We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Wilsonville, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have stayed in Tulare many times before but never at this facility. The Charter Inn and Suites was a very convenient location, next to a large mall and just off the interstate 5. Our room was booked on Hotels.com and the price was under $75 for a large room with sleeper couch. From first entering the hotel until we left, everything was very nice. The lobby was large with a fireplace and lounge area. Although we did not participate, there was a "happy hour" with complimentary wine and beer. The lounging area was very attractive. We were warmly greeted at registration and the staff was very friendly all the while we were there. It was very quiet in our third floor room. The breakfast was up to par with most other hotels of this kind. Although there was some delay with an elevator that was stuck on the 3rd floor, that was soom remidied and there was little inconvenience in checking out and getting out luggage down to the first floor. Also, the ice machine on the 3rd floor was not working.

Room Tip: I think most rooms were about the same, not sure there is anything special about any part of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbaird_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went up to Yosemite and back to Huntington Beach, CA. Feb. 2013. We stayed here both Fridays going up and back. The location for this place is just off the fwy on Prosperity. The rooms smell good from the cleaning and the beds are very comfortable. They have a nice breakfast with eggs, bacon and waffles you can make. Lots to eat and fruit to take away. It's quiet and close to a mall where you can catch a movie! We would not hesitate to stay there again...very reasonable price with a small pool (we didn't use as the weather was cool...but great for traveling in summer with kids.) Nice personnel as well. Thank you Charter!

Room Tip: My husband has difficulty walking so we stayed on first floor as per request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankingbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A very clean, friendly stay. Excellent location (shopping mall and cinema just behind). Excellent value and a good breakfast.

We made a last minute (inexpensive) booking on Expedia and, for some reason, although we got an immediate confirmation, it took about 15 minutes for the booking to come through to the hotel. They were happy for us to sit in the lounge and enjoy the complementary cheese and biscuits whilst waiting for the formal confirmation of the booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place was recommended to us when we went to Tulare on a business trip. It was centrally located, safer area in town with a free breakfast. The staff was very polite and professional. I took my whole family on this trip and even took our dog. They charge a very reasonable $10 fee for pets.

The room wad clean although the bed was to hard for me. The breakfast was decent and consisted of breads, cereals, scrambled eggs and sausage. They also had fresh waffles and a variety of drinks.

Overall this was an excellent value and we will stay here again if we ate in Tulare again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had to stay in Tulare for 2 nights and charter inn was The perfect place, rooms are big and clean which that was a big plus. It's nice to get a good morning and smile at the front desk. Next time driving by we will stay at Charter Inn an suites.

Edwards

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edfamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I am really a normally positive person but not this time. Didn't notice till am since we'd spent a long day on the road but...wash cloth on bath was soiled, bath floor was dirty. Bed had been ok but pillows very hard. Breakfast buffet was poor, bananas way past looking good. Location by outlet mall and big theater multi plex was great. Quality Inn is right next door and may be a better choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from November 5th to December 18th. You would think that after being there seven weeks straight I would have a lot of bad things to say, on the contrary, all I have is praise. Jessica and Vanessa at the front desk made this a pleasant experience. They made sure to have fresh baked chocolate cookies ready for us each day which was a nice treat after a long day of work, they are also pretty humorous. The Hotel has a propane BBQ which we used frequently and the girls (Jessica and Vanessa) made sure it had propane in it and that plates and silverware were available. The hotel has a big lobby with flat screen and fireplace. Rooms are spacious and clean. Thanks again for the wonderful stay and the Christmas gift Charter Inn Staff.

Room Tip: Stayed in a couple different rooms, all of which were good. Laundry is on second floor so if your g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Tulare
Quality Inn Tulare
#6 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing