale smoke was so intense that my daughter, who is slightly asthmatic began to cough. I headed back to the desk and asked if there were any non-smoking rooms available...of course there were none, since "all of our rooms are non-smoking, someone must have thought it was a smoking room, since we ran out of door signs"...(again, what???!!!). When I got back to the room, I immediately noticed stains on the walls and switches. There was also either dried splattered feces or blood on the back of the toilet that couldn't be seen with the lid up, as well as a puddle of liquid on the floor that seemed too far from any water source to be just water (?). Needless to say, I began to question all of the housekeeping standards of this location's staff. At this point, we had enough and just wanted out. I went down to tell them about all of our issues, and they were apologetic (albeit only slightly). I was then told that I "probably wouldn't be charged anything", but if I saw charges on my card, I could call the GM and "ask for a reversal" of the charges. Charges for a 10 minute stay...insult to injury is putting it mildly. Do yourself a favor, and stay at the Fairfield Inn And Suites around the corner, there's nothing to see here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, Ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My hubby, 9 yo and I walked into the lobby, hot and tired after a long day's drive, hoping for a quiet swim, a soak in the hot tub, and a peaceful night's sleep. But. There were people everywhere. It was a noisy, festive atmosphere and, upon making inquiries, we were told there were multiple children's basketball teams staying there, along with parents and coaches.

I expressed some apprehension about getting a quiet night's sleep, and the lady behind the desk said, "Oh, it's going to be really loud." She then assigned us a room on the 3rd floor. Children were running up and down the halls, yelling and laughing. When we opened the room door, spirits already sagging, a thick cloud of smoke wafted around us. It was a smoking room and we were non-smokers.

We shlepped back down to the front desk and explained the problem to the non-sympathetic young lady. Suddenly the other person working there, Alex, jumped in, ascertained the problem, and escorted us upstairs to a non-smoking room. He promised to speak with the coaches about the noise, and said that he personally would monitor the situation, asking for acceptable volumes of noise. Later he called and offered us, unasked, a healthy discount for our inconvenience.

It wasn't long before we heard a coach bawling out the kids for their behavior in the hallways. Alex really made good: we had a peaceful night's sleep. This dedicated young man turned our experience around in a most pleasant way.

The hotel itself was clean and enjoyable. The hot tub was great. The pool was really cold, but that didn't stop the kids from jumping in and having fun. Breakfast was good, with a large selection of food.

I only hope that Charter looks a little more closely at the people it places behind the front desk: they can really make, or break, the experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here before but don't remember it being so nice. Our room was super clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had our granddaughter with us and she slept on the sofa bed, which she said wasn't very comfortable at all. The seating area in the lobby is like somebody's living room. Very nice. The price was more than affordable and the staff were pleasant. We make 3 or 4 trips to Tulare each year and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.