We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went up to Yosemite and back to Huntington Beach, CA. Feb. 2013. We stayed here both Fridays going up and back. The location for this place is just off the fwy on Prosperity. The rooms smell good from the cleaning and the beds are very comfortable. They have a nice breakfast with eggs, bacon and waffles you can make. Lots to eat and fruit to take away. It's quiet and close to a mall where you can catch a movie! We would not hesitate to stay there again...very reasonable price with a small pool (we didn't use as the weather was cool...but great for traveling in summer with kids.) Nice personnel as well. Thank you Charter!

Room Tip: My husband has difficulty walking so we stayed on first floor as per request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    33
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
53
48
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A very clean, friendly stay. Excellent location (shopping mall and cinema just behind). Excellent value and a good breakfast.

We made a last minute (inexpensive) booking on Expedia and, for some reason, although we got an immediate confirmation, it took about 15 minutes for the booking to come through to the hotel. They were happy for us to sit in the lounge and enjoy the complementary cheese and biscuits whilst waiting for the formal confirmation of the booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us when we went to Tulare on a business trip. It was centrally located, safer area in town with a free breakfast. The staff was very polite and professional. I took my whole family on this trip and even took our dog. They charge a very reasonable $10 fee for pets.

The room wad clean although the bed was to hard for me. The breakfast was decent and consisted of breads, cereals, scrambled eggs and sausage. They also had fresh waffles and a variety of drinks.

Overall this was an excellent value and we will stay here again if we ate in Tulare again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had to stay in Tulare for 2 nights and charter inn was The perfect place, rooms are big and clean which that was a big plus. It's nice to get a good morning and smile at the front desk. Next time driving by we will stay at Charter Inn an suites.

Edwards

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I am really a normally positive person but not this time. Didn't notice till am since we'd spent a long day on the road but...wash cloth on bath was soiled, bath floor was dirty. Bed had been ok but pillows very hard. Breakfast buffet was poor, bananas way past looking good. Location by outlet mall and big theater multi plex was great. Quality Inn is right next door and may be a better choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from November 5th to December 18th. You would think that after being there seven weeks straight I would have a lot of bad things to say, on the contrary, all I have is praise. Jessica and Vanessa at the front desk made this a pleasant experience. They made sure to have fresh baked chocolate cookies ready for us each day which was a nice treat after a long day of work, they are also pretty humorous. The Hotel has a propane BBQ which we used frequently and the girls (Jessica and Vanessa) made sure it had propane in it and that plates and silverware were available. The hotel has a big lobby with flat screen and fireplace. Rooms are spacious and clean. Thanks again for the wonderful stay and the Christmas gift Charter Inn Staff.

Room Tip: Stayed in a couple different rooms, all of which were good. Laundry is on second floor so if your g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed one night, but if we are ever to travel in tha area again, I would definltly stay again. Nice room, location of hotel was close to freeway. It was so nice to check in & then relax in the lobby over some complimentary appetizers ( cheese, crackers & veg with dip. As it was so hot outside, they hit the spot nicely. They also offer beer & wine for sale, which we also enjoyed.
Had a good nights sleep in the comfy bed & went to the breakfast buffet. I was pleased with the variety & choice of foods, & plenty of it too. The sausage was good. I also used the business center ( free pc with internet) & it was nice & quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.