We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Wilsonville, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed in Tulare many times before but never at this facility. The Charter Inn and Suites was a very convenient location, next to a large mall and just off the interstate 5. Our room was booked on Hotels.com and the price was under $75 for a large room with sleeper couch. From first entering the hotel until we left, everything was very nice. The lobby was large with a fireplace and lounge area. Although we did not participate, there was a "happy hour" with complimentary wine and beer. The lounging area was very attractive. We were warmly greeted at registration and the staff was very friendly all the while we were there. It was very quiet in our third floor room. The breakfast was up to par with most other hotels of this kind. Although there was some delay with an elevator that was stuck on the 3rd floor, that was soom remidied and there was little inconvenience in checking out and getting out luggage down to the first floor. Also, the ice machine on the 3rd floor was not working.

Room Tip: I think most rooms were about the same, not sure there is anything special about any part of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
53
46
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went up to Yosemite and back to Huntington Beach, CA. Feb. 2013. We stayed here both Fridays going up and back. The location for this place is just off the fwy on Prosperity. The rooms smell good from the cleaning and the beds are very comfortable. They have a nice breakfast with eggs, bacon and waffles you can make. Lots to eat and fruit to take away. It's quiet and close to a mall where you can catch a movie! We would not hesitate to stay there again...very reasonable price with a small pool (we didn't use as the weather was cool...but great for traveling in summer with kids.) Nice personnel as well. Thank you Charter!

Room Tip: My husband has difficulty walking so we stayed on first floor as per request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A very clean, friendly stay. Excellent location (shopping mall and cinema just behind). Excellent value and a good breakfast.

We made a last minute (inexpensive) booking on Expedia and, for some reason, although we got an immediate confirmation, it took about 15 minutes for the booking to come through to the hotel. They were happy for us to sit in the lounge and enjoy the complementary cheese and biscuits whilst waiting for the formal confirmation of the booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us when we went to Tulare on a business trip. It was centrally located, safer area in town with a free breakfast. The staff was very polite and professional. I took my whole family on this trip and even took our dog. They charge a very reasonable $10 fee for pets.

The room wad clean although the bed was to hard for me. The breakfast was decent and consisted of breads, cereals, scrambled eggs and sausage. They also had fresh waffles and a variety of drinks.

Overall this was an excellent value and we will stay here again if we ate in Tulare again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had to stay in Tulare for 2 nights and charter inn was The perfect place, rooms are big and clean which that was a big plus. It's nice to get a good morning and smile at the front desk. Next time driving by we will stay at Charter Inn an suites.

Edwards

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I am really a normally positive person but not this time. Didn't notice till am since we'd spent a long day on the road but...wash cloth on bath was soiled, bath floor was dirty. Bed had been ok but pillows very hard. Breakfast buffet was poor, bananas way past looking good. Location by outlet mall and big theater multi plex was great. Quality Inn is right next door and may be a better choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from November 5th to December 18th. You would think that after being there seven weeks straight I would have a lot of bad things to say, on the contrary, all I have is praise. Jessica and Vanessa at the front desk made this a pleasant experience. They made sure to have fresh baked chocolate cookies ready for us each day which was a nice treat after a long day of work, they are also pretty humorous. The Hotel has a propane BBQ which we used frequently and the girls (Jessica and Vanessa) made sure it had propane in it and that plates and silverware were available. The hotel has a big lobby with flat screen and fireplace. Rooms are spacious and clean. Thanks again for the wonderful stay and the Christmas gift Charter Inn Staff.

Room Tip: Stayed in a couple different rooms, all of which were good. Laundry is on second floor so if your g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.